What I’m Eating Now

15 Aug

I get a lot of questions about what my meal plan is like and requests to share more recipes on the blog.   I wish I HAD more interesting recipes to share but I think I have come to the point where I am just eating the same types of foods, day in and day out, that I don’t think that I don’t think it is interesting enough to be blog worthy! I mean who wants to read that I had grilled chicken and steamed veg AGAIN for dinner?!

I am also conscious that people may feel they should mirror what I eat and this concerns me as diets need to be tailored to individual bodies and goals.  In other words, whilst I am giving you an idea of what my diet is like, I am not suggesting that you should follow it too (let’s face it, I’m not a nutritionist!).  But I will make more of an effort to post up any new recipes that I try and will also post up when my diet changes.  Which just so happens to be NOW.

As per my last couple of posts, I’m now eating what is termed a ‘re-comp’ style diet.  It’s working out well so far and the added carbohydrates are definitely giving my muscles a bit more ‘pump’ (don’t you just love body-building terms? ;)).   The only major changes that I have made to my diet is that I have added more healthy fats and more carbs to get to the macronutrients outlined by Jarrod when I got my Dexa scan done.

So, now my diet looks a bit like this:

Meal 1 (8.30am / 9am)

1/2 cup warm quinoa, skim milk, tsp of honey and a sprinkling of cinnamon + 1 whole egg and 3 whites, scrambled

(I was having oats instead but they seem to make me really bloated and uncomfortable so I have taken them out)

Meal 2 (10.30am – pre-cardio)

Orange + 14 almonds + green tea

Meal 3 (12.30pm)

3/4 cup of brown rice (I am trialling brown rice again as I’m not sure if it is also brown rice that causes the bloated issue or if it was just the oats – if it’s brown rice I’ll switch to quinoa), garden salad, 180g tin of tuna in springwater, 1/4 avocado, drizzled in olive oil and balsamic vinegar

Meal 4 (4.30pm / 5pm pre-workout)

1 scoop of whey protein isolate and 2 tsp of cacao powder (low carb, low cal, no sugar = win!) with skim milk + handful of pepitas

Meal 5 (7.00pm / 7.30pm)

Palm size lean protein (about 150g) and steamed greens (always using herbs, spices, garlic, lemon, chilli etc…)

Meal 6 (8.30pm / 9pm)

1/2 a cup of mashed sweet potato with 1/4 of low-fat cottage cheese sprinkled with nutmeg, cinnamon and a small drizzle of honey (this is DELICIOUS)

It was quite hard making the jump from about 1300 cals to 1900 cals.  I never thought eating MORE would be a problem but my god, it takes me about an hour to finish eating my lunch!  Which is a good thing as the slower you eat the easier it is for your body to digest the food thus keeping you fuller for longer.  I’m also starting to feel stronger and more energetic which is a HUGELY welcome feeling.

I’m going to give some time for my body to adjust to the new meal plan and training regime so I won’t be posting updated pics for another few weeks.  Here’s hoping this all goes to plan and I start to gain some sexy lean muscle!

I’m just going to leave this here, this is my dream body and my current screensaver on my phone.  It reminds me of what I am working towards and to never give up.

Amanda Latona - IFBB PRO

How do you remind yourself of your goals?

19 Responses to “What I’m Eating Now”

  1. alexandra889988 August 15, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    i feel exactly the same!
    i usually eat the same type of meals day in day out. I think about nutrition and not always variety. plus being alone for most of the year i cant buy 20 different types of fruit and vegetables or it will just go off!
    However i do like when you post your meals because it gives me ideas to add to my repitoir!
    i should start posting some of my recipes too!

    • Amanda August 15, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

      Yeah I definitely think of nutrition rather than variety. Lack of variety does not bother me much at all. I’ll easily eat the same thing, day in, day out for weeks or months on end until I change up my meal plan again! 😀

  2. Ms Curious August 15, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your meal plans, it’s good to get some inspirations.

    When do you have meals 5 and 6? I’m interested to know when you have your last meal of the day.

