Clean Eats: Garli, Chilli, Ginger & Soy Barramundi

27 Oct

Haven’t done a recipe post for a while! But I haven’t been very adventurous to be honest. I keep having the same things over and over so when I thought up this baby I was excited to share because it was such a welcome change from the usual!

20111027-081357.jpg

It’s not much of a recipe, really. You know me – add “some” of this, a “pinch” of that! I believe cooking should be to YOUR tastes. Get creative!

So, this is what I did:

I heated the oven to about 190 degrees Celsius. On a baking tray lined with baking paper I placed my fish fillet, face up.

In a bowl I combined chilli, minced garlic, grated ginger, soy sauce (I prefer to use tamari but had none left) and a splash of fish sauce. I mixed this all up to form a watery paste and then drizzled it over the fish, reserving some for the vegetables. Then I baked that sucker for about 15 minutes (until the fish was easily flaked with a fork).

Then, I tossed some vegetables (baby bok choy, mushroom, broccolini, capsicum and zucchini) into a hot pan and poured over the remaining sauce. I stirred them around until they were wilted slightly but still maintained some crunch.

And that was it! Simple, clean, delicious. I think this would work well with chicken or turkey breasts too!

Give it a go and let me know what you think. 🙂

7 Responses to “Clean Eats: Garli, Chilli, Ginger & Soy Barramundi”

  1. Andie Hilliar (@andiehilliar) October 27, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    How many cals does that work out to be? Think I’ll make it this weekend yummm!

    • Amanda October 27, 2011 at 9:52 am #

      Hey Andie! Sorry, haven’t worked out cals as I’m not really calorie counting right now! But 250g of barramundi is 317 calories… plus veggies and sauce, I’d say it’s about 400, maybe 420?

  2. Teeny October 27, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    That looks deeeeelish!

  3. Jane (@jane_ym) October 27, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    Totally agree that cooking is all about being creative and using ingredients that you love. This looks amazing – I’ve been eating so much salmon lately, I haven’t been experimenting with other seafood but I really should! Garlic, ginger, chilli and soy is a killer flavour combo. Yum yum xxx

  4. Underthesea October 28, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Yum! It’s amazing how using herbs, spices and a small amount of sauces can bring a dish to life without loading it with calories – we use dry spices on our meat regularly, so tasty!

  5. Chanel November 6, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    Delicious! Sauce doesn’t have to mean pre-bottled, full of crap stuff. Fresh herbs, spices, soy, lemon juice if you like, extra virgin olive oil if your plan allows… Perfect! 🙂

  6. Casie November 13, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    This looks seriously good, and is totally on my ‘to cook’ list for next week.

Leave a Reply

