Work It!

6 Apr

I haven’t done a workout post for a while!  The last one was in October and I’ve come a long way, baby!

So, for your viewing pleasure (and my embarrassment), here’s me getting all hot, sweaty, rained-on and dirty!  I seriously can pull some horrendous faces when working out… I really need to concentrate on controlling my troll face.  And these were the “good” photos.  Shudder.

 

This is MY gym

Today’s session involved a lot of running with an assortment of weighted and non-weighted exercises in between each run.

But first, a quick stretch.

Alright, enough standing around!  We’re not here to have a cup of tea you know, as my trainer would say!

We started off with squats and shoulder presses with 5kg dumbells and 20kg sandbag squats, as demonstrated by my lovely training partner, Beth (hai Beth! :)).

Now run!

 

I think we ran the length of this park 50 times today...

We repeated that four times and then swapped over.  My turn with the dreaded frankfurt.


After we completed that four times, it was onto the next set of exercises – squat and twist with 5kg barbells and burpees.

 

Dislike. These. Immensely.

Don’t forget the runs in between each round of reps! (gah) Then hit the ground – it’s push up time!

 

DAYUM – This is thirsty work!

Time for a new set of exercies!  20kg sandbag deadlifts.  My favourite weight-assisted exercise.  Heyyyy, power up that bootay!

Are you looking at my glorious glutes?

Another four rounds of that with runs in between then we are on to three rounds of push-ups, dips and jump squats.

Must learn to relax neck! The strain! The STRAIN!

 

I’d like to just keep jump squatting away from this session…
I’m glad to see you’re having a wonderful time, Miss Carter!
“Is it over yet???”

No, it’s not.  Just a couple of planks to go…

 

One foot stacked on top of the other to make it harder...

And there it is!  Finally, the torture is over.  Until tomorrow anyway!

This is the standard of session that I complete about 4 – 5 times a week.  Are you game? 🙂

39 Responses to “Work It!”

  1. Tina April 6, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    ummm THIN MUCH???!!! Love your exercise outfit. Looking at those pics has made me want to exercise right now!

    • Amanda April 6, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

      Haha thin… Well the aim is not to look thin but to look lean and toned! But I will take your thin compliment, thankyouverymuch! Haha! I’m wearing Nike drifit cotton singlet and nike drifit tights. 🙂

      • Tina April 6, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

        haha yes by thin I meant lean and toned and fit 🙂 oh thanks for letting me know about the clothes, I want those tights!

      • Amanda April 6, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

        They’re awesome. Make me feel slim. 😉

  2. Gillian April 6, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    INTENSE!!!
    You are seriously looking great lady, and I can see why. Work it gurl 😉
    Wish I could work out overlooking the harbour!
    I also strain my neck, damn it hurts.

    • Amanda April 6, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

      Thank you! It does make training just a little easier! Damn neck! Will definitely be focusing on not doing that anymore!

  3. Alex April 6, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    yep you look great and SLIM!!!

    is it awful though, that i really want perez hilton to take one of those squatting pics and draw farts on it!

    but seriously, you look FABBO!!!

    • Amanda April 6, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

      Hehe not it’s not awful… I was totally thinking of doctoring these photos but couldn’t be bothered… 😉

  4. Nat @ nataliecartertalksfitness April 6, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    Loved this workout today!!! Did you????

    • Amanda April 6, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

      Ha! Wouldn’t say LOVED it but it did it’s job. :p

  5. Bethany April 6, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    LOL woaaaaaaaaah!

    You look fantastic ladyface! So lovely, healthy, fit, and slim!

    Go you good thing!

    • Amanda April 6, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

      YOU also look amazing! YEAH! Fit! 😀

  6. Inertia (Jes) April 6, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    Do you do all your sessions with your trainer or do you have a program to follow by yourself? I lack motivation when it’s only up to me.
    You are looking superb by the way!

