What’s In My Fridge?

15 Apr

Happy Fridge Day Dudes & Dudettes!  Oops, I mean Friday! 😉

The most important part of losing weight is nutrition so I always make sure my fridge is stocked with lots of  goodness so I can quickly and easily prepare healthy meals.  So, I thought I would do a short post on what you can usually find lurking in my fridge! 

This is riveting business people, strap in your seatbelts and feel the G’s!  Or is that the cheese?  I’m never quite sure…

Top shelf – butter, lindt dark chocolate

Second shelf – ham, salad I prepared for lunch, parmesan, light tasty cheese, pre-made quinoa g

Third shelf – apples, strawberries, margarine (Justin’s!), fresh ginger & garlic, mini frittatas

Fourth shelf – grapes, cucumber, tomatoes, bag of lettuce, fresh thyme, cherry tomatoes

Crisper – oh god, where to begin… asparagus, more lettuce, baby spinach, carrots, capsicum, avocado, sweet potato, pumpkin, plums, zucchini, oranges, broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, beetroot… Just a whole bunch of fresh fruit and veg!

Fridge door – olive tapenade, low-fat whole egg mayonnaise, horseradish, dijon mustard, hot english mustard, wholegrain mustard, capers, bottles of low alcohol sparkling wine (I bought a whole box about 6 months ago and I have barely made a dent in it!), flaxseed oil, lemon juice, jam, pizza sauce, satay sauce, rice milk, sparkling water, still water

Freezer – chicken breast, chicken thigh, chicken tenderloins, lean cuts of pork, beef and lamb, lean mince, frozen soups, frozen berries, puff pastry

What are your healthy fridge staples?

15 Responses to “What’s In My Fridge?”

  1. Jade April 15, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Interesting, what are the benefits of rice milk over regular skim milk, I’m too lazy to sift through google. Also what does it taste like? 🙂

    • Amanda April 15, 2011 at 11:41 am #

      I drink it simply because using cow’s milk in my morning smoothie before cycling makes me feel ill in the belly! This is just a lighter alternative. I like the taste! I like it better than almond and soy milk. It’s hard to describe the taste…

      • Jade April 15, 2011 at 11:46 am #

        Cool I might have to give it a ry for myself one day 🙂

      • Cecilia April 15, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

        Funny – I had a similar problem so I changed my breakfast and forgot about the problem! But I love having a glass of milk as a snack (compared to the many nasties I could ingest) and when I went for my run yesterday a little while after the milk my belly was not a happy camper!

        I have been experimenting with soy and rice milk, and I don’t like the nuttiness of soy milk (and thus why I haven’t tried almond milk) but don’t mind the rice milk. I think it tastes a little like rice but I also find it sweet, so I like to use it when making porridge (I have both cow’s milk and rice milk in the fridge but yesterday’s belly ills may change that!)

      • Amanda April 15, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

        Yeah I just find all dairy irritates my belly if I have it before exercise. It makes me feel green! Try the rice milk prior and see how that goes. 🙂

  2. Alex April 15, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    looks really healthy. would never have guessed!!
    however, did you know that the berries in the mcain’s seasons choice 4 berry mix comes from chile! check the side of the packet! disturbing right??!!

    • Amanda April 15, 2011 at 11:42 am #

      Wow! I just looked! So it is! Will definitely look for an aussie product next time! 🙂

      • Alex April 15, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

        when i noticed that, i started to become aware how many items from the supermarket are from overseas. its such a DRAIN always checking the labels cause they are SO sneaky where they put the “made from imported and local ingredients” positively EVIL!

  3. Laura (starloz) April 15, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    oh wow, your fridge is exactly like i expected.

    • Alex April 15, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

      her second fridge is where all the goodies are at! 😉

      • Amanda April 15, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

        Goodies?! What goodies??? 😉

  4. Megan April 15, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    Identical to mine. I have a tip for the amount of fruit and vege you guys use, like me it’s likely the bulk of you intake and also fridge.

    I have taken to buying sealable bags. This keeps fruit and vege fresher esp salad tyle things. I re-use them by washing them out throughly.

    anyway, a little tip.

    hugs
    xx

    • Amanda April 16, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

      Thanks Megan! That’s an excellent tip. 🙂

  5. Nat @ nataliecartertalksfitness April 18, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    Thats a healthy looking fridge

  6. Marisa's Low Carb Kitchen Talk April 19, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    Hi Amanda,
    You’re fridge is always filled with healthy stuff and that’s great. But where do you hide the chocolate cake LOL kidding.

    You’ve inspired me to take pics of my fridge and I’ll post them this week, first I have to take the pics hahaha.

Leave a Reply

