Hypnotherapy Gastric Banding? Hmm…

30 Jun

I read the following article as I sat here munching on my lunch (garden salad with tuna and avocado if you care to know):

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-1266510/Hypnoband-Mother-drops-dress-sizes-hypnotist-convinces-gastric-band.html

Now, I am a firm believer that the power of the mind is an incredible thing however I’m not sure if you could *really* believe you had a gastric band for 6 months.  That’s an awful long time.  But I do believe you could, via hypnotherapy, become more conscious of when you are full and be more mindful of eating more healthy fare rather than rubbish.  But I think to be successful in weight loss you need to adjust your thinking as well.

For instance, when I was very overweight I used to moan and gripe over how overweight I was, “OMG I’m soooo fat, woe is me!  I wish I wasn’t so fat! [insert sad face here]”.  I started exercising and eating healthy and still moaned that I was fat and I didn’t notice any change (mind you, I WAS changing, just slowly, not at the fast pace I so desperately craved – hello PCOS!).  I soon realised that I had to also change my attitude to fully allow my body to make the changes I wanted it to.  I’m no scientist but I have read your body receives signals from the brain so if the brain thinks the body is fat, then the body will continue to be fat.  I read it so it must be true, yes?  😉  Anyway it sounds good so I’m totally sticking with that theory!

So whilst I think that hypnotherapy could be something that aids in weight loss, I also think you need to add hard work, determination, a healthy eating pattern and a bucket load of positivity to the mix to really get long term results.

8 Responses to “Hypnotherapy Gastric Banding? Hmm…”

  1. Chanel June 30, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    Sounds like another ‘solution’ minus the hard work!
    Your positivity and overall changes to your attitude are quite inspiring! 😀

    • Amanda June 30, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

      Thanks Champie! 😀

      As you know I am totally anti-quick fix these days so these type of things really irk me!

  2. Tes July 1, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    I have heard about this and I was really interested. Like my friend how quit smoking through hypnotherapy… I think it might really work with someone who have eating problem. I think I will dig in more on this topic.

    • Amanda July 1, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

      Yes – I think it would be helpful with addressing food related issues such as overeating and getting to the root of why people over eat but I doubt that it could make you lose weight. It takes a lot more than that I’m afraid! 😉

  3. Hannah Lopez July 10, 2010 at 11:20 pm #

    This can be a great aid if you really want to achieve something. I believe that our mind will always be a factor of something we want to do in life.

    • Amanda July 11, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

      I agree. We can achieve anything that our mind is set on. The difficulty lies in being able to maintain mental strength!

  4. Diane August 12, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    • Weight Loss Hypnotherapy does work. I can say from my own experience hypnotherapy for weight loss does really work, i know that because i have had it done after struggling with my weight for many years.

    I must admit before I heard a radio broadcast on the BBC with Claire Hegarty who was invited on the show for being an leading expert in Weight loss hypnotherapy, i would have said to anyone who suggested that i was hypnotized for weight loss, not to be so stupid. But after struggling with my weight for many years and where my weight went all the way up to 22 stone, i listened to the show after becoming despearate and found it very interesting.

    I had tried everything to lose weight, i went on loads of diets, i went to my doctor time and time again and he was not interested, i even asked if i could be given a pill that doctors give out for weight loss but he refused so i was now desperate and would have tried anything.

    After listening to claire hegarty on the show and listening to what she had to say about hypnotherapy, i decided to contact her through her website, now you have to understand at this time i was still not believing hypnotherapy could help you lose weight but i did want to know more.

    She explained all about hypnotherapy and weight loss and how it works to help you lose weight and i was very interested and started to feel maybe their is light at the end of the tunnel, maybe i can get back my ideal weight. I agreed to meet her and after getting on well with her i became her client. And i have to say, that i am so happy that i am now four stone lighter and still losing weight.

    So what i have to say to you is, do research by all means into weight loss hypnosis, but it does work and do go to an expert and see the diference it will make to your life as it has made a huge difference to my life but make sure that they are an expert. Just because they do hypnotherapy, it does not mean they are an expert in hypnotherapy weight loss, when making an appointment ask them are they experienced in this and do they have good results.

    • Amanda August 12, 2010 at 10:37 pm #

      Hi Diane! Thank you for your comment. I am glad you have found success through hypnotherapy and you raise a valid point about choosing a professional.

      As I said in my post, I do believe hypnotherapy has merit hoewever struggle to buy into that a person could honestly believe they have had a gastric band for 6 months. But who knows? It could happen!

      Thanks again for sharing your story.

Leave a comment