Clean Eats: Lean Beef Patties

19 Jul

I got extremely creative in the kitchen yesterday!  I was all pepped up after just passing my P’s test (yay!  I’m a driver now! :D) so I decided to spend a solid 3 hours in the kitchen preparing meals for the week.   What a way to congratulate myself!

I can’t stress the importance of meal planning enough.  Fail to plan = plan to fail.  When I know all my lunches are prepared for the week it saves me money, time and it also saves me from eating something I shouldn’t.  I also know the exact portion, calories, fat, protein and carbs that I am getting.

I made the usual baked chicken breast (which I just season with Moroccan, Cajun or Portuguese seasoning and bake), a spicy turkey casserole (recipe to come) and these delicious lean beef patties.

These are great as lunch, dinner or even a snack-on-the-g0 option as they are quite tasty cold too!

For lunch or dinner I would eat two or three patties with 1/2 a cup of cooked quinoa and 1 – 2 cups of steamed green veg.  For dinner I would substitute the quinoa for sweet potato (about 100g is a good serve).

Give them a go and let me know what you think!

Lean Beef Patties (makes 10)

500g lean beef mince
Half a carrot, grated
Half an onion, diced
2 cloves of garlic, crushed
Handful of chopped parsley
1/2 cup almond meal (or bread crumbs if you are not worried about carbs)
1 egg
Chilli flakes, to taste
1 teaspoon of meat seasoning (I use one that has cumin, chilli, garlic and oregano in it)
1 tablespoon of dijon mustard
Salt & pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients and roll into 10 balls.


Heat a little olive oil in a pan on medium heat.  Add balls and squash them down to form patties.

Cook for a few minutes a side until cooked through.

Nutritional Info: 108 cals per pattie; 6g fat; 2g sat fat; 13g protein; 1.5g carbs

 

7 Responses to “Clean Eats: Lean Beef Patties”

  1. alexandra889988 July 19, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    yay i was waiting for this recipe. will be cooking tonight!

  2. Nicola July 20, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    O these look good. Like the idea of carrot in the patties

  3. alexandra889988 July 22, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    I cooked and froze them on tuesday night and had some last night for dinner. Yum yum!
    and i have some for lunch today. thx again for the recipe xx

    • Amanda July 22, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

      Yay glad you liked them!!

  4. Sam August 15, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Just cooked – DELICIOUS!!

    • Amanda August 16, 2011 at 10:30 am #

      Great! I’m glad you liked them! 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. BIG cook up! | The Secrets of Thin - July 19, 2011

    […] Eats: Beef Patties (a recipe from mevsthebulge.com) Ill add quinoa and steamed veges as a […]

Leave a Reply

