Pushing Weights

15 Nov

20111115-174521.jpg

Some people have been enquiring about what kind of weight I’m pushing at the moment so I thought I would share with y’all some examples of my workouts!

Keep in mind, it took be some time to work up to these weights!

I also like to switch it up often and throw in high rep days (20 reps) and drop sets etc. Keeps the body guessing!

I keep a log of my weights so that I can make an effort to increase weights every few weeks or so.

Upper Body Sample Workout

2 x 15 pushups
3 x 12 25kg BB bench press
3 x 12 12.5kg DB pullovers
3 x 12 20kg push press
3 x 12 6kg DBs lateral raise
3 x 6 pull ups (7th plate)
3 x 8 40kg BB rows
3 x 8 OH cable ext (2nd plate + 2 blocks)
3 x 12 cable tri pushdowns (3rd plate + 1 block)
3 x 12 cable bi curls (3rd plate + 1 block)
3 x 15 hanging knee raises
3 x 15 swissball prone roll out
3 x 20 medicine ball twists

Lower Body Sample Workout

Note: My gym doesn’t have a squat rack, and I don’t like to squat in the smith, so my squatting weight isn’t very heavy at current!

3 x 15 20kg plate weighted hip extension
3 x 12 30kg BB speed squats, bum to bench
3 x 8 17.5kg DBs walking lunges
3 x 12 40kg DB sumo squats
3 x 12 30kg BB single leg deadlifts
3 x 8 leg press (9th plate)

Then I will usually throw in a couple of ab exercises at the end of leg day too.

What do you enjoy training more, upper body or lower body?

21 Responses to “Pushing Weights”

  1. Underthesea November 15, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    I like all my workouts (except for one or two specific exercises per body part..) partly because, and I’ll freely admit, I like checking out my muscles πŸ˜›

    • Amanda November 15, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

      I HEAR THAT GIRLFRIEND!!

    • Julie November 16, 2011 at 8:38 am #

      I was drinking giant German beers last weekend and I kept getting busted checking out my guns when lifting the beers. Haha!

  2. quick_dry November 15, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    Lower body for sure – love that completely drained feeling after a big lift, staggering about jelly legged πŸ™‚

    • Amanda November 16, 2011 at 8:57 am #

      Haha epic feeling. But I think I like upper body more because I can see that instant pump!

  3. Teagan November 15, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    You look amazing. Keep up the good work

    • Amanda November 16, 2011 at 8:57 am #

      Thanks lovely!

  4. Kate November 15, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    I love training legs! They make me feel so strong. Upper body progress is so slow comparatively.

    • Amanda November 16, 2011 at 8:58 am #

      It’s the opposite for me! Come on legs, do your thang!

  5. Julie November 16, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Since I’ve had my knee injury I’ve been focusing on upper body (oh my guns!), which I normally prefer to do since I do so much running. However I’m CRAVING a legs workout. I think in about 2-4 weeks I can start doing some heavy weights leg exercises, cannot wait!

    • Amanda November 16, 2011 at 8:58 am #

      You know how I love dem guns! πŸ˜€

  6. KittyKitty November 16, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    Jeebus girlfriend, you look AMAZING! I’ve been out of the blogosphere for a while, stuck in a work hole but holy cow! You look fantastic! And don’t even get me started on those guns!!

    Oh man I hate training my legs. I love the result but my most hated of all the exercises is anything that involves lunging. Upper body I could train til the cows come home! Although, after having surgery on my, ahem, chest… I have lost so much upper body strength and it feels really strange to do anything that isolates my pecs…

    • Amanda November 16, 2011 at 9:09 am #

      Lizzzz! You’ve been missed! πŸ™‚

      Yeah I would say I have to agree with you but nevertheless gotta keep smashing the legs!!!

      Are you a “liker” of my Facebook page? I update that more often than the blog in recent times due to how busy I have been! πŸ˜€

      • KittyKitty November 16, 2011 at 9:17 am #

        Ahh thanks for the tip, I’m now your newest ‘liker’ πŸ™‚

        Absolutely loving seeing your progress, you have great proportions for a sports model! And you’ve inspired me to get back on the blog-a-log. Stay tuned! xxxx

      • Amanda November 16, 2011 at 9:20 am #

        Yay! Welcome to the awesome club!!! πŸ˜€

        Great – looking forward to some new posts! x

  7. Mellie November 16, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    You look amazing Amanda!! I can really see the difference between this & the last picture you posted in this pose!!

  8. karam November 17, 2011 at 6:57 am #

    Hi Amanda,

    When you increased your calorie intake to 1900 calories after the dexa scan did you feel like you were getting bulkier or gaining weight at all? or were you working out harder to counter balance the increase?

    • Amanda November 17, 2011 at 7:51 am #

      I ended up eating at about 2200 cals for a while and yep, definitely bulked up. That’s a good thing as I was gaining muscle. πŸ™‚

      Probably on about 1800 now I’d say and still losing fat.

      • karam November 17, 2011 at 7:54 am #

        wow!! that is amazing !! never cease to amaze me =]=]

        p.s. I took your advice and I’ve jumped on the natalie PT band wagon!!!!

        We had our first consult yesterday and I had a dexa scan done as well and boy oh boy do I feel SOO INVIGORATEDDD!!!!!!!!!!

        Keep up the great wall updates as they inspire me to do so much better =]]

        Cheers

  9. Megan November 17, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    WOW! SO much progress since the last shot. I know I am meant to be looking at yr guns but – those ABS! Those Thighs! (Can you tell they are my problem areas?!). Well done and thank you for sharing the weights. I struggle with any core excercise and also anything tricep related – back ok, chest ok, biceps ok. Boxing has helped me get better at lifting, strangely!! xx Megan

  10. Meg November 18, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Upper body, I hate training lower body but I do it cos I know I get great results when I really try

Leave a Reply

