Recently Trialled Health Products!

3 May

I’ve been meaning to post about these for a while now but I have been time poor lately.  Okay, poor choice of words… I’ve not been time efficient.  Argh, alright alright, I’ve been outright lazy.  OKAY?!  Gosh you people, always on my back.  I joke, I joke.  😉

I’m going to make this really easy for you (and me) and just give you some bullet-pointed notes on each product.  Then, hopefully, you can make an educated decision on whether you would like to try them or not!  I’m hoping it’s a big fat YES because they are each equally wonderful!

Coconut Oil

  • Coconut oil has anti-microbial and anti-viral properties and is even being used to help treat AIDS patients
  • It is known to contain a unique form of saturated fat that helps prevent heart disease, stroke, and hardening of the arteries
  • It has been shown to improve digestion and strengthen the immune system
  • It is used as an energy booster and enhances the performance of athletes
  • It is great for weight loss as the fat in coconut oil is used to produce energy and speed up metabolism, rather than be stored as body fat
  • It is fantastic as a massage oil or body moisturiser
  • Start off taking a teaspoon daily and slowly work up to 3 – 4 tablespoons
  • You can add it to smoothies or cook / bake with it (I recently used it in a thai inspired soup and it was delicious!)

I buy my coconut oil products from Nature Pacific.

Vital Greens

Vital Greens sent me some samples to try recently and I think this is an amazing product!

  • It’s a great tasting green powder that you mix into your favourite milk, juice, smoothie or water
  • Contains 76 all-natural ingredients and is known as a “super food”
  • It has all the benefits of spirulina, chlorella and other super foods in the blend as well as herbs, enzymes, probiotics and minerals
  • It’s free from gluten, allergens, additives, artificial flavours, dairy, wheat and other nasties
  • It helps detoxify, energise, alkalise, nourish and support your system

Why not visit their site and give it a go for yourself?

Whey Protein Isolate

I was so thankful to receive a sample of this product and will definitely be using this for the long-term, that’s for sure.  I’ve even got Justin on to it!  I’d been looking for a good quality whey protein isolate product for a little while and when I stumbled across Double Barrel Nutrition’s site I knew I had hit the jackpot.

  • Contains no added fillers or flavourings – just 100% high quality whey protein
  • I blend it into my morning smoothie and flavour it with a little honey
  • Whey protein is derived from milk during the process in which milk is turned into cheese
  • Protein is found naturally in every day dairy products, eggs, and soy, but the quality is not comparable to whey protein powder nor is it as easy to use
  • Studies have shown that whey protein is the best concentration to provide optimal performance
  • Whey protein contains BCAA’s which can be utilised directly by the muscle cells, so they are used at a high rate during exercise
  • These BCAA’s have shown in studies to have the greatest positive effect on muscle protein synthesis among all of the amino acids
  • Have a read of this site for lots of useful info on Whey Protein – www.wheyoflife.org

Do you use any of the above products or products that are similar?  What do you think of them?

15 Responses to “Recently Trialled Health Products!”

  1. Shellet May 4, 2011 at 1:18 am #

    I only use coconut oil, I’ve gone from using a face wash, witch hazel & moisturiser, to only using water, witch hazel to cleanse & coconut oil & my skin never feels dry any more so I could get away with going moisturiser free if I wanted too.

    I am yet to try it on my hair, but I hear good things about that too!

    • Amanda May 4, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

      I used it as a leave in the other day and my hair was so lovely and the next day after washing it! 😀

  2. Aster May 4, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    I LOVE coconut oil and whey protein, I’m a big fan of pendors protein as it’s from new zealand which produces the cleanest protein (and I can get flavoured or plain which is great for baking!). With coconut oil, I make a treat, using coconut oil, nut butter and raw cacao, then I set it in he fridge and it’s like an unsweetened nutella, yum!

    • Amanda May 4, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

      Aster that sounds DELICIOUS! Recipe? For after my cut of course. 😉

      • Aster May 4, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

        I use 2 parts coconut oil to 1 part cacao and 1 part nut butter (ABC butter is may fave!), mix and set in fridge. the best part – cacao is rich in protein and packed full of anti-oxidants, and you can decrease the nut butter (however it’s good for you) and this is great to have with some berries, like a chocolate sauce (that’s good for you!)

      • Amanda May 5, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

        Oh YES PLEASEEEEEE! 😀

  3. Katey @ Bonne Santé May 5, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    I LOVE VITAL GREENS! I seriously wake up each morning excited to skull a big glass of it. Such a well-formulated supplement and delicious to boot.

    • Amanda May 5, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

      Awesome! My friend takes it every day and swears by it. I may need to look into making it a permanent fixture. 😉

  4. Petra May 9, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    How do you take the Vital Greens? Just with water? I bought a sachet the other day and the shop assistant said it takes a little while to get used to so now I am scared to try it!

    • Amanda May 9, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

      As above lovely – It’s a great tasting green powder that you mix into your favourite milk, juice, smoothie or water.. 🙂

      Don’t be scared – I think it tastes nice! 😀

  5. karam January 3, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

    Hi Amanda,

    Does the whey protein make you fat?

    I’ve been replacing my 2 x snacks with a scoop of whey protein (about 140 cals, 30g of protein)

    But all i’ve been feeling is bloated, gassey and like i can’t digest it>?

    Is this normal?

    • Amanda January 3, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

      No Karam – I would not endorse or take something that makes you fat!

      Why two snacks replaced with a shake? Real food is always better. Leave the protein shake for post workout.

      • Karam January 3, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

        Coz it’s on the go, so instead of reaching for a protein snack I’ve just been taking these coz it’s easy.
        I’m having about 120g of protein a day. Is it to much?

      • Amanda January 3, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

        Karam – I am not qualified to advise you of your nutritional requirements. Please speak to a professional. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Supp Y’all? « Me Vs. The Bulge – A Weight Loss Blog! - September 23, 2011

    […] I have written a little about whey protein in another post which you can read here. […]

Leave a Reply

