Project Tighten Up: Update 8 – Measurement Results & Testing 1RMs

4 Jul

Here’s a look at my measurement results this month:

(click image to enlarge)

I’m quite pleased with these results and even had a reasonable weight loss as well!Β  I definitely think this has something to do with the CLA as the weight only came off in the last week or so, but more on that in a later post.

Nat asked me to put my weight loss results in a graph to see if there was a pattern as I seem to lose a good amount some months and then other months I lose next to nothing.

I thought it was pretty interesting that my weight loss has a very clear zig zag pattern – just goes to show that some people (ie me) can’t expect a clear-cut loss of “x” amount month in month out. It can be very varied. And you have to be okay with that and acknowledge your success in any case to maintain motivation.

At first I used to get really down about how I wasn’t losing weight at a quick enough rate or I wasn’t hitting a set number of kilos that I had in my head month after month. But now the weight loss is really no longer that important to me. Whilst I have lost 17kg since Feb 10, the number I love more is the 66.5cm that I have shaved off from my entire body. We’re making new shapes here people! In a healthy and controlled way. πŸ™‚

On another note: Lately, I’ve been more and more interested in strength training and powerlifting.Β  I think this has stemmed from doing CrossFit! Β  So I decided to have a go at testing my one repitition maximumsΒ (1RM) today. 1RM means the maximal weight that can be lifted once with good form in a given exercise.

I tested my squats and deadlifts. I used a smith machine as that is all I have available to me at the moment but I will also give this a go using a proper squat rack or free weights soon.

Squat

Warmed up with 24kg x 10;
44kg x 5;
54kg x 3

Then:

64kg x 1

Then decided I could probably do 69kg:

I need to work on a few things – flexibility, range of motion, depth… a whole range of things really but at least I know now what I’m working with. I will start a basic strength training program from scratch and work on technique, technique, technique!

Deadlift

Had to perform these in the smith machine but will also give these a go with free weights!

Warmed up with 34kg x 10;
54kg x 5;
74kg x 3

Then:

84kg x 1 (serious issues with my grip! Haha – “I’ll do it this way. No this way. No, wait, uh… this way.Β  Yeah.”)

Then decided I would give 89kg a go but I had poor form (came up on my toes):

Overall, I hit better numbers that expected but this means nothing when it comes to form, which needs a lot of work.Β  Can’t wait til I’m strong enough to lift more with excellent form!

 

Have you ever tested your 1RMs? What were your results?

16 Responses to “Project Tighten Up: Update 8 – Measurement Results & Testing 1RMs”

  1. Shelley July 4, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    Nice work! That graph is really interesting, it’s something I’m having to come to terms with too, one week I lose nothing, the next 1 – 2 kgs, the next a couple hundred grams, the next, nothing, etc. It’s good to see that kinda thing in graph form!

    Very frustrating but somehow I’m not letting it phase me and I’m more concentrating on the feeling of loose pants πŸ˜›

    I’m interested in the 1RM thing too, might have to do that myself πŸ˜›

    • Amanda July 4, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

      Loose pants are awesome. πŸ™‚

  2. Gillian July 4, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    Love how you give everything a try!
    Last time I did deadlifts it was only 40kgs and I thought I was going to die of pain for the next few days ha ha. Lol @ your grip issues, alternate grip is to hard for to work out ha ha.

    • Amanda July 4, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

      Haha! I am obsessed with being strong right now. I have no idea what it is but I feel it’s necessary to be able to deadlift a small elephant. πŸ™‚

      Hahaha my bloody hands! What was I doing?!

  3. dutchie July 5, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    It’s good to alternate gripping style. That over/under grip is the style I also use sometimes. It’s easer gripping, and I have more control over the ‘ rolling bar’. It also helps strengthen different areas in my forearms.

