Project Tighten Up: The Dreaded “Before” Photo…

30 Apr

Well, this is kind of an “after” picture really, but I think it will serve me better as a “before” picture given this journey to toned, tight and terrific land that I’ve just embarked on!

This has been the most nerve-wracking blog post ever. It’s played on my mind all week. I kept thinking, “Do I really want to put myself out there, jiggly bits and all, for the world to see?”, “Oh my sweet lord, people from my WORK read my blog!” and “What if people laugh or say cruel and nasty things?!”. But I love a good transformation story too much and I get so revved up when I see other people’s before and after pictures that I knew I had to have my own. So please be kind, k? Thanx. πŸ™‚

Me, the last time I was photographed in a bikini, 2007:

Me, 12 months ago:

Me, today, 68kg and ready to tighten this shit RIGHT up:

AsΒ you can see although I haveΒ come a long way, I still have a good deal of work to do, particularly in the legs and booty regions which have been my most stubborn areas. Curse you, pear shape! Curse you to hell!

Argh. Okay – so there it is. It’s done. I’ve done it. It’s good for documentation purposes, right? Right?? Yes. This will be good to look back on. Alright, I’m off now to go vomit in sheer, utter nervousness. Cheerio!

56 Responses to “Project Tighten Up: The Dreaded “Before” Photo…”

  1. Julie April 30, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    HOT STUFF. Look at those guns!

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

      Hehe thanks Julie! Arms are getting strong. πŸ™‚

  2. Chanel April 30, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    Bloody hell! You look awesome beautiful girl πŸ˜€

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

      You’re biased. But thank you. x πŸ™‚

  3. Jes April 30, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    Amanda you look fantastic!
    I cannot wait to see your results – and the journey *exciting*

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

      Thanks Jes! πŸ™‚

  4. Natalie April 30, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    I think you look great Amanda!! And you’re very, very brave.

    I had exactly the same problem with my legs – shoulders, arms & back slimmed down with great muscle tone, but you wouldn’t even know I’d been doing anything to look at my legs. What to do about that!

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      Just gotta keep hitting them hard! Squats and lunges are practically my life now. Haha πŸ™‚

      • Natalie April 30, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

        *sigh* Yeah. Did some squats earlier … for some reason lunges bore me silly. I quite like step-ups though – might get back onto those. Any tips on targeting hips/saddle bags? I’m feeling way disproportionate at the moment!

      • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

        Hehe you and me both! Step ups are great too as are wide lunges. Need to get on the lunges girl for those saddlebags! Then try weighted Squats and lunges and jump Squats and lunges. And weighted step ups and step ups with a hop on one leg at the top. All great. I can feel the muscles are very strong under a layer of blubber. πŸ˜‰

      • Chanel April 30, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

        My legs are very sore from weighted squats and lunges with Nat yesterday. Ooh yeah.

      • Natalie April 30, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

        Oh yeah, always do them weighted. Did the killer squats-shoulder press combo today. So tiring, but so good, I know.

        Jump squats – yeah they SUCK, but also good. I might give those Jillian DVDs another whirl!

  5. Laura (starloz) April 30, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    amanda, your body is bangin.
    good luck toning up.
    oh & i love the bikini.

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

      Thanks Laura! I’m a sucker for polka dots!

  6. Helen April 30, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    You go girl ! :] Totally inspirational, I’m sure you know that !
    But you know with squats/lunges – I keep reading mixed reviews about whether they thicken up those areas and some that say they don’t or some that say lower weights and less reps do the trick , anyway thoroughly confused now but doing them anyway – any advice?
    Anyway apart from my slighty noobish fitness ramble just then, full speed ahead with team tighten up! Even though I didn’t officially declare that I’m a part of it, I’ve definitely decided to pay more attention to the diet and bounce back from my mini exercise hiatus from Easter :O
    xx

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

      Thanks Helen! In my opinion squats and lunges build lean muscle mass and the more muscle mass you build the more you are able to burn fat. I wouldn’t care if my thighs were thick – just as long as they get toned eventually I will be happy! I think heavier reps, lower repetition – go until muscle failure. But that is what seems to be working for me and definitely it’s all about diet. Clean as possible. Welcome on board matey! πŸ˜€

      • Helen May 1, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

        Sounds about right, awesome thanks for the affirmation love!
        πŸ™‚

  7. Miette Miel April 30, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    Great body!! It’s amazing how your body has transformed. You are my motivation for toning up too. I asked my Personal trainer to put together an eating plan for me, so I can join you guys!! Keep posting- I can’t get enough πŸ™‚

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

      Yay! Looking forward to seeing your progress Miette! πŸ˜€

  8. Dee April 30, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    I’d kill for your body! You look great! I now feel guilty about munching on a bag of chips… lol

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

      Haha oh Dee. Too kind. πŸ™‚

  9. Vanessa April 30, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Amazing! You deserve that body! A long journey but a well deserved result, think you should strut your stuff at Venice beach next!

