Plan of Attack!

3 Jan

Firstly, here we go again, I’m going to apologise for my lack of blogging. I probably don’t speak about this enough but the mental and physical strain of training and preparing for competition is huge.

I find I have little time for anything else except training, eating, thinking about eating, thinking about training, thinking about the comp, planning my meals, organising my supplements and sleeping. My whole life is centred around achieving this goal and the pressure is on. It’s not unwelcome pressure and it’s nothing I can’t handle but it’s pressure nonetheless.

And I have placed this pressure on myself, like any athlete. And yes, body building is a sport! I aim to be the best that I can be and I won’t settle for anything less.

I’m constantly repeating mantras in my mind, listening to songs about determination and achieving success and surrounding myself with positive and supportive people. I don’t have any room for negative energy at the moment and the slightest amount of negativity can cause a crack in the all-important shield of goodness I am building up around myself. I’m putting myself out there to be judged on my physicality alone – it’s a pretty daunting thing! So I need as much positive energy as I can get right now!

So, speaking of putting myself out there, here is the competition schedule that I am considering:

April 22 – WNBF Sydney, South Juniors Rugby League Club (Best Body Swimsuit)

April 28/29 – INBA Sydney National Physique Titles, Filex Expo (Sportsmodel)

May 20 – ANB Sydney National Physique Titles, Castle Hill RSL (Fitness Model)

June 3 – INBA City National Champs, Castle Hill RSL

June 24 – INBA All Female Classic, Mooney Ponds VIC

(Click on the links above to check out the judging criteria for each federation – the INBA link especially has some comprehensive info on how the competition is judged)

I am incredibly thankful and lucky to have my good friend Charlotte (check out her profile on the amazing site Inspirational Bodies) coaching me and assisting me with the preparation for the competitions ahead. I thought at first I could go this alone but it’s so much better having someone there alongside you, guiding you and supporting you. She has a wealth of knowledge and did AMAZINGLY well in her first competition year so with her help I know I am going to smash this. I’ve promised her I will listen to everything she says, I trust her 100%!

Now, onto the exciting things like bikinis and shoes! I just got SO excited typing that! I can’t wait til everything comes together on the day – that’s when all the hard work, sweat and tears pays off! I wish I could fast-forward to see what I will look like! Eeeek!

I’m strongly considering this Dana Carmont bikini. Dana’s bikinis really stand out on stage and I have seen quite a few girls win wearing them and, god damn it, I want to be a winner! 😀 (big shout out to the guys at Build My Body, the best sponsors in the world, who are purchasing this fine garment for me! Hola!)

Sexy Cut Deep Purple http://www.danacarmont.com

I’ll also be contacting Dana shortly about posing classes. I think this is going to be my biggest thing to overcome… I really don’t want to look like a deer in headlights up there and let’s face it, I’m a pretty awkward poser, so I’m going to need LOTS and LOTS of practice!

Shoes, shoes, shoes… why do they have to be SO tacky?! Haha! I get that the clear stripper heels make the legs look leaner and longer but geeze Louise… those shoes. Ah well. Maybe I’ll embrace them and start wearing them out at night… cough, yeah right, cough.

I think I’ll go for a 5 inch heel with no platform but I am not sure if I’ll go for one with an ankle strap or a slip-on. The last thing I want is to trip over on stage and I am a NOTORIOUS klutz (I once fell off the back of a stage accepting an award for work… yep… that happened). So the temptation to have an ankle strap is BIG. Check out the shoes here.

I also need to start thinking about hair, accessories, a dress for the dress round in the WNBF comp… It’s only 4 months away! It’s hard to even CONSIDER these things when I don’t even have the body yet! Oh baby cheeses, how I want that body NOW please! Must be patient…

I start dieting down in exactly 2o days. That means no more cheat meals and an extremely strict and repetitive diet from 13 weeks prior to my first comp all the way up until my last comp. I have already sworn off alcohol (I didn’t drink often to begin with and have not touched a drink for a month now) and I am starting to mentally prepare myself for the road ahead. Gotta totally be on the ball and keep my eyes on the prize! There is no room for failure!

Hopefully I have painted a picture of what I am going through right now! I’ll leave you with a current progress pic and I’ll endeavour to update this more often, even if it is just small posts to say what I am doing, thinking or feeling.

Big love to you all who have supported me over the last 2 years! I am forever thankful. x

19 Responses to “Plan of Attack!”

  1. Talitha January 3, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    Wow Amanda crazy schedule! Are you still studying, working and ahh married? lol you must be exhusted 🙂 But I’ve seen your work (aka your new body) and I know you will do this. You are an athlete 🙂

    • Amanda January 3, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

      Yep!!! Still have my usual life going on so it’s a juggle! But I got this. 🙂

      Thanks babeh! X

  2. sara January 3, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    Hey darl! You have done amazingly and you are my motivation & inspiration! That bikini is HAWT!!!!! Im with you about the shoes but it must be done! Keep on going you are almost at the checkpoint! Good luck!! Xx

    • Amanda January 3, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

      Aw thanks Sara!!! That’s so sweet! *blush* 😀 Happy to have you on board! Haha

  3. Amber January 3, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    Sounds fun…but, no more cheat meals?!? Are you insane?!? If your diet is right, you should still be able to have a cheat meal! (we were told to have a carby, no/limited fat cheat meal….we kind of ate whatever cheat meal we liked until the last 3!$

    • Amanda January 3, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      Haha I don’t question the coach Ambs! 😉

  4. Amber January 3, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    Oh, and is it bad that I try and think of characters for dress up parties that wear stripper shoes so I have an excuse to wear mine out in public? 😛

    • Amanda January 3, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

      Lol!! No. That’s fantastic!! Haha

  5. Tina January 3, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    Ohhhh I just got crazy excited reading this! It’s getting so close now, and you have a fool proof plan set. Best of luck for the lead up and looking forward to the end product!!

    • Amanda January 3, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

      😀 Thanks Tina! Xx

  6. karam January 4, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Too Awesome amanda!!

    Such a great inspiration!!

    I showed one of the ANB judges your progress and commended on your efforts=]=]

    • Amanda January 4, 2012 at 10:19 am #

      Aw thanks Karam! 🙂

  7. Mellie January 4, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    I am so excited to see your body change over the next few months! You’re amazing!! X

  8. Johnny January 4, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    your abs, arms and shoulders def need work on, def not fitness model material yet..

    • Amanda January 4, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      totally agree – it will come together in time!

  9. Jen W January 4, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    You’re looking amazing! Good luck with the comps- I know you’ll blow them away 🙂

  10. Spectator January 8, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    LOL so many comps? you need your bf down to under 11% to look good on stage… can you do it by April…

    • Amanda January 8, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

      Yep! I like to push myself. 😉

      Sportsmodels do not need to be at any certain body fat percentage (see the judging criteria I posted). I am aiming to lose another 4kg of fat before April which is totally do-able according to the Dr who performed my dexa scan.

  11. Chris Hutton January 13, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    Your commitment is so inspiring! I am loving your blogs, they really help keep me motivated too, so thanks 🙂 Cheers to no deer-in-the-headlights at comp time.

Leave a Reply