    Your doing so well Amanda. Hubby better not get on your bad side or it wont be a small elephant you dead lift πŸ™‚

    xx dutchie

    • Amanda July 6, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

      Thank you dutchie! Hahaha yeah he better watch out! LOL πŸ˜‰

  4. Jane July 7, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Hi Amanda,

    Just wanted to say I have been lurking on your blog for a little while now and you look amazing. You have also inspired me, over the past 6 months I have managed to lose 8kg, and I still have about 5 to go to reach my goal weight.

    Looking forward to your next diet and workout plan posts! I find those the most inspiring!

    Also interested in trying CLA, where do you source it from?
    J xx

    • Amanda July 12, 2011 at 11:05 am #

      That’s awesome Jane! Well done! I have a workout post coming soon. πŸ™‚

      I buy CLA online. The brand I used is MRM CLA 1250. I will be doing a review post soon! πŸ˜€

  5. Davo July 18, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    fantastic results. Keep up the good work. I am no bodybuilder or a pt but I am learning from reading the internet, talking to people and experimenting with my own body.

    I started squatting using a smith machine and I did not find it very comfortable or did I achieve much results. Now I am a true believer of free weights.

    Where are you located?
    There is a few PTC gyms located in Australia. Ask the coach to teach you how to squat safely without and deep. Have a search on ausbb to find their locations and handly tips and techniques for lifting.

    Can you squat deep with narrow stance?

    • Amanda July 19, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

      Thanks Davo! πŸ™‚

      I am also a true believer in free weights and would not normally use a smith machine or any machine at all really. But just wanted to give it a go to see what I was capable of. πŸ™‚

      I’m in the Eastern Subs of Sydney. There’s a PTC located out west and I would like to go visit some day!

      I can squat lower with lighter weight but need to work on my ROM. πŸ™‚

  6. Davo July 23, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Hey Amanda

    I went to visit ptc today. Received some great feed back on my dead lIft and squat form. Placed some new pbs! I’m over the moon. Trying to encourage my gf to train with me but it’s not working. Any tips?
    Coaching was $25. The best $25 I have spent in a long time!

    Keep lifting those free weights!

    • Amanda July 25, 2011 at 9:30 am #

      Hey davo! That’s awesome. Which one did you go to? What’s her hesitation about training?

  7. Davo July 25, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    Hey Amanda

    I went to the ptc in brissy.

    My girl friend said she doesn’t like working out. I guess it’s not for everyone. If would be nice for her to have a balanced lifestyle though. She did go to the gym at one stage but only used the tred mill hehe. It’s a start. Although she did help me move some weights off the bar. Might be a start to a new beginning πŸ™‚

    • Amanda July 25, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      Ah nice one. πŸ™‚ Hmmm yeah you really need to find a passion for it or at least a passion for the way it makes you feel. You can’t really make anybody want to but if you keep talking about how good you feel and how much you think it is due to exercise then you may be a positive influence on her. πŸ™‚

  8. Davo July 25, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    That is a good idea. I will keep talking about how good I feel haha! She has been comenting on the changes I went through πŸ™‚ I’m still rather skinny but I am at my heaviest and climbing (65kgs. I was 49kgs when we met. Ridicoulsy skinny and that was 5 years ago) once I get to 70ish I’ll start cutting. That’s my goal for this year. As well
    Squat 100
    Deadlift 120

    Keep pushing those weights.

    If your have trouble with squat depth or hip tuck. If might be due to flexibility. Start working on those hammies. Perfect exercise is straight leg deadlift. Hip tuck is from tight weak hammies which put alot of strain on your lower back. Strengthening those hammies will take the strain from lower back by forcing your hammies to ascend form squat. Hope it makes sense for you Amanda. I tend to talk in riddles.

    • Amanda July 26, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

      Wow nice work there Davo! And nice goals too. Yes, it’s definitely due to my issues with felxibility, I am constantly working on trying to improve it. Did some good clean and jerks though today and my Crossfit instructor commented that my form when I’m driving through the hips had improved so I’m getting there! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

