Project Tighten Up

26 Apr

I’m baaaaaaaaaaack! Did y’all miss me? I had a wonderful Easter break – I ate whatever I felt like for a week (risotto? Yes please. Chocolate mousse? Oh, why not. Pizza? Pass it over brother) and just relaxed. absolutely zero exercise. Let me tell you, I didn’t feel great by the end. I felt so sluggish and bloated so I’m glad I got back into my usual routine today.

Except, it’s NOT my usual routine.

Dun.

Dun.

DUNNNNN.

That’s right people – Project Tighten Up has commenced!

What is Project Tighten Up?

After losing 15kg I am now at a healthy weight of 68kg. And I’m incredibly happy with that, don’t get me wrong, but my body fat is still quite high (around 25 – 26%) and I haven’t hit that size 10 figure that I feel I will be most comfortable at.

So, I’m taking my journey to a whole new level. Over the next 12 weeks I am going to smash the following goals:

– fit into size 10 jeans

– reduce my body fat to 19 – 20%

– enter maintenance stage

It’s all about getting fit and toned all over. I’m not concerned about how much I will weigh at the end of it. I’m all about looking strong yet womanly. And definitely NOT skinny! Skinny is so 2010.

Why am I doing this?

A lot of people may wonder why I am continuing my journey. Maybe they think I should just be happy with how far I’ve come or maybe they think I have severe body issues and will never be happy no matter what size.

Well, I’m going to squash those thoughts before they arise because understand this – I work this hard at my body because there is no high in the world like it. I feel good both physically and mentally (which is so important to me as I have suffered anxiety and depression in the past – we’ll leave that for another post!). This translates to a happy home life and work life. I am also kind of considering figure competing eventually. Maybe. We will see. Have to see what kind of shape I’m in at the end of all this!

What does it involve?

The Diet

Calories: 1300 – 1400

Fat: 40g

Protein: 100 – 120g

Carbs: 110g

Fibre: 30g

Breakfast:

Smoothie with 1 medium banana, 200ml rice milk, 1 tablespoon of LSA and scoop of Double Barrel Nutrition Protein Powder

Morning Snack:

1 tablespoon of Natural Peanut Butter with 1 medium green apple & cup of green tea

Lunch:

300 – 350 cals of chicken and veg soup/stew/stir fry or salad

Afternoon snack:

200g of natural non-fat yoghurt with 1 tablespoon of chia seeds & cup of green tea

Dinner:

300 – 350 cals of chicken and veg soup/stew/stir fry or salad (with or without sweet potato)

The Exercise Plan

Mon – upper body + 8.5km road cycle

Tue – group PT + 8.5km road cycle

Wed – group PT + 8.5km road cycle

Thurs – one on one PT + 8.5km road cycle

Fri – upper body + 8.5km road cycle

Sat – bootcamp

Sun – REST

Want to join Team Tighten Up?

Well, guess what? You can! I’d love you to take this challenge with me. Even my trainer is taking it on!

The Rules:

Weight training: needs to be performed 4 – 6 days per week. 4 – 5 sets of 10 – 15 reps of weighted exercises of your choice. Work upper body one day and legs the next then back to upper body and so on. Always add core and foam rolling and/or stretches each day.

Cardio: needs to performed in the morning on at least 2 – 3 mornings of the week at high intensity (running, skipping, plyometrics etc) on an empty stomach.

Diet: follow a plan similar to what I have outlined above. Do your research and find out what calories and macro-nutrients are right for you.

Check in: I’ll do a weekly check-in blog post where I will display my results and you can comment and do the same!

Start date: Official start date is Monday 2nd of May but I’ve already started to kick things off so by all means start now!

I’ll also be posting lots more healthy recipes to help you (and I) along and will even be putting up some workout videos on the blog! That’s new and exciting! Oh… and… uh… a bikini pic is coming (dreading this) so that I can document a proper before and after comparison. No lolz, k?

So who’s in? šŸ˜€

39 Responses to “Project Tighten Up”

  1. Kelly April 26, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    What are Chia seeds?

  2. Nat @ nataliecartertalksfitness April 26, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    We are getting (even more) awesomely ripped!!

    Do it people! Watch your body change…cmon pledge your allegiance to Project Tighten Up!!!

  3. Julie April 26, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    Woo! I’m at the exact same stage as you. Am now 68kg (68.2kg today, wooo), and just trying to tone up/lose fat percentage.

