Comp Beauty Prep – Stage 1: Hair Removal

20 Oct

Okay, so when I step on stage next year I have to be hair free.  Every little hair shows up under those harsh stage lights and in the all important official comp photos too!  Hence, I have a dilemma… I’m really hairy.  It’s all blonde hairs though!  But yeah, let’s just say I’m covered in a fine blonde fuzz.

I have heard that after your first couple of waxes the pain is less intense and also the hairs grow back finer.  This appeals to my interests greatly.  So I decided to give arm waxing ago.  By myself.  Oh, hell no, I’m not paying for someone to wax me when I can do that shit myself!  Yes – cheap skate.  Have mentioned this before.  You should not be surprised.

Why not shave or use hair removal creams, you may ask?  Well, because after applying copious amounts of tan it tends to stick to the stubble (especially around the *cough* groin) and that can leave you looking like a spotted freak.   I’m not really looking for that look.  So not hot right now.

So, I bought the wax strips and set about waxing my arms.

And I filmed it.

And here is that footage.

Enjoy!

WARNING: Extreme language ahead! (Come on now, it’s me here…)

Note: Yes, I came *thisclose* to smacking myself in the face on the first rip.

Note 2: Don’t ask me why I ended this video like a phone call.  I was delirious.

Note 3: On my other arm I placed the strip around my arm rather than lengthways up my arm.  Much easier to go in the opposite direction of the arm hair this way.  Noob.

 

 

 

16 Responses to “Comp Beauty Prep – Stage 1: Hair Removal”

  1. Alex October 20, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    Thanks for the giggle! Your going to be so hairless and surprisingly aerodynamic!

    • Amanda October 20, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

      Yesterday when I was running and I came back all sweaty I was like, damn, my arms look gooooooood. I’m digging this hairless cat look for real.

  2. Gillian October 20, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    WHAT THE F*#K!

    How could you do that to yourself hahaha!If only there were arm sized strips so you could pull the whole lot off in one massive go. You crazy!

    • Amanda October 20, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

      Omgggg imagine! DEATH.

  3. jovvie October 20, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    Damn, who cares about the money!?!?! Cheat and get someone else to do it….

    that was crazy funny! Sorry to revel in your pain.

    Loved how you signed off like a telephone call. Sooo good, makes me sense your deliriousness (not sure if that was a word!)

    • Amanda October 20, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

      I will definitely be employing my husband to do the rest of me. It’s just too hard. It’s all too hard. Hahahaha

  4. Inertia (Jes) October 20, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    If you want a cheap option go to a beauty school – get everything done in one hit budget style!

    • Amanda October 20, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

      Intttterrrrdassssting. Cheers! I’ll keep this in mind!

  5. Kelly Hunter (@Kel_Hunter) October 20, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    OMG that was seriously funny!, I could never do that to myself, I need someone to hold me down!.. although I get the cheapskate thing, definitely check the beauty school option, I get all my waxing done at them for half price.

  6. Lara October 20, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Seriously you should leave it to the professionals. If you remove the wax incorrectly you could break the hair causing stubble! Also unsightly ingrown hairs ! Xxxx

    • Amanda October 20, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

      Haha it’s all good Lara! 😉 I wax my own eyebrows too so I’m fine with at home waxing.

  7. Stephanie October 20, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    OUCH!!!! You poor thing! I felt your pain why watching the video if you anything like me I have very senestive skin, so I too dont take well to waxing (Im a shaver myself). My eyebrows are enough for me to deal with 🙂

    Good luck with the prep for the comp, can’t wait to read the rest of the journey that you are on.

    Stef…

  8. dutchie October 20, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    LOL Amanda. Never tried the strips. I think my monkey coat would be to strong for them. I once tried the wax you warm up in the microwave and smear on with a spatula …..BIG FAIL. I ended up panicking for so long about ripping it off, that the wax dried on me. My GF had to help me ‘ pick ‘ it off….Holy Mother…THAT was slow torture at it’s worst. No DYO for me ever again.

    x dutchie

  9. Talitha October 20, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    Haha you crazy woman! I can’t believe you waxed your arms!!! I laughed heartily 😉

  10. Cooper October 21, 2011 at 6:52 am #

    HAHHAHA you are such a spaz. I love it.

  11. Lauren October 23, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Haha your so funny! If you are going to have to do this regularly for comps etc it may be a good idea to purchase a wax pot and strips not expensive at all and will get the hair off alot easier and quicker than the supermarket wax, especially the dreaded bikini area! You can get the hot wax and strip wax like having your own little salon, that’s what I do I’m a therapist and find doing it yourself is a lot less hassle.good luck! Ps you will get addicted to having your arms waxed it looks so good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

