Cleo Shoot: How He Really Feels When You Lose Weight

16 May

I was lucky enough recently to be asked by Cleo magazine if they could do an article on Justin and I about how men really feel when their wife or girlfriend loses weight.  It was such an amazing experience – I felt confident and happy with what they had chosen for me to wear, my hair and makeup was perfection and I was definitely less nervous having Justin there with me.

We interviewed with the lovely Bec Whish and she sent us the questions in advance to mull over.  Now, Justin and I had never really talked about how or if my weight loss impacted our relationship, so this was an interesting experience!

We chatted about the questions for a few days (it took a few days because, let’s face it, you can’t expect a man to talk about his “feelings” for more than 15 minutes) and it was kind of like a little lesson in communication for us.  At first it was difficult for him to really put into words how he felt about it all but eventually he told me how proud he was of me, how much more confidence he sees in me and how much I inspire him to be a healthier person.  Naw.  My heart.  She swells.  😉

So, this post is dedicated to Justin – your constant and unwavering love and support has been invaluable to me.  You’ve stood by me even when I made the stupidest of decisions and you’ve picked me up when I’ve felt the lowest of lows resulting from those decisions.  You’re my rock and I thank you for everything.  Say it with me now – nawwwwwwww.

Here’s a copy of the article (thanks Bec) but do make sure you go out and get the mag (not just because I’m in it, but because Cleo is AWESOME).  It hits the stands today! 🙂



17 Responses to “Cleo Shoot: How He Really Feels When You Lose Weight”

  1. Helen May 16, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    Wow this is amazing, congratulations !! :))

  2. Katrina May 16, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    You and Justin both look amazing. Great article, so proud of you!!!! xo

  3. Jess May 16, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    wow, you look lovely. congratulations

  4. Alex May 16, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    YOU LOOK FAB! sorry about the caps lock. it was necessary. 😉
    love the article and what a lovely husband you have. it reminds me of my relationship with my parter. he always looks at me with sarcasm when i say im going to start another diet, but recently i have been eating well all the time and he is so proud of me and proud that we have less tension. although i still have the ‘im so fat and nothing is going to look good on me!’ moments in the wardrobe. i just get really quiet and tell him to go out of the room. which he appreciates! 😉

  5. Shelley May 16, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    This is so awesome! Congratulations, I’ll definitely have to pick up a copy now!

    He looks soo proud to be standing there with you in that photo, bless 🙂

  6. Megan May 16, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    Such a great article! I love this perspective. Everyone on a journey towards change needs support! Go you two! xx

  7. Inertia (Jes) May 16, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Woohooo your practically famous!

  8. Amanda May 16, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    Haha thanks everyone! 😀

  9. Talitha May 16, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    Loved it! You guys look great 🙂 Really interesting article too to see it from the man’s POV. Hope your readership goes through the roof because people need to hear from you! 🙂

    • Amanda May 17, 2011 at 10:16 am #

      Thank you lovely! It will be interesting to see if it does!

  10. Gillian May 16, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    Firstly, they have put you in a smokin’ hot outfit!
    I’ll buy the mag cause my eyes are to shot to read the tiny print, but I love then angle they have taken. I’m still waiting for my other half to take on some interest from my plight to get fit!

    • Amanda May 17, 2011 at 10:16 am #

      Get him to read the article. 😉

  11. Cecilia May 16, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    That’s fantastic! Well done – you look amazing! 🙂

  12. Coffee&Claptrap May 17, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    Wow, you look so gorgeous!

    Pat on the back to your other half for supporting you 😀

    • Amanda May 17, 2011 at 10:17 am #

      Thanks ladies. 😀

  13. Cathy Choi May 18, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Congratulations Mandy! As well as this being a wonderful way to celebrate how far you’ve come to date, this topic is something I’ve wondered about and really interested in. I’ll get myself a copy.

    Nice one Mandy!

    Cathy
    http://whitebeanie.blogspot.com/

    • Amanda May 18, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

      Thanks lovely! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