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

      Ahhh Nessy! Not quite yet I don’t think! πŸ˜‰

  10. coops April 30, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    You look great now lady! Your stomach is very flat, which I envy because I have a lovely little belly haha! We all have stubborn areas, I’m so jealous you had the nerve to put this up here…. I haven’t been able to do anything like this. I keep saying I’ll put the old photos up once I’ve finished my little fitness journey to look back on but there’s something to be said about the power of putting them out there now and being forced to deal with it and change from there.

    I hope you get to where you want to go, you look stunning now though. xox

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

      Thanks Coops! xx The tummy and upper body are coming along quite nicely. You should do it!!! You look amazing. πŸ˜€

  11. Natalie April 30, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    I love that you can see you’re not just a skinny girl, you’re a healthy, fit, vibrant girl (woman, whatever!). I can’t WAIT to see the after photo.

    Also I know the 2007 pic is probably no something you ever want to be again, but you held yourself really well and looked fantastic in that, too.

    And! Arm muscles = hot.

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

      I’ll never want to be a skinny girl! Totally not what I’m about! πŸ™‚ I think I was quite lucky that I wasn’t overly flabby etc – just thick all over so I haven’t had any major loose skin areas or anything thank goodness!

      So into arms right now. Before I thought, oh god, I don’t want to be too muscular in the arms but hey – they look strong and I like that. πŸ™‚

  12. Katey April 30, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Amanda, I didn’t think I could admire and respect you any more but I’ve been proven wrong! KU-DOS for putting these pics ups, and like others have said, you look incredible. I’m completely inspired by your back/guns…phwoar! Good luck on your journey to superhuman!!!

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

      Hahaha YEAH! Superhuman! I like that! RAWR!

  13. Talitha April 30, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Amanda! You look incredible!!! Your tummy and arms are great! And your legs look strong. You will slim down and tone up even more with your new project but you need to know that you look super hot now! So no puking!!!

    I have never had a flat tummy and that is my ultimate goal πŸ™‚ You are so inspiring that I am off to go do healthy things right now with you in mind!

    T

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

      Thank you Talitha! That’s very kind of you. Yay! Healthy things! Weeeee! πŸ˜€

  14. jess April 30, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    I would kill for your iddy biddy waist. All the best. Love the blog x

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

      Thank you Jess! πŸ™‚

  15. Tina April 30, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    phwoar! Look at those arm muscles!! Geebus.

    I also need to do project tighten up. I’m exacly the same as you, pear shape. ugh.

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

      Get in girl! The water is warm and fat melting. πŸ™‚

  16. Shellet May 1, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    Banging body! Shows how much work you have put in, watch out world after Project tighten up is finished πŸ™‚

    • Amanda May 1, 2011 at 11:21 am #

      Thanks Shell! πŸ™‚

  17. Krystal May 1, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    That is some seriously sexy back you got there . SO envious!

    • Amanda May 1, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

      Aw thank you Krystal. It’s slowly getting there. πŸ™‚

  18. Alex May 2, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    jeez you look fab! well done and good luck with with your toning!
    what are you going to do once your finished! πŸ˜‰

    • Amanda May 2, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      Thanks Alex! Who know?! Take over the world?!?! πŸ˜€

  19. Megan May 2, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    Amanda, you look amazing! I am too on the ‘tighten up’ but you deserve recognition for the transformation you have already made. Your arms upper body are amazing, I guess I notice them because it’s my problem area – I strive for what you have! Keep it up as I will too! xx

    • Amanda May 2, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

      Thank you Megan! If only the bottom half would catch up aye? πŸ˜‰

  20. Miss T May 2, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    You look fabulous and apple-shaped me is green (Granny Smith green) with envy over your tummy and hips!

    Here’s the plan! 12 weeks is MINE! I will also continue to stick to 1300 cals GROSS (not net as I inadvertently previously said) except for a little 10%ish here and there if I’m about to gnaw an arm off. I’m not sure I’ll reach 100g of protein a day, and really only carbs satiate me and their absence makes me a very dangerous woman to cross, but I’ll make an effort to increase protein and to not exceed my fat grams per day (37g – fine as long as I avoid chocolate, avocado, and other delicious works of the devil).

    Right:

    Mon AM: Gym – 15 mins speed work plus 15 mins cross-training plus weights OR 30 min tempo run plus weights (alt with Wed)
    Mon PM: 6 Week 6 Pack
    Tues AM: Run 5-7km OR run at lunchtime or OFF (alt with Thurs)
    Tues PM: 30 Day Shred
    Wed AM: Gym – 15 mins speed work plus 15 mins cross-training plus weights OR 30 min tempo run plus weights (alt with Mon)
    Wed PM: 6 Week 6 Pack
    Thu AM: Run 5-7km OR run at lunchtime or OFF (alt with Tue)
    Thu PM: 30 Day Shred
    Fri AM: Gym: run and/or cross train, depending on how I feel. All cardio though.
    Fri lunch: optional run (5.6-7km)
    Fri PM: OFF
    Sat and Sun: Long run (7km plus), and 30 Day Shred, over two days as needed.

