Crossfit Mayhem!

31 May

I mentioned in a previous post that my trainer went on holidays for 2 weeks.  To Bali.  Without me.  Yes, truth be told, I cried myself to sleep when she told me.  But that’s okay, she’s bringing me back presents and my love for her will be restored.  Temporarily, until she gets me to do kettlebell swings again!

So, whilst she has been gone I have been trialling Crossfit on top of my usual routine and let me tell you, I LOVE IT.  I’m trying as hard as I can, though, not to become a ‘Crossfit Douche’.  Example:

I went for my introduction session last Monday at Crossfit Kensington.  Troy, the owner, was incredibly helpful and showed me all the correct techniques for the exercises and we tried quite a few so he could check my form.

Boy oh boy, I didn’t know my own name by the end of it let alone the names of all the exercises!  We learnt the clean and jerk, the snatch, the deadlift, the sumo deadlift, the push press, the clean and press, kipping, strict pull ups, wall balls, jump boxes, double unders (don’t even get me started on these) and loads more.

Then there’s the acronyms – AMRAP, KTE, 1RM, oh my! But you get used to them pretty quickly, plus Troy puts the WOD (workout of the day, yep another acronym) on the website so that you can prepare yourself and look up on YouTube any exercises you are not sure on.  And of course he demonstrates and helps you when you are there too.  Thank god for that!

Once the introductory session was over I was keen to get stuck into a real class so I went along the next night.

Wah wah wee wah.  What a doozy of a session!  Here’s a run down:

Clean and Jerk
Test your 3RM (3 rep maximum – i.e. 3 reps of the heaviest weight you can do with perfect form)
Then
2 reps x 5 sets 80% 3RM

………………………………………

10 MU (muscle ups http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FX29MMoK2Tg)
20 box jumps 60/45cm
30 lunges 20/10kg overhead
500m run
5 MU
15 box jumps
25 lunges
400m run
10 box jumps
20 lunges
300m run
5 box jumps
15 lunges
200m run
10 lunges
100m run
5 lunges

We needed to complete everything below the line whilst timing ourselves.  It was a really good, highly sweaty workout which was not all that different to my usual workouts with Nat, minus the muscle ups and heavy bar work.  My entire body was sore the next day and I loved it. 🙂

Crossfit will definitely become apart of my regular routine.  Crossfit girls have a strong and athletic physique that I admire so hopefully, on top of my regular sessions with Nat, I will soon achieve this physique!  Oh pardon me, not hopefully, I WILL soon achieve this physique! 😉

Are you a Crossfit girl or guy?  Are you keen to give it a go?

10 Responses to “Crossfit Mayhem!”

  1. Julie May 31, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    I was doing CrossFit 3-4 times a day about 2 months back. I thought the pain would never go away. Eventually I stopped being sore, it was fantastic.

    Then I stopped doing it! I bet if I started again I’d be sore.

    Took my trainer weeks to be able to get me to do a clean. For some reason I just couldn’t do it. My technique sucked. I bought my own weights bar at home so I could practice, think I’ve got them now.

    • Julie May 31, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

      I meant week, not day. Not that crazy.

      • Amanda May 31, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

        LOL! I thought as much! 😉

  2. Tina May 31, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    hmm sounds great! Not sure if the one closest to me still operates so I might have to suck it up and drive a little bit further. I’m sure it would be worth it though!

    • Amanda May 31, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

      Oh it will be! 🙂

  3. Jes May 31, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    Love the clip lol!!!
    I stat for reals tomorrow morning and that body will soon be mine too mwahahahaha

    • Amanda June 1, 2011 at 10:09 am #

      How did you go??

      • Inertia (Jes) June 2, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

        Fail. Headed to gymnastics tonight and then CF sesh in the morning. I’ll report back!

  4. Evi June 1, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    I really miss your food posts!
    I found a recipe for Quinoa San Choy Bow on Miranda Kerr’s blog. Looks delish! Thought you might like it. x

    http://www.koraorganics.com/blog/live-in-my-skin/nutrition/from-the-nutritionists/quinoa-san-choy-bow/

    • Amanda June 1, 2011 at 11:41 am #

      Ohhh I know! I need to do some more but I have been eating so clean with Project Tighten Up that I’m not sure if people are interested in seeing chicken breast over and over again! Haha I’ll do one soon though. 🙂

      Oh yum, that looks delicious! That would actually be a really good option for lunches, mixed with chicken or turkey mince too, of course. Might have to give that a go!

Leave a Reply

