Your Questions Answered, Part 1

15 Jan

The other day I sent out a tweet and a Facebook status asking people to send me any questions that they might have in regards to my weight loss journey over the last 2 years and I was blown away by all the questions that came flooding through!  So, I will answer as many as possible over the next few blog posts and you are definitely welcome to keep sending them through!

@enzee17 asked:

I’d love to see an example of a food diary for a day from your old life compared to your new life.

I’ve been thinking about doing a post on this for a while now!  So here it is:

Old me:

Breakfast – would usually be toast with vegemite and margarine or 3 weet-bix with a teaspoon of sugar and milk.

Morning tea – cup of tea with milk and 2 sugars and biscuits from the biscuit jar at work.

Lunch – I used to buy my lunch a lot so I would either get a sandwich, sushi, salad… whatever I could grab really.  I tried to eat healthy where I could but I didn’t really understand nutrition the way that I do now so often my food choices were not the best but I rarely ate fast food so I thought that I was being good!

Afternoon tea – muesli bar, diet yoghurt or a piece of fruit always followed by… more biscuits. 😐

Dinner – I used to use those Masterfoods meal bases a lot or jars of sauces like Kang Tong or Chicken Tonight to make casseroles, pasta dishes and stir fries.  I used to think I was a really good cook when using these things!  A regular Martha Stewart!  I didn’t realise how full of sugar, salt and preservatives they are… Also, my dinner servings would be HUGE and were always washed down with soft drink.  I’d also make buttery mashed potatoes and fatty cuts of meat (pork chops, sausages, lamb cutlets etc) but I would always serve them with salad or vegetables and this made me think that I was being “healthy”.

Dessert – I’d generally always have something sweet after dinner like ice-cream or chocolate.

New me:

I’m not really able to give out my full diet in its exact entirety as my coach has devised it for me and it is her intellectual property but I can say the basics!

I eat a lot of oats, eggs, low fat natural yoghurt, berries, tuna, brown rice, fresh vegetables, fresh salads, fish, chicken, lean cuts of red meat, sweet potato, whey protein, rice cakes, low fat cottage cheese, natural peanut butter, fruit (one piece of low sugar fruit daily)… It’s very varied at the moment!  I don’t know exact calories, I just eat as clean as possible.

I do not have artificial foods or diet soft drinks – everything I eat is as close to its natural state as possible (except cheat meals where anything is fair game)!  This is the way I have been eating for a good 6 months or more now and have gotten great results.

I use flavourings like herbs, spices, chilli, garlic, ginger, tamari and stevia.  Essentially it’s pretty much a typical body builders diet.  In the next week or so it will tighten up A LOT and I will go into a strict comp prep diet that isn’t reasonable for anyone to follow, except if you are competing!

Progress Pic, January 2012

@Addicted_Cloth asked:

I would like to know how you conquered seeing food as a fuel and not pleasure – my BIGGEST problem.

Some time ago I wrote a blog post on this called It’s Time to Disconnect.  I just read it then and I still feel the same way.  Actually, I feel even MORE comfortable with seeing food as fuel because of the results I have gotten from eating clean and the close proximity of my comps!

I guess when you want something SO BADLY all temptation falls away.  I am so intently focused on my goal of rocking it on stage and achieving the best physique that my body is able to give me that I find it easy to switch off the little voice in my head that is begging me for tasty treats when I need to. You just have to make your goal THAT important to you.

But I will be honest here, over the last week or so I have been having more cheat meals scattered throughout the week because I know that in a weeks time I will be going 100% clean so I’m getting any last bits of cravings out of the way now so I can totally switch into machine mode when I need to without feeling like I’ve missed out on something.

I also thrive on routine and repetition.  Knowing that I have all my meals set out for me and ready to grab when I need them is extremely comforting to me and makes me feel really at ease, even if it is the same meals over and over again.  I don’t know exactly why, but I guess it’s because I just don’t have to worry about it and I can focus my mental energy into my training and getting through my day-to-day life.  It’s just one less thing to worry about.  If you make it not an issue, it won’t be an issue.  It really is a mental thing that takes quite some time to figure out, I won’t lie!

Welcome to the Gun Show!

Well, there’s 2 questions answered!  I’ve got a whole heap more coming up!  This has been fun actually and has helped me get my blogging mojo back!  Looking forward to what else you guys come up with and I hope this helps.  🙂

15 Responses to “Your Questions Answered, Part 1”

  1. Natalie January 15, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Thank you for answering my question! All the foods you listed in your ‘now’ way of eating, except for chicken, red meat and whey protein (I eat a lot more lentils, beans etc as a result) is pretty much how I eat and how I have eaten for about 5 years… now if I could just have the dedication you do to the gym & working out you are showing me what I could potentially look like! & of course without a goal I too often have that piece of cake or hot chips from the boyfriend’s plate…

    You just inspired me a little more in hearing how similar our diets are in the way of the foods we choose – proof if I do say no to those chips or cakes that I actually really will notice the difference.

    Good luck for your comps, you’re going to kill it.

    PS. I really respect that you didn’t outline your current diet in detail due to it being your trainer’s intellectual property – I know they would have put a lot of work into that for you and to have it out for the world to see would be annoying!

    x

    • Amber January 15, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

      Natalie, it’s fantastic that you eat quite cleanly (even the cheats are ok, as long as they aren’t all the time) – you should get results from clean eating without the exercise if you are eating the clean foods in a good balance, with portion control. It’s still easy to eat cleanly but badly, if that makes sense – especially if you’re filling up on beans/lentils!