    I want to achieve: at least 8cm off my waist; at least 6cm off my hips; to run the 10km RunMelbourne race in under 1hour 6 mins on 17 July (that’ll win it for me won’t it?); fit into a series of clothes I’ve kept which are close but no cigar at the moment; and be the hottest woman at my wedding (that is NOT too much to ask!).

    Thanks Amanda – this is the best-timed challenge ever and I can’t wait for 25 July so we can bask in our glory!

    • Amanda May 2, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

      Wooooo hoooooo! That is some plan! Well done! Don’t be afraid to up your calories if needed as you are doing A LOT of exercise so you need to fuel your body in order to burn fat! And avocado is by no means the work of the devil! Embrace it! It’s great for you!

      Excellent goals too. You are going to kick butt. πŸ™‚

      • Miss T May 2, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

        Thanks! Week 1 Day 1 completed successfully. Rawr!

      • Amanda May 3, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

        YEEEAAAHHH!! πŸ˜€

  21. missy May 9, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    You look AWESOME!!!

    And same with Miss T, I am sooooooooooooooo envious of your waist, I am an apple shape too (Miss T, I hear you!) and the first thing I noticed was your teeny tiny waist!

    You are a real inspiration!!

    Have you considered doing any ballet/”bar method” type work-outs?? There are a few types, like the modern Tracey Anderson- celebrity trainer ones, or the 70’s DVD version that I have… The whole point of them is to strengthen and elongate your muscles without adding bulk.

    The moves are quite small and don’t seem like they do much… but they do. They totally do.

    Anyhoo, looking forward to checking out the ‘after’ pics!

  22. Miss T May 9, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    Missy, I know! I would 100 times rather a JLo booty than to be a potentially pregnant looking person (when abso;utely, definitely not up the duff).

  23. Miss T May 9, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    Oh goody, your comments are back on (I swear I feel like the biggest stalkerish fan today).

    Week 1 update:

    Not as great as I’d hoped. I did all but one of my cardio sessions, including the Mother’s Day 8km Classic; two of my gym workouts were half cardio and half weights; and one gym session was massive hour of just weights. But of the five scheduled specific weights sessions in the evenings, I did two. The one hour of weights was to make up for missing two of those which gives me a total of 4/6 weights sessions completed, and 5/6 cardio. Partly the low weights count was because of a hectic evening schedule (I’m so busy and important! ;P ) and has made me realise that I probably just can’t do it every evening. However two is still too low so I’ll keep on scheduling 6 a week and hope to make 3 or 4, on top of the morning gym sessions.

    Resultswise, my four week plateau does not appear to be dropping off into a crevasse any time soon. I lost .5cm off my waist, which is not pleasing as I am only 1cm down in three weeks when I’m used to losing 1cm per week, and I lost 1cm off my hips which also isn’t great because that makes only 2 cm over four weeks, when I’ve also been losing 1cm per week. I kept to my gross cals on 6 days and wasn’t really far over on the 7th – it was still below maintenance calories. However I’ve been a bit slack with the quality of my food and those calories have not all been coming from unprocessed plant food. I think I’m having a small reaction to the impending 12 week wedding countdown, at which point I will eliminate all junk food. Gotta get that chocolate in while you can eh! I wonder if full scale nuclear warfare would create a big enough explosion to destroy my plateau.

    Anyway onwards and upwards – well actually downwards preferably. I’ve enjoyed the weights but need to get over my anxiety that doing them comes at the expense of the cardio I need to burn enough calories to reach my weekly β€˜calories burnt’ goals. Stay tuned.

    Miss T

    • Amanda May 9, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

      Miss T you may not think those results are any good but IMO they are pretty damn amazing. I’m lucky to sometimes get 1cm off a body part in a MONTH so yeah. That’s awesome to get 1cm in a week.

      NOW about the weights. You can burn just the same amount of cals in a weight session as you can in a cardio session WITH THE ADDED BONUS of burning for up to 72 hours afterwards. Pretty cool heh? Weights are your friend. Embrace them.

      • Miss T May 9, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

        Thanks! I think I’ve been a bit spoilt. But also I burn a lot of cals with cardio because although my RHR is <48bpm, I run in the 170-180s and can sustain the low 190s for a significant period of time. On Sunday a slow 8km burnt me 850 cals in an hour and I was cruising along. As such, I burrrrrn and just can't get the same HR increase over the same extended period. But I do know muscle burns more at rest so fingers crossed!

  24. Voguette May 9, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    Fantastic results!
    Are you doing barbell squats? If your going to do a workout. Barbell squats are the king. If you want great buns! Squat! And squat parallel.

    Keep giving it your best!

    • Amanda May 10, 2011 at 9:48 am #

      I do all types of squats! Kettlebells, barbells, sandbags, dumbbells, jump squats… I’m a squatting machine! πŸ˜‰

  25. Voguette May 10, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    Incredible enegry manda

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Program | pursuing life daily - May 10, 2011

    […] training and Super Saturdays, with a rest day on Sundays. I want to focus on toning up a bit like super star Amanda, so my program now has more strength training and core work. My program looks like […]

Leave a Reply

