Clean Eats: Turkeyballs

2 Jun

I’ve been pretty slack on the recipe posts front.  I guess because I am eating so clean these days I think nobody wants to see the different ways I eat chicken breast – chicken breast with lemon, garlic & herbs, chicken breast with Moroccan seasoning, chicken breast with Portuguese seasoning… It’s really exciting stuff for you guys, I can’t imagine how you are containing yourselves right now!

But I thought I would do something a little more exciting this week for lunches.  I felt like living on the edge.  I felt experimental.  I felt dangerous.  I felt like gobbling down TURKEYBALLS.

Not literally  turkey testicles.  That’s just gross.  Do turkeys even have testicles?  BRB finding out…  Ew oh my goodness, they do!  And people EAT them!  And oh my god, there’s a Turkey Testicle Festival in the US!  I’m serious!  Google it!  After you read this, of course!

Ahem.  Sorry about that.  Where was I?  Oh yeah, turkeyballs.  I was really impressed with how these turned out!  I had 5 for lunch with brown rice and broccoli but I think that was way too much as I was extremely full afterwards so 3 or 4 balls per serving should be enough.

With the rice and broccoli the whole dish is about 450 calories but would be less if you went with less balls.

Ingredients (makes 3 – 4 servings)

500g lean turkey mince

1/2 cup of almond meal (you can use breadcrumbs if you like)

1 -2 cloves of garlic, crushed

1 tablespoon of Dijon mustard (or one whisked egg)

1 teaspoon of dried Italian herbs

1/2 teaspoon of chilli flakes (or chilli flakes to taste)

 

Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees celsius.

In a bowl, combine all ingredients.

(Official apologies for poor quality photos… I used my iPhone)

Line a baking tray with baking paper and use a 30ml measuring cup to scoop out the mince and place the scoops on the baking tray.  Wet your hands and then roll and form each scoop of mince into a ball.

Place in the oven and bake for about 25 – 30 minutes or until cooked through.

Mmmmmmm! They look appetising, don’t they?  😉

Okay how about now:

Slightly better, yeah?  Slightly blurry too but I apologised about the lack of photo quality earlier, k?!

What’s your favourite type of meatball – turkey, beef, pork, chicken or other?

 

11 Responses to “Clean Eats: Turkeyballs”

  1. Jane June 2, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    Mmm yum! They look delicious, and turkey is so so healthy. I don’t eat meatballs very often – I used to eat them heaps as a kid, but not so much anymore. Maybe I should start eating them. Let’s bring back the meatball, yeah!!

    PS Good old beef meatballs are my favourite, but any kind of meatball is a good meatball.

    • Amanda June 3, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      Yeah! Bring back the meatball! Cooking them in the oven makes them even healthier. 🙂

  2. Laura (starloz) June 2, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    these look tasty

  3. Tina June 2, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Totally making these! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  4. Chanel June 2, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    Yum turkey! I’m loving balls of meat at the moment. My favourite is beef – cooked in a rich tomato sauce, lots of fresh herbs & vegies, and served with brown rice and spinach 😀

  5. Evi June 2, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Mmmm I’ve never cooked turkey before. Going to give it a try!

  6. Alex June 7, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    aww they look like little sloppy poos on the tray! lol
    but i have made these before and they are GOOD!

    • Amanda June 8, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

      Haha I didn’t want to say it but you just have no shame and went ahead! 😉

      • alexandra889988 June 10, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

        i couldnt help it! i do have no shame. however, i NEVER wear ugg boots outside my house. thats gotta count for something…right?!!

      • Amanda June 10, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

        Yes! That DOES count for something! LOL

  7. Kristy March 15, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    Would just like to say I LOVE this blog and RECIPES!! have made these turkey balls twice now but each time I have TRIPLED the recipe and froze each ball individually uncooked. They are a great last minute lunch/dinner option with so many varieties! sometimes my kids will have them with wholemeal pasta and a homemade pasta sauce, or today we had them in a Rye wrap with rocket, grated carrot, tomato, onion and natural low fat greek yoghurt with cumin, paprika and cayenne pepper dressing for lunch! HIGHLY recommended to make in bulk to keep for last minute meals etc!

Leave a Reply