    I’d join, but I have a schedule set by my running coach that doesn’t match your rules! Plus I can’t do morning cardio… šŸ™‚

    Good luck!!! šŸ™‚

    • Amanda April 26, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

      That’s awesome Julie! And you’re on your own tighten up journey so I’ll forgive you! šŸ˜€

  4. Aster April 26, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Hahaha, reading this post I had a sense of deja vu, after my fatloss challenge week! For anyone out there that is contemplating doing this, I say GO FOR IT! It’s amazing what you can achieve when you have a big goal and little goals along the way that help to stay focused, I’m still gobsmacked by 1 week of hardout training and nutrition with losing over 1.4% body fat (thank god for weight fluctuation scares šŸ˜‰ ) Can’t wait to read what you achieve Amanda šŸ™‚

    • Amanda April 26, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

      Hey Aster! šŸ˜€ That’s awesome! Have been loving your blog by the way!

  5. Miss T April 26, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    Ummm…. ummmm…. are substitutions allowed? I’m not at a stage yet where I can drop my cardio (fat loss still ongoing!) but I would love a challenge to get me started on weight training. There are 16.5 weeks left until my wedding (Kate’n’Wills are the second biggest wedding of the year doncha know) and it’s time to start sculpting. Could you please let me know if a personal plan is ok? If not, no probs as it’s your thang, and I’ll just go back to lurking šŸ™‚

    • Amanda April 26, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

      If you wanna torch that fat as quick as you can say bridezilla then you must get onto weight training. By all means keep up your cardio (I do pure cardio 5 days a week and most of my PT sessions include a mix of cardio and strength) but do include some weight training! Come on board! šŸ™‚

  6. Miss T April 26, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    I hear ya! I used to be a Pump addict and boy did that create hard shapes. I’m just keen to keep 5-6 runs a week up as I’m also trying to improve my running besides the wedding … wait … nothing exists besides the wedding!

    I will commit to weight training of some sort 5-6 days a week and to keeping my net calories at around 1300 (can’t follow the meal plan though as I’m vegan but I’ll up my protein from approx 60g to 100g-ish). Now, confession time … I am planning to do Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred and 6 Week 6 Pack for at least four of those sessions. Don’t boot me!

    • Amanda April 26, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

      Hahahaha! You’re funny. I like that. šŸ™‚

      30 day shred is great! Definitely include that in the plan. And boost up that protein girl! Take a look at the link I posted to the protein shake site. This would be a great option for you. šŸ™‚

      • Miss T April 26, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

        Lots of protein powders aren’t vegan (creatine I think) but there is a vegan weightlifting group, Vegan Strength, who are all up on the protein powder. I’ll ask them!

        So I won’t post a bikini pic, but I’ll do a weekly cms-lost update. So far it’s been 9cms around my waist lost in 11 weeks, so we’ll see if this weight training caper can make it a 1:1 ratio!

      • Amanda April 26, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

        That’s an awesome loss matey! Well done to you! High fives all over the place! šŸ˜€

  7. Miette Miel April 26, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Sounds exciting!!Where do you think yoga would fit into the plan? Do you think that yoga can be considered some of my weight training (even though I wouldn’t be using weights but definitely using my upper and lower body)

    • Amanda April 26, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

      Hmmm yoga. It’s definitely not in the weights realm but definitely include it in your plan if you feel it’s working for you. Start off with adding 2 weight sessions a week and try and build up to 3 or more when you’re a few weeks in, if you can manage it in your exercise plan. šŸ™‚

  8. Inertia (Jes) April 27, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    I don’t have a program to follow so I’m doing a haphazard May challenge (starts today!) where I have to move my body everyday – whether it’s weights,boxing,running, whatever! And my diet – well I also don’t know about what calories suit etc so I’m just eliminating the nasties, an eating as close to cavewoman style as possible! And no booze – Easters drinking will tide me’ over for quite a while lol

    Good luck on your tighten up challenge I’m looking forward to seeing lots of posts!!

    • Amanda April 27, 2011 at 10:25 am #

      That sounds like a fine plan Jes! Don’t forget to hit those weights hard and eat clean! šŸ™‚

  9. Liz April 27, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Hey hey! Awesome work!! What you’re doing sounds really similar to Body for Life. The cook book that goes with the program is supposed to be great for high protein, clean meals.
    I’ll join in Project TU in a modified way- will update my blog later this morning. Yew!!