      If you can’t have whey protein or are vegetarian, there is a vegan protein you can get – sun warrior brand. It’s a rice protein, practically no fat/carbs per serve. Maybe that’ll help increase protein intake?

      • Natalie January 15, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

        Hi Amber.. thanks! I am a slim a person (after losing 25kgs about 7 years ago) and I do regularly visit the gym and get cardio sessions in (3-5 work outs a week), and on good days you can see a little ab definition, so generally I am a healthy and fit person, but Amanda takes it to a whole new inspirational level! I’m not aiming to compete as a sports model and therefore don’t feel the need to build muscle at the rate Amanda is, but it sure shows that I could get my abs out all the time & tone up my annoying upper thighs if I just stuck to the plan – I’m good with food, it’s more the work outs that I need.

        To be honest on the protein shakes I just don’t enjoy drinking them (I was underweight due to illness at one point in my life and drank them a lot then), I prefer to try and get all of my protein through food – but I will be saving the name of that protein powder for future reference, thank you!

        PS, Amanda I love that you don’t really count calories anymore, I think that sends an amazing message.. after a while, (a while that is filled with education), you just know what you’re eating and when you eat cleanly and stop eating all the sh*t that claims to be a weight loss aid, things just work!

        x

      • Amber January 16, 2012 at 2:30 am #

        You sound like you’ve got the right idea with your diet…and it sounds like you should be pretty proud of the body you have! most sports models don’t have really defined abs, even at comp time!!! (and getting them is more about losing fat than building muscles…not that doing more weight work is ever a bad thing!)

        (you can do interesting things with protein too – mix it in to yoghurt, green smoothies, make protein balls, pancakes/muffin/cakes, mix it in to porridge, banana “icecream” etc)

    • Amanda January 17, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

      Thanks for the comments Natalie! I appreciate that you respect my decisions not to outline my diet. I give out a lot of free info and eventually I will need to protect my own intellectual property too as this will be my business eventually! 🙂 And the calorie counting… I basically know now what I can and cannot eat after much practice! And during comp prep it’s all laid out for me anyway, thankfully! Takes the guess work out of it for me 🙂

  2. Andrew Spence January 16, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    A “clean diet” sounds like a great way to eat both healthily and with plenty of variety. I never thought of the sugar in fruit as something that I can keep an eye on to help keep to a healthy body. Thanks!

  3. karina January 17, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    Your blog has shown me that a goal is important. I kept telling myself I didnt really care if I didnt lose weight for my wedding in August -but after reading back through your blog I realise that I will wish one day that I did put the effort in. So thank you for making me realise my goal – hopefully that mental picture of me with killer arms in a wedding dress will keep me on track.

    • Amanda January 17, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

      Good goal to have! Now you gotta just stick with it sister! 😀

  4. Naomi January 17, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    What are your plans once the comp is over? Will you relax your regimen, I mean still work out of course bug not so intensely or will you keep going?

  5. Lorna January 25, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

    Awesome guns! Jealous. I have a question that I’d like to enter if possible? What macronutrients is your eating plan set around atm and what ratio of carbs/fats/proteins in your opinion is best for body fat loss (as opposed to just plain weight loss =P)

    • Amanda January 27, 2012 at 9:07 am #

      Hey Lorna! Thanks! 🙂

      I can’t go into the specifics of my plan unfortunately as it is my coaches intellectual property. Hope you understand! 🙂 As for my opinion on the best ratios for weight loss, it’s hard to say. I know what works for me but that might not be appropriate for others. Everyone responds differently! I seem to do well on low fat, moderate carbs and high protein, personally! 🙂

      • Lorna January 29, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

        Totally understand. I didn’t want to know your eating plan, was just more interested in the macro balance. Thanks for your answer.

        I was looking for one of the affirmations you posted a while ago that really stuck with me about looking and feeling good but I can’t seem to find it. I was thinking, if you needed an idea for a post that posting a list of all your affirmations and motivational quotes on your weight loss journey and cutting would be very inspirational! Just an idea =)

  6. Weight Loss Pro January 30, 2012 at 6:47 am #

    As a bodybuilder myself, it’s good to see you’re sticking to refined carb sources and eating clean – and well done on your progress as you’re looking nice and lean. The only thing I’d say to readers is that calories are the most important aspect of dieting. As I know many who eat clean for months, never have a cheat meal and exercise daily and still don’t lose any weight – mainly because they neglect the fact you have to eat in a deficit of calories. Great read!

  7. Jessica Nunez June 1, 2012 at 1:08 am #

    Hi Amanda! Congrats on youre journey! 🙂
    I hope u dont take this the wrong way but ive noticed youre breasts went down and I was wondering if that ever made you self conscious? The reason why am asking this is not because im a weirdo lol ( i promise) but its because ia couple of yrs ago i lost over 50pounds (not in a healthy way) 😦 but everything was good but my breasts went down a couple of sizes and i got depressed i guess as a woman and the fact that ive always been big breasted. Unfortunately yrs later i gained my weight back and now when i try to get in shape that always comes to mind and it scares me i always tend to stop when i notices the skin on my breast are getting saggy, so ive cut down on my cardio. Any suggestions? Thank you for youre time! 🙂 ps im one of youre followers on Instagram 🙂

Leave a Reply