    • Amanda August 15, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

      You’re welcome! I have edited this post to reflect meal times. 🙂

  3. Teeny August 15, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Great post! I like that you put up meal times too. Its good to see how much good food you can eat when you train like a demon. Sometimes I wonder if I eat too much, but if I don’t eat enough I become so lethargic!

    • Amanda August 15, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

      Haha! Well this is speficically aimed at building lean muscle and decreasing fat mass so is not ideal for everyone! It’s ALMOST at my maintenance calories so it’s crazy to know I could even be eating MORE!

  4. Tina August 16, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

    I know what you mean about eating more! I’ve been sitting here for nearly an hour trying to finish my lunch.

  5. Jing August 17, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    Hi Amanda, I am curious to know how you were able to stay on 1300 kcal / day, exercise so much and not feel hungry? What’s the magical trick of achieving this? Thanks!

    • Amanda August 17, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

      Haha well I never said I wasn’t hungry. 😉

      I find that keep my fluids up, drinking lots of hot tea and eating every couple of hours helps when I am on a low cal diet. No magic tricks, sorry! Haha

  6. Cathy Choi August 17, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Looks great Mandy!! So much better than what I have been eating, see here if you want to know what I mean! Just for a laiugh 🙂

    http://whitebeanie.blogspot.com/

    • Amanda August 17, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

      LOL oh wow… But certainly looks delicious! 😉

  7. Abby August 18, 2011 at 2:03 am #

    I remember in an earlier post you wrote about changing your thinking from food being about taste to simply (or not so simply really) about needing energy. What process did you undergo to change your thoughts? Over eating is my biggest problem, so I’m just wondering if there are any readings, or anything really, that you can share with me that helped you. Thanks, your journey is so inspiring!

    • Amanda August 23, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      Hi Abby! Hard to explain really – I guess I’m extremely goal orientated, once I set myself a goal to achieve I won’t give up on it. Because I know I will only be failing myself. I don’t want to let myself down. Sure, I have my moments, I have my cheat meals but I know that they are nothing in the scheme of things. 🙂

  8. Leah August 31, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    Hey Amanda,

    LOVE your blog! And this post was really helpful. One thing I’d love to know is what supplments (if any) that you take daily, when do you take them and how often?

    Thanks! And keep up the hard work 🙂

    • Amanda August 31, 2011 at 10:30 am #

      Thanks Leah! I’ll be doing a supplement post soon actually! Stay tuned!

  9. Lorna October 4, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    Hi Amanda,
    You’re such an inspiration and have motivated myself to personally lose 12Kg. Going from a size 12-14 to an 8. I have never been here, not even as a teen! So thank you very much. I am finding the last couple of kg’s extremely difficult to lose and have been maintaining at 56kg for a few months now (I’m 160cms short lol). I have been essentially been using MFP which you blogged about ages ago and it has really worked! I’ve also been researching clean foods and incorporated them into my diet; eggs, brown rice, quinoa etc. I just wanted to ask you two things which have left my quite stumped…
    1. How do I break through this bloody plateau. I am so close to my goal of 52-53kg.
    2. Which bread would you recommend (in any given day I would limit it to one slice, with eggs or soup)

    I find your blog one of my go-to-reads and applaud all your sucess. You go girl!

    • Amanda October 4, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

      Oh thank you so much Lorna! That is so sweet! x And well done! I think with the cleaned up diet and consistent cardio + weight training you should be on your way to bust through the plateau.

      With bread I recommend soy and linseed or quinoa and flaxseed. I have written a post about plateaus too. Do a search for it! 😀

  10. Christine January 14, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    Hey girl!
    How do you calculate how many grams of carbs, fats and protein you need to take in daily? I just started training 4-6 days a week, I’m 5ft3 and around 100-105 lbs.. Usually I take in 110-120 grams protein, around 100 carbs. How are you able to calculate this nutrition intake?

    • Amanda January 15, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

      Hi Christine! There’s lots of nutritional calculators online – do a google search for a macronutrient calculator and that should help! 🙂

Leave a Reply

