Mini Frittatas

13 Apr

Although I am still loving soup for lunch, I have been thinking about what else I can make ahead of time for lunch during the week.  Then it came to me – mini frittatas!

These are so easy to make and are absolutely delicious!  When I texted Justin to ask him what he thought of them (I packed them for his lunch too!), he texted one word back – “Beautiful”.  God I’m a good cook!  Sometimes I just don’t know WHAT to do with myself!  😉

I’m not going to lie, these have a fair amount of fat in them so next time I will be using 12 egg whites and maybe 4 or 5 yolks.  You could also add to them mushroom, zucchini, corn or whatever floats your boat!

Ingredients (makes 15)

12 eggs, lightly whisked (or 12 eggs whites & 4 – 5 yolks)

60g of light tasty cheese, grated

50g of reduced fat feta, crumbled

50g lean leg ham, diced

Handful of baby spinach, roughly chopped

Small handful of flat-leaf parsley, roughly chopped

Olive oil spray

Salt & pepper

Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees.  In a bowl, combine all ingredients.  Spray non-stick muffin trays lightly with olive oil.  Spoon egg mixture into muffin trays so that they are 3/4 of the way filled.  Place the trays into the oven and bake for about 15 minutes.  Keep your eye on them as they tend to puff up a little!

Once the frittatas are firm, take them out of the oven and leave to cool.  Use a knife to loosen them around the edges and then pop them out.

One serving equals 3 frittatas and they are perfect with a little side salad.  They would also be handy as an on-the-run breakfast option and can be enjoyed cold or warm.  And apparently they freeze well too!  Haven’t tried that yet… but google tells me they do!

Nutritional info per serve: 290 cals; 24g protein; 20g fat; 8g sat fat; 100g calcium

What’s your favourite frittata combination?

7 Responses to “Mini Frittatas”

  1. chocolatesuze April 13, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    yum i love feta so these frittatas sound delish!

    • Amanda April 13, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

      Feta is one of the most amazing cheeses. Besides haloumi. Besides soft blue cheese. Besides camembert…. oh god I love cheese.

  2. Laura (starloz) April 13, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    oh, egg white frittatas sounds interesting. let us know how they go.

  3. Kristen April 14, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    I make a wicked frittata with roast sweet potato, baby spinach, feta and cherry tomatoes.

  4. littleaspects April 14, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    Yum. I love caramelised onion and fetta, leek and parmesan, tomato and basil, roast pumpkin, fetta and spinach, mushroom and leek . . . oh I could go on forever! 🙂

  5. Amanda April 14, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Yum yum yummmmmm all good suggestions! I’ll be experimenting more in future but I think this week’s lunches will call for a Thai inspired broth with chicken and green veg. MMM! Tantalising. 😉

  6. Chanel April 14, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    I love frittatas – and mini ones are perfect for lunch! How good are eggs! And cheese!

Leave a Reply

