Dexa Scan – Follow Up

28 Dec

Way back in August I went for my first dexa scan.  When I left Jarrod at MeaureUp that first time I vowed that I would reach my goals of achieving 23% body fat and having between 10kg and 15kg of fat mass in 12 weeks.  I went back to Jarrod recently, about 16 weeks later, and here is how I went!

August Results

Body fat percentage: 27.6%

Fat mass: 18.5kg

Lean muscle mass: 45.8kg

Body Part Breakdown:

Each arm: approx 1kg fat mass; 2.2kg muscle mass
Trunk: approx 6kg fat mass; 23kg muscle mass
Each leg: approx 4.5kg fat mass; 7.8kg muscle mass

December Results

Body fat percentage: 21.9% (5.7% drop GOAL REACHED)

Fat mass: 13.8kg (4.7kg drop GOAL REACHED)

Lean muscle mass: 46.4kg (600g gain)

Body Part Breakdown:

Each arm: approx 700g fat mass; 2.4kg muscle mass (a drop of 200g in fat and a gain of 200g in muscle in each arm)
Trunk: approx 4kg fat mass; 23kg muscle mass (a drop of 2kg in fat and a small increase in muscle)
Each leg: approx 3.5kg fat mass; 7.5kg muscle mass (a drop of 1kg in fat and a small decrease in muscle in each leg)

December Scan

I’m extremely pleased with my results!  I now have no doubt in my mind that I will be stage ready in 4 months (YES!  4 months!  More on my comp in an upcoming post!).

To be in a good position for comp I need to lose another 4kg of fat.  I think that is very doable seeing that I just lost that amount in 4 months and I wasn’t even on a hard cutting diet!  Nor was I very strict with my cardio either.

I am extremely excited to see what changes my body is going to make over the next few months and can’t wait to share it all with you guys!  Stay tuned! 🙂

7 Responses to “Dexa Scan – Follow Up”

  1. enigmaedelweiss December 28, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Congrats on reaching your goal!! That’s incredible!!

  2. EmmaB December 29, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    Well done Amanda!! Thanks for your great blog. What a great way to see in the new year.

  3. Cathy Choi January 10, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    I think I’m going to get one of these scans done! I am feeling really good at the moment… however I have looked back to my weight last year and I’m actually heavier than I was then. I think my muscle / fat composition may be part of the explanation…

    • Amanda January 10, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

      You’ll definitely get something out of it Cathy! 🙂

      • Cathy Choi January 10, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

        I’ll let you know if I do it 🙂

  4. melslost January 13, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    Hi Amanda, I love your blog! I found it a few days ago while researching dexascans and what to expect. I went to measure up too. They were really informative and so glad that I have done it. Really gives a clearer idea about what to work on food wise.

    Good luck with your comp prep, and your competitions.

    Mel.

  5. Inspire Hypnotics June 30, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Congratulations on your results. This scan sounds, awesome, what a great way to track your progress.

Leave a Reply

