LuckyYou Juice Cleanse

11 Apr

Last year I wrote a post about detoxing. The reason I wrote that post is because I wanted people to understand that many of those detox diets that we see on TV or read about in magazines are marketed at people as quick weight loss solutions. One diet, for example, asks you to consume nothing but a water, lemon and cayenne pepper drink for a certain period of time in order to shed kilos. Ths is an unhealthy and dangerous approach to weight loss. Do we know this? Good.

But not all are like that which is why I was initially attracted to LuckyYou. LuckyYou is a juice cleanse program that claims to:

Rebalance the body
Oxygenate
Alkalize the system
Give digestion a rest
Remove acidic build – up in the colon, to encourage proper nutrient absorption
Re-hydrate the system
Create better eating habits

For about 3 weeks now I have hit the weight loss game hard. I have trained like a demon and I have eaten a diet rich in protein but probably lacking on the fruit and vegetable front. I have definitely felt the strain of this (fatigued, dry skin, bloated… blocked up *cough*) and wanted to do something special for myself, take a bit of time out, pump some goodness into my body and veg out – you know, lay like vegetables, be still like broccoli (10 points if you guess the movie quote!).

LuckYou’s juices are live (meaning raw and un-pasteurised) – they retain MORE vitamins and minerals, and contain enzymes. This ensures that you are drinking a product packed with power versus just another liquid.

Most of the juices are chunky and thick (not to mention delicious) so it definitely does not feel like some crazy liquid fast. LuckyYou also encourages you to CHEW your juices like you would food as chewing is what begins the digestive process.

I chose to do just a one day mini cleanse but I will definitely be following LuckyYou’s recommendations of slowly introducing meat, dairy and grains after the cleanse is over. Tomorrow I’ll stick to luscious, seasonal fruit and colourful vegetable salads. The next day I will start adding grains like quinoa and brown rice. The following day I will be adding back animal products like chicken, fish and dairy.

I’m really looking forward to feeling the benefits of this cleanse which include feeling clear, light and full of energy. Many people experience physical and mental rejuvenation, clearer skin, restful sleep, elevated mood and sex drive. Wink wink. Grrrr.

Here’s how the day went down:

8:30am – I wake up. I go downstairs and have a class of water followed by a warm glass of water with the juice of one lemon. I resolve then and there that I will be doing this when I wake up every morning from now onwards as it immediately makes me feel hydrated and awake.

9:00am – I take my aloe vera shot. This is supposed to help cleanse the colon and blood stream.

10:00am – I have my first juice which is a delightfully thick and filling green smoothie.

11:00am – I take a walk to the fruit and vegetable market to stock up on fresh produce for the next few days. I don’t know why but this makes me EXTREMELY excited. BROCCOLI! PUMPKIN! BEETROOT! OH MY! Note: the excitment subsides as I realise my tummy is grumbling and I’m feeling hungry…

12:00pm – I have my second juice which is labelled Green B. It fills my belly and makes me feel full.

2:00pm – I have my third juice which is a spicy lemonade. It is zingy and refreshing. I do have a bit of a headache by this stage but it’s all good as I’m just chilling on the couch watching back-to-back episodes of American Idol that I have recorded!

4:00pm – I’m really quite hungry now and the headache is full throttle. I slurp (I mean chew) my fourth juice which is vibrant red. It’s delicious and satisfying. The headache starts to ease almost immediately. I decide to have a bath to unwind.

6:00pm – After my bath I am absolutely exhausted and collapse in a heap on the lounge. I think the combination of a very hot bathroom and no food was a bad idea. I make Justin fetch my Green A juice from the fridge and a few sips in I start to feel better again. I CAN get through this!

8:00pm – It’s cashew milk time baby! And my goodness it is delicious. Blended cashews and medjool dates – who knew the combination would be so amazing!

8:45pm – I actually hop into bed. I snuggle up with my pillows and doona and read a book until I doze off at about 9:30pm. I’m hungry but not starving and today has definitely been doable. I’ve surprised myself!

6:15am – I wake up feeling light and relaxed. My tum feels nice and flat and my head is clear. The whites of my eyes are gleaming and my skin looks clear and plump. I’ve been cleansed! Hallelujah!

I’ve really enjoyed the LuckyYou cleanse and would recommend it to anyone. Heidy, the owner, is so helpful and gives you plenty of advice before, during and after the cleanse. They also have a firm focus on being kind to the environment which is an added advantage over other cleanses.

I’ll definitely be doing this again in the future! Thank you LuckYou!

16 Responses to “LuckyYou Juice Cleanse”

  1. Jade April 11, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Definitely going to give this a go later down the track πŸ™‚

    • Amanda April 11, 2011 at 10:09 am #

      You will love it! πŸ™‚

  2. heidy April 11, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    Well Done Amanda!! Can’t wait to see you next time!!! πŸ™‚

    • Amanda April 11, 2011 at 10:09 am #

      I look forward to it! Thanks Heidy! πŸ™‚

  3. Helen April 11, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    Awesome run down of the day, it sounds totally do-able as long as you aren’t doing anything too intense or that requires too much concentration? Eg I find I can’t study for example if my tummy is hungry for food 😦

    • Amanda April 11, 2011 at 10:10 am #

      No, I would definitely recommend a day of rest and relaxation! I’m not sure how I would go on a 3 or more day dose of the cleanse! One day was perfect for me. πŸ™‚

  4. Natalie April 11, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    Very interesting to read! I’ve had the urban remedy 3 day one sitting in my freezer for aggges, I’m thinking maybe trying it for 1 day first would actually be doable after reading this.

    Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚

    • Amanda April 11, 2011 at 10:42 am #

      Yeah why not just try it for one day and see how you go! πŸ™‚

  5. Katey April 11, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    Pretty woman of course!
    Sounds like an awesome cleanse – gotta love liquid foods!

    • Amanda April 11, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

      Yay!!! 10 points* to you! πŸ˜€

      *points count towards nothing. They are purely fictional.

  6. Chanel April 11, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    Sounds great – I’m interested in giving the 1-day a go! πŸ˜€

  7. Jes (inertia) April 11, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    They don’t deliver at the moment – I would love to find something similar to try for a day

    • Amanda April 11, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

      No? I believe they do it every few weeks or so…

  8. Kelly April 11, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    I would love to try this to, but they don’t deliver in my area, and the Urban cleanse one only delivers the 3-5 day cleanse in my area, I’m not sure I’m willing to pay $200 for a 3 day one, when I am not sure I could do it.

  9. Ray December 13, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    Excellent post! Sometime ago, I did a three day cleanse using unfiltered apple juice. While it did do a great job, I felt the additional sugar, which made the experience more enjoyable, wasn’t all that good for me.

Leave a Reply

