Project Tighten Up: Update 5

9 Jun

It’s been a little while since my last Project TU update. I’ve still been following the plan but life has gotten in the way of updating this blog as often as I would like!

Two of the things that have gotten in the way lately are I’ve started studying to become a personal trainer and I’m also apart of a joint-venture in starting a weight loss directory called Weight Loss Pages (don’t forget to ‘like’ our Facebook page!).

I’m overjoyed to be following my passion and making steps to change my career. I think something that will set me apart from the rest as a trainer is that I have been in my clients shoes – I’ve lost weight and done the hard yards so will be able to give solid advice to them based on things that have worked for me. Would you let me train you? πŸ˜‰

There was a small speed-bump in my Project TU journey though – I got sick on Monday and had to take additional rest days. So, I haven’t trained since last Saturday. That’s 4 days! Woe is me! But thank god, my awesomeness is almost at 100% capacity again and I’m smashing out a session with my trainer today (yay! She’s back! She’s back!).

I feel like my body is really changing now. There’s new definition and shape appearing every week and it’s so exciting! The best thing about this plan is that I get to eat a lot. I’m a hungry, hungry beast most of the time so this appeals to my interests greatly.

I’ve changed the meal plan slightly (as I do every 3-4 weeks anyway) as oats have turned on me. I had a hunch they would. I became very bloated and uncomfortable. I do miss them because I love porridge but I don’t miss that awful feeling.

I’ve also substituted the brown rice with quinoa as I’m concerned about the GI value of the brown rice. Some reports say it is high GI other say low. Personally, I don’t want to risk it.

Meal 1:

Gluten Free Muesli

 

I love this muesli! One thing though, the puffed rice and rice bran in it is not low GI but it is paired with other low GI items so that brings the overall GI of the meal down.

AND two scrambled egg whites with light cheese and chilli flakes (thanks Cooper – this is now my favourite part of the day!)

Meal 2:

Green apple and natural peanut butter

Meal 3:

Lean protein, quinoa and steamed broccoli

Turkey Larb - recipe coming soon!

Meal 4:

Double Barrel Nutrition WPI with skim milk, teaspoon of instant decaf coffee and a few drops of vanilla extract

Meal 5:

Lean protein, steamed vegetables and sweet potato

So, how is everyone else doing?Β  Still going hard?Β  I sure hope so! πŸ™‚

19 Responses to “Project Tighten Up: Update 5”

  1. Tina June 9, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    wheee! Congrats on your study! I’m very jealous, I’ve often thought about doing the same thing πŸ™‚ Maybe one day!

    • Amanda June 9, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

      You should! I’m doing it by correspondence and it’s been really good so far!

      • Tina June 9, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

        Who are you doing it through?

      • Amanda June 9, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

        Australian Fitness Network.

  2. Nat @nataliecartertalksfitness June 9, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    I’m baaaaaack! Woo Hoo!

  3. alexandra889988 June 9, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    yay your back blogging. i missed you! see you were only gone for a week and i have withdrawls!
    ive actually started having turkey mince, brown rice, steamed brocolli and sweet potato for lunch and its delish. i used the old el paso taco seasoning on it!
    your doing great and im so proud of you, you make ME work harder!

    • Amanda June 9, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

      Haha sorrrrry! It’s hard to do daily/every second day posts at the moment but I endeavour to stay on top of it! Yum yum! And I am proud of YOU! πŸ˜€

      • alexandra889988 June 10, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

        you must make time to entertain the masses!! πŸ˜‰

      • alexandra889988 June 13, 2011 at 11:44 am #

        hey were did you get the meusli from? was it a health shop?

  4. Cooper June 9, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    N’awww no worries at all – It’s my favourite I had it for dinner with loads of veg!!
    I’m definitely amped to try that coffee in your protein idea though; you’re killing it.
    I had four days rest, when I went to Melbourne, (I know right – course I did, twinny) and have never felt better. First time in AGESSSSS I actually felt like a runner again tonight. Energy a-go-go.

    πŸ˜€

    • Amanda June 10, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

      It’s like an iced coffee. Magical. Haha

      The four days rest paid off nicely. Feeling much better! πŸ˜€

  5. Kate June 10, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    Hi Amanda,

    I cannot wait for that turkey larb recipe! It looks delish (and reminds me of one of my favourite Thai dishes lol)

    Do you use the flavourless Women’s (or regular) WPI and then add the coffee and vanilla extract? My PT recommended I start getting more protein this way, but powdered drinks don’t appeal to me much. Do you find it tastes ok?

    Best of luck with your PT studies! πŸ™‚

    Kate

    • Amanda June 10, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

      Hopefully I’ll be able to get the recipe up over the weekend! πŸ™‚

      I use just regular WPI, add skim, decaf coffee and vanilla and shake it up. Goes down a treat. I don’t taste any powder whatsoever, just makes the milk a little thicker.

      Thanks Kate! πŸ˜€

  6. Chanel June 10, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    I’m so proud of you for following your passion & starting PT training! πŸ˜€

    Meal plan looks yum – I’m loving muesli at the moment.

    • Amanda June 10, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

      Naw. *hugs*

      Yeah I’m happy to be eating muesli. I like crunchy things. Haha

  7. Kate June 10, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    Awesome, thanks for the info. Might give it a whirl and see how I go πŸ™‚

  8. Alicia June 12, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    Hi there – new reader here and I just have to say that you have completely motivated me to change my life! I am a single mum to two daughters – a 2.5 year old and a 7 month old so I know it is going to be hard work, but it also means that I am going to be an awesome role model for my little girls. It all starts today – right now!

    Oh and good luck with your PT course – I hope it goes well for you – it is great that you are able to follow your passion πŸ™‚

  9. SkekTek June 15, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    Hey, I love reading your blog because it helps keep me motivated on my fitness journey! So happy that you’ve found something you’re really passionate about, best of luck with the study. I’m on the looking for a new personal trainer so let me know if you move to Brisbane, haha πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

