It’s Official!

8 Apr

I’ve lost exactly 15kg since keeping this spreadsheet and a little more than that since training with Nat at New Outlook Fitness.  The road has been long and exhausting but I couldn’t be happier!  And you may be pleased (who am I kidding, you will be ECSTATIC) to know that I am now 68.5kg! “I throw my hands up in the air sometimes, singin’ a-yo, I’m 68 kilossss!” 🙂

I’ve had some great loses over the last couple of weeks and I put it all down to nutrition.  You see, it’s all well and good to be training hard and to be eating a certain amount of calories but how important is it to make sure those calories come from the right places?  I’m talking about macro-nutrients people.

There is some debate about how important the distribution of calories is to lose weight.  Some say it’s not important, just as long as you are expending more calories than you consume, whilst others argue that it’s very important.  All I know is since I have paid more mind to the distribution of calories I have seen a huge difference.  That might not be the same for other people but it’s all about finding what works for you.  If you are interested, here’s a great tool to use when calculating macro-nutrients.

Now, don’t think I’m one of those crazy ladies that spends all day calculating everything I put in my mouth.  All I do is plan out my meals for the week and then do a quick check in CalorieKing to make sure I’m on the right track.  Then that’s it – I don’t need to look at it again because I know what I have planned is right.  And I do treat myself weekly so I don’t completely lose my mind!  I’m a food lover!  I’d surely die if I didn’t have some kind of treat!  😉

Here’s my measurements graph for the month:

Click Image to Enlarge

I’m getting closer to that size ten goal!  I’ll probably keel over in the change rooms and have a heart attack when I slide on a pair of size ten jeans.  Check the obituaries if you don’t hear from me again!

Speaking of Taio Cruz (at the beginning of this post), I’m going to Supafest tomorrow!  I’m extremely excited – all my favourite artists in one place!  I’m going to marvel and gasp at Ciara’s booty, swoon to the smooth vocals of the Big Snoop Dogg, take my shirt off to T-Pain, break my neck to Busta, shimmy shimmy to Nelly and scream at the top of my lungs to Timbaland!  I don’t think I’ll sleep tonight, I’m so excited!

Okay, on a serious note, who pays attention to their macro-nutrients?  I’d love to hear your breakdown and what works for you.

32 Responses to “It’s Official!”

  1. Shelley April 8, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Check out those numbers!! Go you good thing 🙂

    To be honest, I hadn’t heard of macro whosiwhats until I read this post! I will definitely be reading up now though!

    • Amanda April 8, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

      Thanks Shell! Yeah check it out! 🙂

  2. hollypop April 8, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    what kind of treats do you have?
    i am so happy for you!
    have fun tomorrow. get crunk!

    • Amanda April 8, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      I am SO gonna get crunk! YEAH! I have at least a cheat meal a week where I eat whatever I want! But I still keep it within reason – not like 7 cheeseburgers and 2L of coke. 😉

  3. lucy April 8, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Congrats! that’s amazing!
    You’re my inspirations! Me and PLD have just started an Ulitmate Fat Off to get to where you are right now, so you’ll have to stay tuned on her blog to find out all the super exciting details.
    Also, that macronutrients link is awesome – i always knew i needed to learn more about how it all broke down but this is much better than I was hoping for 🙂
    thanks 😀

    • Amanda April 8, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

      Aw thanks Lucy! You girls will smash it. I have been reading and keeping up with it! And you are welcome! 🙂

  4. Petra April 8, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    I have been using The Biggest Loser club diary which details the % of protein, carbs, sat fats and good fats I should be having each day. I don’t always take notice of this too much but from now on I may have to…

    • Amanda April 8, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

      Yeah give it a go, you never know! As I said, everyone is different so it’s worth trialling these things out!

