Video Update – Progress & Exciting News!

10 Nov

I’ll TRY to get better at these… I promise.  But for now you will have to endure my akward rambling, hair touching and sweaty appearance.  Enjoy!

 

19 Responses to “Video Update – Progress & Exciting News!”

  1. Jenny November 10, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Hi Amanda

    Great video update. I related to your wine, dip and cheese night…I think I am over them too…but then I slip up again, I did listen to your words about what is more important to you now…and well that is so true…I want the body..not the wine and nibbles. I will keep this in my mind next time I am tempted.
    Do you do any pump classes ? do you think these alone will give you killer arms/shoulders ? that is my aim at the moment ….
    How tall are you and what is your current weight ?

    Jenny x

    • Amanda November 10, 2011 at 9:45 am #

      Hey Jenny! Yup – you need to keep your eyes on the prize! No I don’t do pump. And no, it won’t give you killer arms and shoulders. You need to lift heavy in order to change the shape of your muscles! Pump is more for endurance. I’m 169cm and 62kg currently.

  2. Jade November 10, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    Congrats on the sponsorship 🙂 you really are a constant inspiration, a reminder to me to stay focussed 🙂

    • Amanda November 10, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

      Thanks so much Jade, that’s very sweet. 🙂

  3. poptartlr November 10, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    Love the video – congrats on the progress!
    I must admit I could never go so far in terms of bodysculpting if it meant forsaking the occasional wine and cheese night with my friends. I really want to be super healthy but I need it to more sustainable long term for me and what I enjoy:)

    Out of interest, what snacks do you usually include in your daily plans? I eat really clean good food for my meals, but I have a tendency to get stuck when it comes to snacks because I am on the road a lot – I end up relying on mini protein bars etc because it’s easier to eat in the car! I want to eat less packaged foods though!

    • Amanda November 10, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

      The thing is when you train as much as I do and follow the type of super clean diet that I do, those nights can wreak havoc on your body. Hence the water weight! So at the moment, it’s not feasible for me to do those things when the aim is to compete next year. 🙂

      Snacks are things like small tin of tuna and a piece of fruit, yoghurt, protein shake, cottage cheese, veg sticks etc… but that is on my current plan. I have been known to have apple with natural peanut butter, nuts, seeds, fruit, rice cakes…

  4. Kate November 10, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    Love the video update, you should definitely do more of them.

    What sort of cardio are you doing on your lunch break?

    • Amanda November 10, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

      Thanks Kate! I will try to! 🙂

      Cardio at lunch would be 45 mins of elliptical, max incline treadmill power walk, tabata, a run, stair runs… Whatever tickles my fancy really!

  5. jovvie November 10, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Video post was great, especially considering it was all one take. Don’t stress! :o)

    OFF TOPIC… I have to have a look on your site a bit more, but thought I might pick your brain a bit. Considering I’m at the very beginning of my journey, I’m finding it REALLY hard to break my bad habits. I feel like I’m always kind of doing this stop, start thing where I’m really motivated and “good” with my eating, and then the next week I’m completely out of control. I’m pretty impatient and generally want things straight away, so to be putting in hard work and not really getting any results straight away, it’s hard to imagine I’ll ever get there. Did this happen to you too when you were starting out? Like I said even if I don’t get a response I’ll go have a look around your blog for some “keeping the motivation” type posts.

    Again, great job with the video.

    • Amanda November 10, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

      Thanks!

      Basically you need to have the understanding that change takes time. Yes I did have those feelings and stopped and started all the time. But once I had a firm goal in place and stuck with it for a few weeks, it became second nature and a habit.

      Check out the motivation category on the right hand side. 🙂

      • jovvie November 10, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

        Thanks, Amanda.

        I have found some articles from there I am going to read over tonight.

        I think that is the problem I am having … “understanding that change takes time.” I feel ashamed that I have gotten to this weight and that everyone can see my flaws, so I have this sense of urgency to get it all off… I will work on that mentality as much as I can, better focus on giving myself those smaller goals to meet (and be proud of when I reach them) instead of wanting the final result now.

        I appreciate your response, especially considering you’re so busy with working out twice a day!! :o)

  6. Lis_84_12WBT November 10, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Hey Amanda, thanks for the video!

    I was just wondering – Approximately how long are your gym workouts when you split them into a lunchtime cardio and an afternoon/evening weights?

    Today I had a 1 hour PT session at midday (the only time he had available after I cancelled last weekend) and I’m only just NOW back at my desk! So I left the office to get changed at about 11:30am … that’s 2hrs and 45 mins! However I did have a warmup, cooldown, stretching, shower and nipped into Coles afterwards. My gosh I’m SLOW!

    Also, is your gym bag massively heavy? I assume you have to take a separate set of clothes for your second workout? My bag seems crazy heavy …

    Love your work, keep it up! xx

    • Amanda November 10, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

      My lunch sessions are 45 mins. I am lucky that I have a gym at work with showers etc. So it doesn’t take me long.

      Gym bag isn’t too heavy – and extra pair of tights and a singlet doesn’t weight much. And sometimes I will go home first before hitting the gym at night. 🙂

  7. Paula November 10, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    Hi Amanda,
    Thanks for the video post, it was good to hear how you’re going.
    Just wondering what sort of split you are doing for strength training? Upper/lower,
    push/pull, certain muscle groups? Also, it would be interesting to hear what sort
    of exercises you do for each workout and what sort of weights (this might be getting
    too personal though and understand if you don’t want to be telling that).

    I just find that people at my gym are using pretty light weights (women only gym),
    and I try to use heavy weights…

    Anyway, you’re doing great and I love your motivation and dedication. Can’t wait
    to see more progress photos soon. 🙂 All the best.

    • Amanda November 10, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

      Hey Paula! Check the post from where I started my cut. I put my split in there. I’ll try to post some of my sample workouts soon! My motto is go heavy or go home! Haha

  8. betty November 15, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    wow your blog is totally motivational i love it !
    watch out with the l cartnine though i did use it and found my body got used to it so the effects werent so wow after 2/3 weeks

    • Amanda November 15, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

      Thanks Betty! Let’s see what happens hey! 😉

  9. Lorna November 18, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    Hi,

    Quick question for you Amanda…

    I dropped about 14kg this last year, mostly in part from a change in diet with some regular moderate exercise 3-4 times a week. Over the last 3-4 months the weight loss has plateued. I am currently at 24% body fat and want to drop to under 20. What would be your advice for getting there and if you had to reccomend one supplement for fat weight loss, what would it be? I thought you’d be best the person to ask as you have trialed so many supplements yourself and are looking amazing! Thanks!

    • Amanda November 18, 2011 at 9:18 am #

      Hey Lorna

      I wrote a post about plateaus if you have a little search!

      But I recommend upping the intensity and frequency of exercise, eating 100% clean except for one cheat meal a week and drinking loads of water. Green tea helps and I think CLA and L-Carnitine are great supplements as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

