To Compete or Not to Compete

20 Jul

… that is the question.

The 12 week challenge that I set myself is almost up.  I could continue on with that challenge, as I am still not at the desired body fat that I would like to be at, or I could set a new challenge for myself – compete in my first Sports Model Competition.

A Sports Model Comp or a “Bikini” comp is different to a body building or figure comp (what Charlotte is doing).  To quote the IFBB rules:

Judges will be looking for the girl who displays the best shape, symmetry and tone as well as being the best groomed in terms of hair, make up, tan, nails etc to complete the look.

This category will suit the girl who trains for perhaps aerobics/dance/boxing etc and trains for toned body but without the extra muscle required for our Figure competitions. Girls who are “curvy” or “slim” will all be competitive as judges will assess which girl whose shape and tone is best presented. This category would suit girls who are training to compete in Figure in the future.

I think this is something that really appeals to me.  I’m not looking to compete in figure or body building and the shape that I am after is very similar to that of a sports or bikini comp model.  So why not get the physique and then have a little fun with it, maybe even win some prizes, whilst I can?  🙂

Now, there is a comp coming up in September but I doubt I will be ready by then so I think realistically I need to aim for March 2012.

I will be going to get a dexa scan in the next couple of weeks to find out my exact body fat and then that will help me determine how much body fat I will need to lose.  I’m guessing at the moment I would need to lose about 6 – 7%.  I hope the dexa scan doesn’t say it’s too much more than that!

Here’s some examples of what Sports Comp models look like:

Source: flexr6.com/

New progress pics will be taken this weekend so I’ll be able to get some better judgement on how much work needs to be done!

What do you guys think, should I go for it? 😀

15 Responses to “To Compete or Not to Compete”

  1. Jade July 20, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    I think follow your passion and do what you want to do, my only advice would be go easy on the fake tan hehe 😉

  2. Cecilia July 20, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    Definitely go for it!

  3. Chanel July 20, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    Personally for me a few of the models in the pics look too muscly (and tanned), however, I think you can definitely do this – of course you can! 😀

    • Amanda July 20, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      Well it’s the tan that makes them look more muscly than they really are and they aren’t that way all year round, just during comp time. 🙂

  4. alexandra889988 July 20, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    i agree with jade, go easy on the tan! lol and no huge fake titties!
    but i am so proud of how far you have come and you should definitely go for it!

    • Amanda July 20, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

      I can’t promise you anything! LOL 😉

      • alexandra889988 July 22, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

        well then i cant wait to cheer you on while giggling at your fake knockers and chocolate tan! yoy GO GIRL!

  5. jovvie July 20, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    Jovvie_83 here.
    I love those girls bodies, and that’s exactly how I want to look. Fake tan like that is only for comp time. Gosh I hope I can get that far. Whether September or March you should definitely do it!

    • Amanda July 20, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      Hi Jovvie! 😀

      Thanks – I’m definitely going to put my all into it 🙂

  6. Talitha July 20, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Amanda, if it is something you want then go for it. You have shown yourself what you are capable of. Think of it as a reward for your previous hard work and a challenge for the future. All about goals! Plus it makes your ‘story’ even more impressive 😉

  7. Jane July 21, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    personally I think you look great as you are now – you look amazing

    In contrast, I think the women in the pictures about look almost too muscular and not at all feminine, in fact a couple of them look very mannish.

    I think a much nicer look is slender but toned, which you are now!

    it depends on what your goal is, if your original goal was to improve your health and feel bettter about your appearance, then you have definitely achieved that! If however your goals have changed and figure competing like the above pictures interests you, then I would go for it!

    • Amanda July 21, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

      Thanks Jane! I’ll take that as a compliement. 🙂

      My original goal was to lose 15kg. Did that. Tick. The next goal, “Project tighten up” was about achieving a much more lean and defined shape. Still working on that one. Then I decided whata the hell, the lean and defined shape is what I am after, why not compete and really push myself?

      I do not want to be overly muscular or “mannish” but I do want that bikini body. Tight, toned, terrific. I think that’s very feminine and super hot. But we all have our preferences! 🙂

      Thanks for your support! x

      • jovvie July 21, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

        “Tight, toned, terrific. I think that’s very feminine and super hot. But we all have our preferences!”

        ME TOO! I’m so glad there is someone else out there that thinks the same as me. I can’t wait to see how you go.

      • Amanda July 22, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

        Thanks Jovvie! I look forward to watching your progress too!!

Leave a Reply