      • Petra April 13, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

        So I have started monitoring my protein, carb, sat fats and good fats percentages and the one thing I am noticing is that I find it hard to keep my diet low in sat fats. I am also always quite low in carbs… maybe you could do a post on high sat fat foods to avoid or similar…?

      • Amanda April 13, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

        What are you eating? Feel free to shoot me an email! I’ll keep this idea in mind. I have several post ideas on the back burner at the moment! 🙂

  5. Alex April 8, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    whoop whoop! fant-ASTIC news!!
    will do a little jig for you.
    (in the privacy of my home of course!)

    • Amanda April 8, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      What? You won’t jig in the street for me? Sad.

      • Alex April 11, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

        ok, in the street it is!

      • Amanda April 11, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

        Like Mick Jagger and David Bowie! 😀

  6. Tina April 8, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    Massive congratulations. A 15kg loss well deserved 🙂

  7. Nat @ nataliecartertalksfitness April 8, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    15kg!! What a milestone!! It’s amazing! Shows what some dedication, appropriate training and diet can do!!!

    Continue to inspire your readers and I’ll continue to kick yaw asssss!

    • Amanda April 8, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

      Haha YEAH! (my ass, my shoulders and my legs are currently sorer than a mo fo – just sayin’)

  8. Kate April 8, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    Hi Amanda,

    WOW, what an achievement!! Congratulations.

    I can’t wait for the day I’m in the same position 🙂

    • Amanda April 8, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

      You will be soon Kate! You’re working so hard. Be patient girl – it takes time. 🙂

  9. Kelly April 9, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Congratulations! you are so Inspiring I’m off to the gym!

    • Amanda April 9, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      Yay! Work it girl! 😉

  10. Chanel April 9, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for you, your determination and hard work is inspiring 🙂 Have an awesome day at Supafest! 😀

    • Amanda April 9, 2011 at 11:10 am #

      Thanks Champie! Xx And, oh, I will have an awesome time, no doubt! w0rd

  11. Aster April 9, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    That’s AWESOME Amanda! I’m so happy for you, it feels so good hitting a big goal! I couldn’t agree with you more on macronutrients, I’ve just finished my metabolic typing course which is all about discovering the individuals ideal macronutrient breakdown which leads to their ideal weight, more energy, reduced ageing and letting the body heal at a cellular level. I’m really looking forward to seeing what results it will bring!

    • Amanda April 10, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

      Hi Aster! Thank you! It does feel very good but no time to get complacent! Onwards and upwards I say, onto bigger and better things! That course sounds like it was very interesting! I definitely think I will be taking up some study this year to broaden my knowledge. 🙂

  12. Natalie April 9, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    Well congratulations!! I haven’t commented in a while, but I have been reading your blog … just on my phone so too much like hard work to comment.

    You looked fantastic in your training session photos, you should be really proud of your results. Is that in Pyrmont by the way? Looks like it’s right near my work.

    I don’t bother calculating my macros or anything, but always tried to minimise carbs (and front load them in the day) and maximise protein. It really does make a difference rather than just straight number of calories. I dunno why it works, but it does! In looking at your meal plans last week my first thought was you could probably have larger serves of protein at dinner. Think CSIRO meal plans, if you’ve read that book. Anyway, you’ve done amazingly well & you should be proud.

    • Amanda April 10, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

      Hi Natalie! Thank you! 🙂 Yes, that is Pyrmont. I work right there too. I do get more than adequate amounts of protein but thank you for your input!

  13. littleaspects April 9, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Mandy, congratulations! You look amazing, girl – a lean, mean fighting machine! Enjoy Supafest!

    • Amanda April 10, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

      Thank you! 😀 I had an AWESOME day! So good!

  14. Talitha April 9, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    Congrats babe! You are indeed awesome and I am hell happy for you 🙂 As Lucy said the Fat off Info was posted today 😉 Check it out 🙂 xo

    • Amanda April 10, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

      Thanks Talitha! Heading over there now to have a read! 😀

Leave a Reply

