Mojo is BACK!

10 Aug

My blogging mojo has been low.  Very low.  I apologise for this but I just haven’t had anything very interesting to say really… every day was the same, wake, eat, work, eat, crossfit, eat, home time, study, eat, sleep, dream of eating.  Haha!

But I am happy to report that my mojo is steadily creeping back up as I have a new focus!

Last week I took the week off to complete my Certificate III in Fitness.  I still have my Senior First Aid to go and a video practical assessment but I made a huge dent in the course.  One module that I found particularly interesting was the module on exercise programming and how programs need to reflect different fitness goals.

Now, my main goal at the moment is to build sexy lean muscle mass (also known as hypertrophy) and reduce fat mass so the way I should be going about this is a strength program that is based on heavy lifting for 8 – 12 reps.

When I say  – 12 reps that doesn’t just mean picking up a 5kg dumbbell and doing 12 reps of a bicep curl with it.  It means to choose the heaviest weight that you can bust out 12 reps with perfect form with but could definitely not manage a 13th rep.

Whilst I love crossfit, I need a change of pace.  I need to see what it is like to follow a traditional resistance/strength based program as how can I be a successful trainer if I don’t even train myself and only rely on others to train me?  I also think that if I want the sports model body then I have to train like one.  Besides these factors, it’s becoming hard financially to fund going to crossfit and the class times are often unsuitable for me.

So, I’ve devised a new program for myself!  I’ve had a good read of my course material again, had a chat to Nat and also read The Female Fitness Bible on Bodybuilding.com to get some ideas on how to piece this altogether:

The New Workout Plan 

Monday

Lunchtime cardio workout – 20 mins of HIIT (100m sprints followed by 100m walking, for example) cardio immediately followed by 20 mins of low intensity cardio

Evening – upper body

Tuesday

Lower body

Wednesday

Cardio workout only (as per Monday lunchtime)

Thursday

Luncthime – cardio workout

Evening – upper body

Friday

Lower body

Saturday

Meltdown with New Outlook Fitness

Sunday

Glorious rest day!

As I come up with new programs I will post them up here on the blog so you guys can give them a go for yourselves!  I’ll also post up my new meal plan in the next blog post. 🙂

And remember guys:

 

Source: weheartit.com

 

 

10 Responses to “Mojo is BACK!”

  1. Gillian August 10, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    Words can’t describe how much I love that song! I’m pretty sure I listen to it every time I’m at the gym. If Yeezy can’t motivate me no one can!

    Are you planning on using your Certificate straight away and starting PT?

    Can’t wait to see your programs!

    • Amanda August 10, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

      Haha I love it too! That’s right, put in work, eat your salad, no dessert. Haha

      Yep – can’t wait to make the transition!

  2. Kristina August 10, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    oh!!! train me!! train me!!! Your new regime looks hardcore!!! That’s how we like it!!! Can’t wait to see your results from getting your mojo back, also can’t wait for more meal plans and ideas!

    You’re truly motivational!!!

    xx

    • Amanda August 10, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

      Haha if you’re serious I’d definitely train you! Have to wait a few months though. 😉

      And thank you for your kind words! 😀 x

  3. Nataliah August 11, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Hi there, its funny you say that about Crossfit vs Strength as I’m about to basically do the same switch. My trainner goes on maternity leave shortly and I’ve decided not to join the mainstream Crossfit classes at my gym. Instead I’m going to go to a powerlifting gym to do a purely strength-based cycle. I’m looking forward to seeing some more changes in my body, rather than just to my performance. Crossfit has gotten me to a level of fitness I never thought I’d have, I love smashing a good MetCon and will probably still do a couple of times a week. But I think its time to get back to my foundations if that makes sense. Anyway, good luck and get us posted on your progress 🙂

    • Amanda August 12, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

      Totally makes sense! I hear you! 😀 Good luck with your progress too. 🙂

  4. callie August 11, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    Amanda you’ve definately made the right decision for what you want to achieve!! I think a traditional heavy lifting program is so underrated in gyms and fitness these days. I think you are going to see a real difference.
    I have just changed trainers working with an ex body sculptor who has won alot of competitions in her day and I am hoping to compete in April next year. So sore so far!!

    • Amanda August 12, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

      I hope so! And omg that sounds awesome! I hope to compete in bikini/sports model next March! 😀

  5. Tina August 15, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    I need to stop reading your blog, you’re too much of an inspiration haha. I’m so lame. Told my husband last night I *might* want to compete in a comp one day. We’ll see!

    • Amanda August 15, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

      Haha that’s awesome! 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