    • Amanda April 27, 2011 at 10:26 am #

      Yewwwww! Look forward to reading it! šŸ™‚

      I think I actually have the Body for Life book at home (Justin bought it) but haven’t looked at it in depth…

  10. Cooper April 27, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    Okay weird twin, this is pretty much exactly where I’m at.
    I have a goal of 17% body fat and am seriously considering the idea of competing down the track too.
    My diet is basically the same as yours and my workout routine, whilst different, isn’t that far off the jist you’re working towards. I’ll post something soon about mine…
    šŸ™‚

    Let’s absolutely destroy these goals.
    P.S That Strong is the new skinny picture is the one i referred to forever ago and forgot to show you šŸ™‚

    • Amanda April 27, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

      Haha too funny creepy twin chicka. Let’s smash this mang.

  11. Teeny April 27, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    Ooooh I want in!!!! I gotta do some research re nutrition as it’s never been my area of strength (as you know). I think I’ll need to add a weight session & I am already doing cardio in the mornings… Yay! I’m so excited & off to read up on macro nutrients!!! Weeeeeeeeee

  12. maymadness April 27, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    Hi Amanda, Love your blog and congrats on smashing your health and fitness goals.

    I was planning on my own little fitness project for the month of May, but yours sounds fab. I don’t blog myself, but I am on the bandwagon in the non blogging world.

    I have a question for your RE calculating daily protein. I use calorie king to log my food but It doesn’t seem to have protein on there (only calories, carbs and fat). How do you work your daily protein intake out?

    • Amanda April 28, 2011 at 9:39 am #

      Hi Sheryl! Thanks for the comment and welcome aboard! šŸ˜€

      You can adjust the settings on calorieking to calculate the protein as well. šŸ™‚

  13. Inertia (Jes) April 28, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    I have a question – I understand the calorie intake, and the percentages of fat-protiens-carbs-fibre for different goals BUT how do you go about figuring out what to eat & when? Or is it just practice? I don’t think I could meal plan it easily.
    Just trying to learn how to apply it to myself.

    • Amanda April 29, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

      I basically eat within 30 mins of waking and then every 2.5 – 3.5 hours afterwards. So, 6:30am breakfast, 9:30/10:00am snack, 12:00pm lunch, 3:30pm snack, 6:30pm dinner. Then I’m in bed by 9:30pm/10pm. You should finish your evening meal 3 hours before bed. I have been following this schedule for a few months now and it has been working quite well for me so far! šŸ™‚

      • Inertia (Jes) April 29, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

        I’m a three meals a day girl (and habitual evening binge girl) so I might try the 6 meals a day it’s a good habit.

      • Amanda April 30, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

        Definitely give it a go. It gives the metabolism a might good boost. šŸ˜‰

  14. Shelley April 29, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    I’m a bit behind on my blog reading, but this sounds awesome! I will be following along with interest šŸ™‚ I still have a good way to go before I’m aiming to tighten up but when I get there I have a feeling I will be referring back to this post šŸ˜‰

    • Amanda April 29, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

      Yay! I don’t think you need to be necessarily in tighten up phase – just setting yourself a 12 week goal is a fantastic way to maintain motivation to shed weight too. šŸ™‚

  15. Kailee April 29, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    Ok, I’m doing it. I’m commenting for the first time instead of just lurking. I am headed for a six week holiday in 5 weeks. So I’ll commit to a 5 week ‘Tighten Up’ except I’m going to go with ‘Shred’ because it sounds awesome.

    Do you have any other pics of ‘strong’ women – I’m trying to find achievable motivational pics but most of what is out there is ‘skinny’ and ‘morbidly skinny’- I want to see defined muscles and health.

    I personally don’t care what my weight is but I would love to see a 20% body fat percentage…and some sweet, sweet muscle tone.

    Thanks!

    • Amanda April 29, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

      Hey Kailee! Awesome! Don;t go back to lurking – welcome to the dark side! šŸ™‚

      Check out my latest post for some more inspiration!

  16. alexandra889988 July 22, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    hi amanda,

    seeing as you have had such fab results on the project tighten up, im going to give it a go for myself starting monday!

    • Amanda July 22, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

      Good stuff doll! You can do it! šŸ˜€

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Project Tighten Up: Update 2 & Measurement Results « Me Vs. The Bulge – A Weight Loss Blog! - May 18, 2011

    […] been 2 weeks since Project Tighten Up officially started and I have been going strong!Ā  Iā€™m lifting heavier already and Iā€™m loving […]

Leave a Reply

