Clean Eats: Turkey & Quinoa Larb

15 Jun

20110615-084856.jpg

I love Thai food. I could happily exist on a diet of Thai food for a very long time. Actually, throw in Japanese food and I’m pretty certain I could exist on that for the rest of my life.

Issue is, you can never be certain what goes into your takeaway meal. Hidden salt, sugar and fat… it’s a major risk when you’re on Project Tighten Up.

So, I set about making my own sour and spicy Larb salad. I used turkey mince because it’s super lean and cheap however it is traditionally made with chicken or pork mince. I also served this up the next day for lunch with broccoli instead of lettuce and it was just as good.

Ingredients (serves 4)

1 tbs peanut oil
500g turkey mince
1 stem lemon grass, pale section only, finely chopped
1 small chilli, finely chopped
1/4 cup fresh lime juice
1 tbs fish sauce
1/4 small red onion, thinly sliced (or more if you’re an onion fan!)
1/3 cup fresh coriander leaves
2 cups of cooked quinoa
Lettuce leaves, to serve

Heat the oil in a wok or frying pan over high heat until just smoking. Add the mince, lemon grass and chilli and stir-fry, breaking up any lumps, for 3-4 minutes or until meat changes colour. Transfer to a bowl and set aside to cool slightly.

Whisk together the lime juice and fish sauce in a small bowl until well combined. Drizzle the mince mixture with the dressing.

Add the, quinoa, onion and coriander and stir to combine. Spoon the mince mixture among lettuce leaves and dig in!

What cuisine could you eat every day for the rest of your life?

20110615-084909.jpg

7 Responses to “Clean Eats: Turkey & Quinoa Larb”

  1. alexandra889988 June 15, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    im going to try this tonight! sounds yummy. i am a thai & indian lover myself!

  2. Chanel June 15, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    I haven’t tried Larb before, but it looks and sounds delicious and fresh!

    I could happily eat Italian every day πŸ˜€

  3. Amanda June 15, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    Let me know if you like it Alex!

    I love Italian and Indian food also. πŸ™‚

    • alexandra889988 June 15, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

      Omg it was so nice. I went over to mums and cooked it for her and we both LOVED it! Actually she said it was “orgasmic” and that’s were it got awkward

      • Amanda June 16, 2011 at 8:55 am #

        Lol!!! It’s always awkward when mums use the word orgasmic. :-/

  4. Talitha June 15, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    Thai and Indian! For me too, which incidentally are basically lactose free which is super bonus for me πŸ™‚

  5. Tina June 16, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    I’m going to try this, apart from the coriander πŸ™‚ When I finally get my oven fixed I’m going to make those turkey balls too.

Leave a Reply

