Project Tighten Up: Update 3 & Macular Degeneration Week

23 May

Can you believe that we are at the start of week 4 of Project Tighten Up?  I know I can’t!  Who’s been going strong still?  Don’t forget to share your progress at the bottom of this post!

My trainer is on leave for two weeks (woe is me!) but I have a trick up my sleeve.  My local Crossfit gym, Crossfit Kensignton, has a fantastic trial offer where you can try 3 weeks of crossfit for only $50!  I have always wanted to try it so this is the perfect time.  Not sure what crossfit is?  Check this out:

Hardcore yeah?  That’s why I think I’ll LOVE it.  I’m really excited and a little bit nervous!  I do similar stuff with my trainer so it shouldn’t be too hard.  Right?  Right??  Eep. I have my introductory session tonight so I will do a review post later in the week.

I am also focusing on being kind to my eyes as well as my thighs (boom tish) this week (22 – 28 May) as it is Macular Degeneration Week.  I’m extremely interested in eye health as, not many of you may know this, but I wear glasses all day every day at work!  Yup – I’m a regular four eyes!

Age-related Macular Degeneration (AMD) is the most common cause of vision loss and severe vision loss in Australia, affecting an estimated one in seven people.  Although the condition may not make itself apparent until later in life, preventative measures can be started much earlier.

Grant Fisher, Budget Eyewear National Eyecare Director says: “AMD already affects a large number of people in Australia, and as the population ages, more and more people will suffer. There are a number of steps everyone can take right now to limit the onset of the condition, some of which are as simple as stopping smoking and wearing sunglasses in bright light. It’s also important to have regular eye tests. Medicare covers a visit to the optometrist every two years, so even if you are on a budget, there’s no excuse!”

Grant suggests focusing on nutritious food to help prevent the disease. A poor diet with a high level of fats and low-level of vitamins can make AMD worse, so give junk food a break, and make sure you are eating the right vitamins and minerals.

Research suggests that diets rich in carotenoids found in leafy green vegetables, such as raw carrot, broccoli and raw spinach can reduce the risk of AMD. A high-level boost of nutrients zeaxanthin and lutein may slow progression of the condition. Lutein is found in egg yolk, while zeaxanthin is found in small amounts in most fruits and vegetables. I also wrote a post last year about eye health – check it out here.

All of these foods are featured on my Project Tighten Up Meal Plan so whilst we are working on tightening up our bods we can also rest assured that we are doing good by our eyes too (all the better to SEE our progress with my dears!).

Eye tests are painless and can easily diagnose MD, and best of all they are free with the cost covered by Medicare. When was the last time you had your eyes tested?

How has your progress been over the last few weeks?  Also, has anyone tried Crossfit?

8 Responses to “Project Tighten Up: Update 3 & Macular Degeneration Week”

  1. Gillian May 23, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    I do a personal training session once a week and I have been doing some Crossfit exercises with my trainer! I love them, feels like you are actually doing something! I watched the video and saw the people throwing those balls at the wall, which is my most loathed activity haha. I think you will love it.
    I’ve never been to an optometrist eek!

    • Amanda May 23, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      Oooo! I’m excited. We do a lot of throwing balls to walls! 😀 I don’t mind it. What’s stopping you girl?! Get those eyes seen to! x

  2. Tori May 23, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Have fun! I used to go to Cross Fit Kensington in Australia – Troy, the trainer there is an absolute star, I miss it now I’ve overseas!

    • Amanda May 23, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

      Oh wow what a small world! 🙂

  3. Coops May 23, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    Of course you are a four eyes. I am too. Haha

    Good luck with crossfit. I’ve been thinking of trying it but don’t think I’m quite there yet; fitness wise. Plus my injury probably wouldn’t sustain it. 😦 I hope you love it!

  4. Aster May 25, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    Crossfit eh? I would describe it as strength training but very intense, more cardio-based than traditional strength training and non-relenting. Another trainer and I have been adding it in every now and then and while it’s hard out, I find I get better results sticking more to training methods such as german body composition. I must say though, if you want to sweat a lot, this is just the ticket!

    • Amanda May 26, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

      Yeah you’re spot on Aster. The first part of the class is all about strength and hitting your 3rm’s and rm’s in certain weight lifts and then the next part is fast and furious weight and resistance based cardio. I’ll do a post soon on what I’ve been up to! I’m already feeling results after just 2 and a half sessions. I will look into german body composition!

    • Amanda May 26, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

      Just had a quick read-up – I do VERY similar training to this with my trainer so I think I’ve got all my bases covered! 😀

Leave a Reply

