Project Tighten Up: Update 1

29 Apr

Hey Team Tighten Up!

How is your week going so far?

My week has been going very well and I am just a couple of measly 100 grams away from pre-Easter weight. I’ve gone hard with my training the last 3 days and my eating has been 100% clean. I am going to a mexican restaurant tonight though for a friend’s birthday but they have salads with chicken and pork so I’ll be having one of those (served in a crisp tortilla bowl mind you – may need restraints applied to me so that I don’t eat it! Nom Nom Nom).

One thing I have found with the meal plan I posted in my last entry is that it may be a tad low in calories and a tad low in carbs too as I have been quite tired and headachey over the last few days. And as my trainer has said, my workouts have been fucking rubbish. Eep.

So, I’ve been scouring Bodybuilding.com’s Plans & Programs section for advice. This site is a fantastic resource full of FREE personalised plans that are not only for body builders but for people looking to lose weight too. There’s also incredible transformation stories that you can read which, I don’t know about you, get me so amped up and inspired that I want to drop whatever it is I am doing and smash out a workout right then and there. Truth be told, I have been known to save an incredible transformation image on my phone and set it as my screen saver. What an exercise GEEK.

I spent a long time reading Jamie Eason’s plan. I find her so inspiring – at one point she was leading a fairly sedentary and unhealthy lifestyle but a cancer scare prompted her to transform her body, her health and her life. It’s women like this that I think young women should look up to as role models rather than stick thin celebrities and supermodels who maintain their figures by taking illicit substances, chain-smoking and sipping on coffees all day.

The incredibly inspirtational, fit and toned Jamie Eason

Now all of that has been said I am modifying my meal plan based on Jamie’s (and my super-trainer’s) recommendations. Because, as Nat says, if you want the shapes, you’ve got to feed the shapes. And no, not Pizza Shapes.

Now remember! This is MY meal plan. You will need to get your own so that it is tailored to your needs! πŸ˜‰

The Diet

Calories: 1600 – 1700

Fat: 35g

Protein: 170g

Carbs: 170g

Fibre: 35g

Meal 1

Double Barrel Nutrition Protein Powder, raw oat, rice milk and honey smoothie

Meal 2

Green apple with natural peanut butter

Meal 3

Chicken breast, brown rice, steamed vegetables and olive oil

Meal 4

Chicken breast, spinach, chia seeds and olive oil

Meal 5

Chicken, fish or lean pork, beef or lamb with sweet potato, steamed vegetables and olive oil

So much food. So much better. So very excited.

The official start date for Project Tighten Up is Monday the 2nd of May. I’ll be adding some discussion boards on my Facebook page so we can all discuss our progress, our hurdles and our triumphs!

A few people have said they would love to join in but don’t feel they are at tighten up stage yet. That’s cool – I still think you should formulate your own plan and go hard with us for the 12 weeks and give that fat a good swift kick in the buttocks!

What are your goals over the next 12 weeks?

10 Responses to “Project Tighten Up: Update 1”

  1. Irene April 29, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    Great plan!
    I feel like i’m ready for the tighten up phase…
    Maybe i shall do them with you. But only 2 days to start date left eeks! Maybe too soon!
    I’ll start reading up on those blogs too and see how it goes :))

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

      Too soon?! Plenty of time to get prepared! Come on Irene! Let’s do this! πŸ™‚

  2. The Wench April 29, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Whoa. That’s a lot of effin protein!! I am trying to eat like that as well. My diet has been shit this past week and the scale goes right up with it. Time to batten down the hatches and get hard core. Good luck!

    • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

      Need to get that lean muscle mass going wenchy! Protein fuels the fire. πŸ™‚ let’s get hardcore!

  3. Chanel April 30, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    I actually love the sound of your meal plan… I love my protein.

  4. Brittany May 1, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    Hi there,

    Love your Blog =)
    I was wondering how a join project tighten up?

    Thanks

    • Amanda May 1, 2011 at 11:22 am #

      Your word is your application! You’re in! πŸ™‚ What’s your goals?

  5. poptartlr May 1, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    I definitely need to join – I have been losing and gaining the last 4 kilos for a year now! My trouble is getting my diet right – I tried cutting back on carbs, but being vego I found it way too limiting. Sometimes I think it would be easier if I ate meat – so I could do the whole chicken and steamed veg thing.

    • Amanda May 1, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

      Yes I think it would be very hard to do without meat. But I thinkthere are vego friendly protein powders out there plus you have legumes etc. Limit carbs to good carbs like brown rice, sweet potato and quinoa and you should be on your way. πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Project Tighten Up: Update 2 & Measurement Results « Me Vs. The Bulge – A Weight Loss Blog! - May 17, 2011

    […] Have also made a couple of small changes to my diet (mainly because the weather is cooler and I want a hot breakfast) but am sticking to the same principles as outlined here): […]

Leave a Reply