    • Amanda April 6, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

      Hey Jes! I do all my sessions with my trainer currently and I also have been cycling every day too. I just love how working with a trainer keeps me motivated, on track and no two sessions are ever the same. It takes the thinking out of it for me. 🙂

  7. V April 6, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    You look fantastic!!
    From a suddenly-motivated Melbourne reader 🙂 lol

    • Amanda April 6, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

      Hey V! Thanks for stopping by! Keep up that motivation! 🙂

  8. Mel April 6, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    Woah. That’s pretty intense for each and every week. Can I ask when/what time of the day you do it? Before or after work?

    • Amanda April 6, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

      Hi Mel! It’s not so intense anymore… you need to adjust workouts to fit with your fitness levels and when you have been going hard for as long as I have you need to step it up! 😉 I usually have lunch time session!

  9. Mel April 6, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    But Well Done!!

  10. Shellet April 6, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Your hardcore-ness has me shivering in my boots! I am not game … yet 😉

    • Amanda April 6, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

      Come on Shell! You know what they say – train insane or remain the same! 😉

  11. coops April 6, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    not to freak you out with another likeness or anything but ummm… i’m pretty sure this is where i run past every time i go! i could be wrong because my sydney bearings are pretty terrible but it looks JUST like the running track near my place.

    and by the way…. you look fucking unreal.

    • Amanda April 7, 2011 at 7:26 am #

      Lol darling well it is in Pyrmont so it’s highly likely!! 😉

      • coops April 7, 2011 at 8:21 am #

        yeah that’s it then. we’ll probably see each other !!

      • Amanda April 7, 2011 at 10:15 am #

        Do you run around there in the middle of the day?

  12. Mel April 6, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    Ahhh I would love to be able to train at lunch time! Would mean I wouldn’t have to wake up early before work or have to slog it out after a long big day. You’re one lucky girl!!

    • Amanda April 7, 2011 at 7:27 am #

      It is awesome! But I still get up early and ride my bike to work too most days! 🙂

  13. SkekTek April 7, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    WOWWWWWWWWWWW you look amazing! I’ve been following your journey on and off and I am so happy for you, all your hard work is obviously paying off! Well done 🙂

    • Amanda April 7, 2011 at 10:15 am #

      Thanks mate! 😀

  14. Katrina April 7, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    What a gym you have! Sure beats mine. I am definately going to give that a go. Btw you look AMAZING. So fit and toned! I had a look back to your October work out blog and you have changed so much since then you big spunk!

    • Amanda April 7, 2011 at 10:15 am #

      Thanks Teeny! I don’t ever set foot in a gym. All you need is a couple of weights, a medicine ball and a skipping rope and the outdoors becomes your gym! 😀

  15. Chanel April 7, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    Nat looks like she’s having a great time – as usual!! 😉
    You’re looking fantastic! 😀

    And I’m inspired to get some nice workout clothes now…

    • Amanda April 7, 2011 at 10:16 am #

      Nice workout clothes totally make working out better! 😉

  16. littleaspects April 7, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    Hey, you look great!! Super fit! Congratulations on all your hard work xo

    • Amanda April 8, 2011 at 10:20 am #

      Thank you matey! 🙂

  17. kathy April 8, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    WOW.. thats great, gives me some perspective and slight embarrassement of my huffing and puffing doing 20 minutes level 2 shred dvd .. I need to be doing a bit more each day. POWER to you, you look fabulous and are an inspiration.
    Kathy

    • Amanda April 8, 2011 at 10:20 am #

      Thanks Kathy! If you want to see real changes you need to push yourself! We are all stronger than what we think. 🙂

  18. Ruby April 16, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    Woah, you are so inspiring!
    You look so toned!! 🙂
    I have to remember to read your blog next time I don’t feel like exercising 🙂
    Are personal trainers expensive?

    • Amanda April 16, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

      Haha thank you! 🙂 They can be, yes. But I think they are well worth the expense. 🙂

Leave a Reply

