Clean Eats: Mexican Turkey Mince

9 May

After having grilled chicken, brown rice and broccoli for lunch everyday last week it was time for a change. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some juicy breasts (of the chook kind – get your mind out of the gutter you filthy people!) but it was time to change it up.

Enter turkey mince. It’s lean, tasty and, most importantly, it’s high in protein.

There’s no real recipe to this, so imma make it real easy for you.

Grab a couple of cloves of garlic. Mince them or dice finely. Brown in a little olive oil in a pan over medium heat.

Take 500g of turkey mince and add that to the pan. Stir until browned.

Add a sprinkle of ground cumin, ground coriander, cajun seasoning and chilli flakes to taste. Season with salt and pepper.

Finally, stir in two tablespoons of tomato paste. Done. Easy right?

Serve with a cup of green vegetables and half a cup of brown rice and you have a healthy and clean dinner or lunch that comes in under 380 calories.

So tell me, how did everyone do with their first week of Project Tighten Up? Would love to hear! I have measurements coming later in the week so I will share them with you then. 🙂

20110509-082349.jpg

15 Responses to “Clean Eats: Mexican Turkey Mince”

  1. Marisa's Low Carb Kitchen Talk May 10, 2011 at 12:30 am #

    Hi Amanda,

    I do almost the same thing with extra lean ground beef.

    I’ve haven’t taken my measurement in months but I’m noticing that my clothes are really really loose. 🙂

    I think it’s time to clean out my closet 🙂

    All the best, by the way thanks again for introducing me to Chai Seeds…Love it!!! Have them everyday in my drink.

    • Amanda May 10, 2011 at 9:57 am #

      I think this would be good with any lean ground meat! Yum!

      And well done you! Glad you’re loving the chia seeds! 🙂

  2. Tina May 10, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    Yummo! Wil have to add this one to my lunch rotation 🙂

    • Amanda May 10, 2011 at 9:57 am #

      Let me know what you think Tina! 😀

  3. Gillian May 10, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    God you are dedicated, I would need some sort of saucy goodness to make it not so dry if that makes sense? I don’t think it does hahaha.

    • Amanda May 10, 2011 at 10:16 am #

      LOL! I know what you mean. 😉 You could easily add a tin of tomatoes! 😀

  4. Betsey May 12, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    Oh that sounds so good! I make something similar a little more italian based- lean ground turkey sauteed with garlic, onion, broccoli, and low sodium tomato sauce. After it simmers I top it with a tiny bit of parm & eat! next time I remember to buy turkey I’ll have to try your recipe 🙂

    • Amanda May 12, 2011 at 11:56 am #

      Yummo! That sounds delish!

  5. Jess May 12, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Wow, just saw you in Cleo!! Sorry if this sounds strange, I’ve been reading your blog for a while but never commented. You look great =)

    • Amanda May 12, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

      Oh hai! Haha thanks! 😀 I’ll post the article up on the blog soon. Do stick around and keep commenting! 😉

  6. Kristina May 16, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Tried this with chicken breast and had it with salad – absolutely yummo and too easy peasy to prepare!

    • Amanda May 16, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

      Mmm mexican chicken breast! Sounds good! 😀

  7. Kristen June 5, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    I just made this recipe, but added a tin of tomatoes to bulk it out a bit. It was the first time I’ve ever had turkey mince before (or at least in over a decade – I was vego for a good 12 years until last year when I reverted back) and I’ll have to admit I was a little hesitant at first – the concept of minced turkey weirded me out… but it was surprisingly good! I think I actually prefer it to beef mince. As an added bonus, I have another three serves frozen to eat in upcoming weeks!

    • Amanda June 7, 2011 at 11:37 am #

      Oh I’m glad you liked it Kristen! And welcome back to the land of meat eating! Haha! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Project Tighten Up: Update 2 & Measurement Results « Me Vs. The Bulge – A Weight Loss Blog! - May 17, 2011

    […] breast or turkey mince, brown rice, steamed vegetables and olive […]

Leave a Reply

