Project Tighten Up: Update 2 & Measurement Results

17 May

It’s been 2 weeks since Project Tighten Up officially started and I have been going strong!  I’m lifting heavier already and I’m loving the extra carbs (oh brown rice, oh oats, how I’ve missed you!).  My energy levels are soaring higher and higher and my workouts are benefiting!  I’m feeling tighter already!  Giddy up!

I’ve made some adjustments to my exercise plan though and am currently only cycling 3 – 4 times per week.  I don’t want to put added pressure on my hip flexors which are giving me grief at the moment.  Will see how I go and will amend as necessary (click here and here and you will find some AWESOME exercises devised especially for Project TU by Natalie Carter).

Have also made a couple of small changes to my diet (mainly because the weather is cooler and I want a hot breakfast) but am sticking to the same principles as outlined here):

Meal 1

½ a cup of oats with rice milk, cinnamon, sprinkle of LSA and honey + 1 boiled egg

Meal 2

Green apple with natural peanut butter

Meal 3

Chicken breast or turkey mince, brown rice, steamed vegetables and olive oil

Meal 4

Double Barrel Nutrition Protein Powder, skim milk and vanilla extract shake

Meal 5

Chicken, fish or lean pork, beef or lamb with sweet potato, steamed vegetables and olive oil

Time for measurements!  I wasn’t expecting miraculous results this month – I had a solid week off from training and ate whatever I pleased.  So I was surprised I had any losses at all really considering my weight went up and down like a yoyo all month!  Oh, but a 3.5cm GAIN on my mid thigh?  Possibly incorrect.  I think we may have measured in the wrong spot.  Will see what it says next month though!

Okay, over to you guys!  How have you been going?  Don’t forget to join the discussion boards on my Facebook page!  Let us discuss issues relevant to our interests!

12 Responses to “Project Tighten Up: Update 2 & Measurement Results”

  1. Tina Mathams May 17, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    Wow you’re doing so well hun! I need to start my project tighten up. mmm your meal plan has made me wants oats RIGHT NOW!

    • Amanda May 17, 2011 at 11:47 am #

      Get on board! This train is travelling to Bangin’ Body Land where the weather always requires skin tight clothing! 😀

  2. Jing May 17, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Your waist is sooo slim now Amanda… I’m so envious…

    • Amanda May 17, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

      Haha thanks Jing but still some fat hanging around that is not welcome!

  3. Alex May 18, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    glad to hear all is going great guns and you’ve lost all over. well except the mid thigh. gurl you gotta tell that thigh to get into line with the rest of you body! lol
    love the cat. awww so cute!
    oh and thanks for the link about the peanut butter. cant wait to make it!

    • Amanda May 18, 2011 at 11:46 am #

      Sigh! These thighs of mine! They are so unruly. They really need to shape up or ship out as far as I’m concerned! They are letting Team Tighten Up down! 😉

      You’ll love the PB. It’s amazing.

  4. coops May 18, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    congrats – killing it as per usual!

  5. Natalie May 18, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    Amanda! I wanted to let you know you inspired me, who’s exercised at home her whole life to join a gym. Last night I got two weights programs written up with a view to continue cardio on my own and I can’t wait for my asessment in 6 weeks time! Very sore today in an amazing way 😉

    =) x

    • Amanda May 18, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

      Yay yay yay! So excited for you! 🙂

  6. Kailee May 20, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    See I thought I was doing really badly with the food – but my diet is pretty much the same as yours except i don’t generally have carbs after 3 (other than sweet potato.) But now I feel muuuuccchhh better. I haven’t weighed or measured but I feel erm, tighter. I still don’t excercise as much as I could but it’s been more than normal.
    Also I agree about the thighs – have an almost banging stomach but chubby little thighs/arms.
    And i officially adore peanut butter and apples.

    • Amanda May 20, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

      Yeah I don’t have any after lunch really except for sweet potato or pumpkin. 🙂 PB and green apples = best combo ever.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Project Tighten Up: Update 3 & Macular Degeneration Week « Me Vs. The Bulge – A Weight Loss Blog! - May 23, 2011

    […] of these foods are featured on my Project Tighten Up Meal Plan so whilst we are working on tightening up our bods we can also rest assured that we are doing good […]

Leave a Reply

