Amanda’s Protein & Oat Pancakes

22 Nov

This post comes from my sick bed, where I have been for the past 2 days. 😦 I contracted a stomach bug but all is fine – just need to keep hydrated, eat bland (come at me white bread!) and I should be fine in a day or so.

Now, even though I can eat an abundance of white bread and crackers at the moment, the only thing I REALLY want are these gorgeous, fluffy pancakes. They are so devine. One day I ate them for breakfast AND dinner… DON’T YOU DARE JUDGE ME!

I’ve fooled around with a few different recipes but they were never quite right. So I made some of my own changes and came up with these.

The trick is in the protein powder – you really have to get a nice tasting protein powder. I use Gaspari Myofusion in Milk Chocolate and it is DELICIOUS. You can buy it from BMB Supplements. Enter in the code “mevsbulge” and get 10% off any products til 1st February 2012! 😉

These can pack quite a calorie punch though – about 500 calories (and an amazing 55g of protein!) if you have them with the yoghurt and berries but you can remove the oats and use only egg whites to make them lighter.

Ingredients

1 scoop protein powder
1/2 cup dry, uncooked instant oats
1/4 low fat cottage cheese
3 egg whites
1 whole raw egg

Add everything to a bowl.

20111122-153658.jpg

Stir well or blend for a smoother consistency.

20111122-153711.jpg

Pour into a non-stick pan on low-medium heat. Meanwhile, heat up your grill.

20111122-153720.jpg

Wait a few mins for bubbles to form…

20111122-153730.jpg

Then stick it under the grill for a few minutes. I do this because it is too big and awkward to flip over without breaking!

20111122-153739.jpg

Add a tablespoon of natural yoghurt and a few berries… And voila!

20111122-153748.jpg

Yum!

20111122-153756.jpg

Hope you guys enjoy – let me know what you think! 🙂

16 Responses to “Amanda’s Protein & Oat Pancakes”

  1. Kate November 22, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    I’ve been messing around with protein pancakes for a while but they always taste so bland (I think this is because I use a natural, unflavoured WPI). Yours look great though, will give them a try!

  2. Underthesea November 22, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Wowzers – no wonder you struggle to eat it, that’s massive!!!

    Kate, flavoured protein makes a bit of difference, I also add a dash of vanilla extract to my version, and 1/2 tsp of xylitol for sweetness

    • Amanda November 22, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

      Lol I know right? Huge. But it keeps me going on weekend mornings as I tend not to eat as much or as often. 😉

  3. Jade November 22, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    GET IN MY BELLY!!! Might try these on ze weekend 🙂

    Hope you’re on the mend, being sick sucks 😦

    • Amanda November 24, 2011 at 9:30 am #

      I’m feeling a bit better! Thanks Jade! Let me know how you like the pancakes. 🙂

  4. Tina November 22, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Yummo! I’ve got a few recipes to try now.

  5. Myff November 24, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    I made a vanilla ice cream whey powder one this morning I don’t know what I did wrong but it was horrible like eating cardboard lol……I didn’t eat all day cause I felt sick .

  6. iloveusacandy December 5, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Looks like a nice recipe! I might have to try and recreate it (unless you want to send some up to me on the Sunshine Coast? Lol!).

  7. Bubbles December 10, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    A recipe I have discovered is banana, egg and protein powder whizzed up and poured into muffin trays and baked. Not exactly the buttery banana bread we are used to but works when the devil on my shoulder is screaming for naughty, fatty carbs (as it does at the worse times) and the angel knows I need protein and bananas (even tho I don’t like bananas)

  8. Petra February 29, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    Any ideas of a substitue for the oats for a gluten free version?

    • Amanda February 29, 2012 at 9:46 am #

      Hey Petra! Have a read of this: http://www.freedomfoods.com.au/healthy-stuff/Oats-and-Gluten-Free-Diet.aspx

      Maybe it is an option for you to purchase GF oats?

      • Petra March 5, 2012 at 2:58 am #

        I am going to try gluten free oats when I can find them in the supermarket here but today I made this with Bob Mills GF Hot Cereal (brown rice, corn, buckwheat, and sorghum) and it was pretty good – couldn’t finish it though!

      • Amanda March 13, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

        Yummo! That sounds delicious!!

  9. select001 May 3, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

    Hi Amanda. I am undertaking an experiment to find out if protein powder can be used by the body for my eventual weight loss attempt I know it is probably hard to judge but do you think that it helps or is there some suspision that it does nothing, I am hopeful that it does but reserved. Pancakes look lovely!

  10. Krys June 2, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    Just made this recipe with Banana proto whey and added some carob powder, choc banana goodness! Delish, thanks Amanda!!!

Leave a Reply

