Review: CLA

15 Jul

I have been using CLA now for about 4 weeks so now it’s time for my review!  I must also apologise for my lack of posting – life has been very busy lately!

What is CLA?

Conjugated linoleic acids (CLA) is a type of fatty acid that is found mainly in meat and dairy products.

Over 30 clinical studies have been conducted on CLA with the following possible benefits being found:

  • Increases metabolic rate
  • Decreases abdominal fat
  • Enhances muscle growth
  • Lowers cholesterol and triglycerides
  • Enhances immune system
  • Anti-Carcinogenic

One study that I found particularly interesting can be found here.  This study was conducted by a company that makes CLA so it’s important to remember the results can be skewed.

Another interesting article can be found here.

My Experience With CLA

In the four weeks I have been using CLA, whilst keeping up my clean eating and exercise regime, I have leaned out , particularly in the middle, more than ever before.   I take two capsules of CLA, 3 times a day, with meals.

My last measurement results showed that I had lost 3cm from my waist and 2cm from navel and I had only been using CLA for two weeks at that time!  I definitely attribute this to the CLA as my results have been fairly consistent and this loss was quite a big one for me.   I am also starting to feel my abs come through, which excites me greatly!

My new measurements and photos will be taken in about a weeks time so we will really be able to see the results then but I am feeling confident that I will have some more good results this month.

Muscle growth has been coming along nicely too but I can’t really say if that’s just a side effect from training hard. 😉

As for immune support, well, I caught a terrible respiratory infection so it hasn’t done so much for me in that area I’m afraid!

One thing to note though – this is not some miracle pill that will make your weight worries go away.  You MUST train hard and you MUST eat clean for this to work.  Otherwise you may as well just be taking capsules full of olive oil, it will simply do nothing.

Where to buy it?

Your best bet is to source it online.   Have a bit of a search for the best deal.

This is the brand I use:

Have you used CLA?  What’s your experience?

12 Responses to “Review: CLA”

  1. Emma July 15, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Hey there,

    Great blog! Very inspirational! I was just looking at your last measurements chart you posted up – check your adding formulas in excel cos I think you’ve actually lost a lot more than 66cm! Looks like it should be more like 88cm???? You’re a machine! 😀

    • Amanda July 15, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

      Oh my goodness! You are RIGHT! The last two rows were + amounts rather than -! It’s 88.5cm. Holy moly! Thanks doll!

      • alexandra889988 July 15, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

        wow isnt that now the best news of the day! congrats!

  2. Coops July 15, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    Yay — this is the brand I’ve got too! I’m so glad to hear that they are working for you.
    You know how we discussed that they actually have calories in them, have you been adjusting your calorie count for the day to incorporate these or have you been having them on top of whatever you’re having now??
    I’m very excited to test mine! 🙂

    • Amanda July 16, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

      Well it’s only 72 calories so I’m not really TOO fussed about it. I’m not meticulously counting calories at the moment anyway – just eating clean. 🙂

  3. Natalie July 16, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Very interesting – might check this stuff out. And well done on your results; truly fantastic.

    But, a benefit is “carcinogenic”??? Can this be right? Because that doesn’t sound like a benefit to me! lol Hopefully anti-carcinogenic.

    • Amanda July 16, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

      Bwahahaha yes you are right *runs to edit* !

  4. Coops July 18, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    I’ve been doing that too lately and honestly I’m getting better results – either that or I’m less freaking obsessed and I’m starting to be able to actually see results.
    Either way I think it’s helping to step back from the meticulous counting and being a little bitch about it – and start spending more time training. 😉

  5. Nataliah July 19, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    I just came across from the VF and saw this post so I thought I’d google CLA to find out more. I actually think I saw you at the Westfield foodcourt when I was in Sydney the other weekend too.

    Since we’re not allowed to talk about it on VF I thought I’d post here. I really have my training under control, but I’m not 100% about my nutrition. I really have another 10kgs of fat to lose and I am kinda stalled. After the Crossfit comp on Saturday I am determined to cut this fat, cause I know that’s one of the main things holding back my performance. In particular my non-pullups is about the extra weight I’m carrying.

    Any advice? Feel free to email me 🙂

    • Amanda July 19, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

      What Westfield doll? I was in the one in the Sydney not last Sunday but the Sunday before! 😀

      It’s all about clean eating. If it didn’t grow out of the ground or come from an animal I won’t eat it. You train pretty hard so once your diet is in check you should be good to go. I have lots of meal plans on the site here so have a search. Email me if you want further advice! 😀

  6. vanessa August 30, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    Hey there
    i finally got my CLA – your post made me want to buy it 🙂
    Do you still use it/is it still effective?

    your pictures are so inspiring , u look like ur killin it!

    x

    • Amanda August 31, 2011 at 10:27 am #

      Hey Vanessa! Awesome! I’m not currently using it as I’m not in the “cutting” phase just yet – I’m focusing on building muscle and strength as per one of my recent posts – but as soon as I start cutting again I will definitely use it!

Leave a Reply

