Project Tighten Up: Update 4 – Progress Photos

28 May

It’s been a crazy four weeks full of training and eating clean and it is now time to see what progress I have made! A lot of you have commented that I am brave for doing this but I read something interesting recently about motivation – if you do not put your goals out for others to see then you will most likely fail.  Letting others know that you are serious about your goals makes you want harder, because let’s face it, nobody wants to fail in front of an audience. I’m just doing it on a larger scale partly to spur myself on but also to show others that it can be done.  Yes, it’s hard, but it can be done.  🙂

I wasn’t expecting spectacular results in the first four weeks as I am still getting into the swing of the new training regime and diet plan but I am quite happy with the progress.

I can see new definition in certain areas, particularly my back (hello line down my back – you weren’t there before!) and my abs, but my legs are still letting team awesome down.  But that’s okay – I realise I may never have the toned and perfect legs of my dreams, I just need to keep working hard and see where they end up!

One thing on the diet plan I am thinking of changing is my morning oats – I do love them and they are a great source of energy but they may be what is causing me bloating and discomfort…  For instance, I had an egg white omelette today instead of oats and have had no discomfort.  Win.  So, I will probably go back to quinoa porridge this week and see how that goes.

Apologies about the photo quality – I have been taking them on my phone and then used Paint to put them side-by-side.  Next time I’ll use photoshop for better quality! (Oh and I still don’t know how to ‘pose’ so you will have to put up with my awkwardness!)

 

Before - 4 weeks in

 

Before - 4 weeks in

 

Before - 4 weeks in

 

Before - 4 weeks in

Who’s still with me on Project Tighten Up?  Share your stories below in the comments! 

28 Responses to “Project Tighten Up: Update 4 – Progress Photos”

  1. Julie May 28, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    Woah. Check you out!!

  2. Nat @nataliecartertalksfitness May 28, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    Amazing machine!

    • Amanda May 28, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

      LOL ARE YOU CRAZY WOMAN! Get off the internetz and get back to relaxing on the beach! 😀

  3. Inertia (Jes) May 28, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    Damn woman – good work!

  4. shelley May 28, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Wow! I can see a big difference, go you!

  5. Slim Em May 28, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    You definitely look more toned! Good work!

  6. Claire (@freetoclaire) May 28, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    WOW look at your stomach/waistline after just 4 weeks! Incredible shrinking woman!
    youre amazing.

  7. Jade May 28, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    I can see a huge difference in the before and 4 weeks pics, you’re killing it girl, such an inspiration!!!

  8. Alex May 28, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    reeeee-OW!!! well done gurlfriend!!!

    i cant help but notice the massive difference! love that back line i would like to get that.

    soooo….what is your workout routine going to look like now?

  9. The Wench May 28, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    You look fantastic!!!! 🙂 Way to go. You are my inspiration. Seriously. wowza.

  10. Azmina May 29, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Great work! Love the line and can definitely see a difference in your tummy, back and arms.

    I’m 6 months pregnant and you are my inspiration to eat healthily during the pregnancy and ignore the temptation to eat junk food.

    I’d love to see a post from you on how you went about educating yourself on eating better and exercise. Any books or websites you found particularly helpful? My apologies if you’ve done this before.

    • Amanda May 29, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

      Thank you everyone for your kind words! You guys totally spur me on! 😀

      Azmina – I’ve done a few posts on motivation etc so check those out but I basically enlisted a trainer who has been a wealth of information and support to me plus I read a lot about health and fitness. Oxygen Magazine and Women’s Health Magazine are great sources of information but you must take everything you read with a grain of salt. There’s a lot of trial and error involved in weight loss – you must just find out what works for you. 🙂 Congrats on the pregnancy and good luck with the bubs! 😀

  11. Talitha May 29, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    You look great! Everywhere has slimmed down including your legs and you stomach is amazing! You look like you have lost weight or put on muscle mass..either way you have def tightened up and lost some cms! The Viking and I agree that you are looking hot!

    • Amanda May 29, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

      Thank you babe! And thanks Viking! 😀 that’s on 1kg difference in photos but think I gained some lean muscle this month which is always good!! 😉

  12. Teeny May 30, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    Wow! How amazing do you look! I can totes see a difference in your legs – they aren’t letting the team down! You are such a machine. BTW I dropped your name (blog) on the Mumamia website the other day… hope thats ok. A girl was looking for weight loss inspiration, and you are it!
    I have been really enjoying Project Tighten Up too! I can really notice a difference. I need to do some measurements, but i’m sure that i’ll find a huge difference in my arms, butt and legs. Loving it!

    • Amanda May 30, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

      Thanks lovely! And that is perfectly fine! 😀 Go Teeny! 😉

  13. Tina May 30, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    Wow you are looking great hun! Loving those arm and back muscles!

  14. Laura La Rosa May 30, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    Honestly, I think you look amazing and fit in both the before and after pics. Both versions of you I would say are a ‘great body’… But building that muscle and tightening up will sure do wonders for us women especially as we get older, have children and slowly but surely enter our 30’s, 40’s, 50’s etc….. so I say GO YOU!! Well done!! 🙂

    • Amanda May 30, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

      Exactly right matey! 🙂

  15. Valerie Borovik May 31, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Hi Amanda
    That is amazing progress, you’re such an inspiration. I saw you on Kerri-Anne yesterday (I’m having a week off work). 🙂

    • Amanda May 31, 2011 at 11:12 am #

      Thanks Valerie! 🙂 Ooh lucky you with the week off work!

  16. Jen June 1, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    WOW! Damn girl, I want me a slice of that. I have followed your blog from the very beginning (found you on VF) and you have been such an inspiration.

    What sort of exercises have you been doing to get that line down your back?

    • Amanda June 2, 2011 at 11:08 am #

      Naw thanks Jen! 🙂

      I think it’s the kettlebell swings and the kettlebell rows that haven been helping with definition in the back!

  17. wikigirl June 1, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    amazing!! you’ve motivated me to get my kettlebells out tonight 🙂 congrats on your tv spot, that’s awesome, you more than deserve this!

    • Amanda June 2, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      Thanks matey! 🙂 Swing those bells!

  18. Jen June 2, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Agreed, the definition change in your back is definitely noticeable. Everywhere is pretty considerable though!
    Makes me want to work harder so I can see more progress! But before/after pics make me nervous!! 😉

    • Amanda June 3, 2011 at 11:31 am #

      Before and after pics are awesome! Make you work harder so you can see the progress before your eyes! 😉

Leave a Reply

