Blackmores Product Trial

12 Dec

As per my last post, I mentioned that Blackmores had kindly sent me some products to trial.   I’m not even going to exaggerate here, but a couple of these products literally have changed my life and I now SWEAR by them.

It all started with a phone call to the wonderful Kate Ferguson, an advisory naturopath for Blackmores.   I’d never consulted with a naturopath before and I knew from my Health Assessment that I had some issues that I needed to resolve, so I was very much looking forward to hearing what she had to say!

I outlined to Kate my current diet and exercise regime and then we spoke about some of the issues I was experiencing around digestion, recovery and sleep.

We addressed digestion first.   So, for a while I had been experiencing severe bloatedness and adverse reactions to certain foods (oats being the main culprit).  My high protein diet was starting to wreak havoc with my insides and I was feeling uncomfortable for much of the day.  Look, I won’t go into too much gory detail here, but I think you’re catching my drift.  Please tell me you are because I am not going THERE.   Okay?  Good.  Moving along then (awwwwkwaaaarddd).

Kate assessed my symptoms and diet thought I would really benefit from using a digestive enzyme supplement. Blackmores Origins Digestive Enzymesis a broad spectrum enzyme to help improve digestion and relieve symptoms of bloating and heart burn.

The following article provides some additional information on how digestive enzymes work:  http://www.blackmores.com.au/learning-centre/article/digestive-enzyme-your-way-to-good-health

This product has changed my life.  I can now eat oats without discomfort and I have not experienced any of the symptoms I had prior to using this product!   She also recommended that I keep drinking my T2 Detox tea and peppermint tea as it’s great for digestion, bloating and cramping.

Next we addressed fatigue.  Important nutrients to help support energy levels are magnesium (helps with muscular aches, pains and cramping) and the B group vitamins.  I was using Blackmore’s Bio Magnesium in tablet form but I must admit I had been a bit slack in remembering to take it everyday.  Kate recommended I try Blackmores Magnesium Powder which contains magnesium and B vitamins and that I should take it in conjunction with my multi vitamin.

I am now loving my magnesium powder.  I have noticed a considerable improvement in energy levels since taking it and recovery has been better too (come on!  More energy!).

Lastly, we spoke about sleep.   I’d been finding it hard to drift off to sleep and when I’d finally GET to sleep, I would find myself waking up in intervals throughout the night.  Kate said that the essential oils roman chamomile and lavender applied to the back of the neck are great to help relax you and support a good night’s sleep.  A lavender pillow or lavender eye mask also works well too.

Kate said that having my energy levels properly supported during the day with B vitamins and having magnesium will help to improve my sleep (which they have) and she also suggested I have a look at Blackmores Sleep Sound Formula  or Tranquil Night.  She sent me some Sleep Sound Formula to try and I will report that I am now a valerian junkie.  This stuff REALLY works and I have found myself drifting off to sleep easier and staying asleep for longer.  It takes a week or so to start working but it’s well worth the wait.

I definitely recommend the experience of consulting with a naturopath.  Just a few small additions to my regime and the improvements are something I would DEFINITELY write home about.  Mum?  Are you reading this?  Expect a hand written letter soon!

Have you ever consulted a naturopath or tried any of the products mentioned above?  Share your experiences below!

13 Responses to “Blackmores Product Trial”

  1. Shelley December 12, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Very interesting! I have the same issues with Oats and had decided to just cut them out of my diet completely, but I might give the digestive enzymes a go now.

  2. myff December 12, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    I take digestive enzymes too or I’d get the gut ache from hell with my oats …….I have my oats in water no milk I find that helps a lot too.

    • Amanda December 12, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

      Yup, me too! All water. 🙂

  3. Inertia (Jes) December 13, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    I have issues with wheat products and dairy (if I indulge) – have you been taking the enzymes with every meal or just known culprit meals?

    • Amanda December 13, 2011 at 8:58 am #

      Hey Jes! Yeah I take them with every meal. Give them a shot! 🙂

      • Inertia (Jes) December 13, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

        I think I will! My naturopath has tried many thing without huge success so it’s definitely worth a trial.

  4. KJ December 13, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    I’ve used valerian on and off for years. I’m usually a good sleeper but occassionally my routine will get out of whack and needs a little kick start. I was also reccommended passionflower tea by a therapist I went to due to a bout of insomnia a couple of years ago. I find it really powerful and settling and always have it in the house just in case. Even my husband the tea hater will drink it when he needs a good nights sleep – so I know it works!

    I also have a bloating problem when eating oats too (I’ve since switched to quinoa) so will be keen to test out the Digestive Enzymes. I miss oats far too much.

    • Amanda December 13, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

      Thanks for the tip KJ! Yeah, I had to switch to quinoa for agessss but now, no problems whatsoever!!

    • Cam December 13, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

      Hey KJ,

      Where do you get passionflower from? I would love to try something natural. Valerian hasn’t worked for me, so I’m basically left with the sleeping pills you can get over the counter at the chemist. Those are shocking, like having a hangover the whole next day.

      • KJ December 13, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

        Hey Cam

        I get the tea from a well stocked health food shop in my town. Make sure you brew it really strong and let it cool and drink once your in bed ready to settle down.

        I know what you mean about those over the counter tablets – they really knock you around the next day.

  5. Cam December 13, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Wow, I’m surprised how many are affected by digestion issues. I’m lucky I have a cast iron gut and have never had that problem.

    Might be interested in giving the Magnesium powder a go though. I’ve also wanted to speak to a naturopath before…..might have to look into it.

  6. Holly December 17, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    Wow sounds great at least your making progress! I love peppermint T2 it’s good for relaxing too 🙂 so many benefits!

  7. Scott Simmons December 17, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    I am a fan of blackmores supplements too.

    However they can get pretty pricey as compared to the other brands sold in my country.

    I do take their multi vits though

Leave a Reply

