Soup Whore: Chicken, Prosciutto, Tomato & Cannellini Bean

5 Apr

I have a new addiction.  It’s soup.  I just can’t seem to stop making it.  This is the third week in a row… Hi, my name is Amanda and I’m a soup-a-holic.

But it’s not a bad thing!  Soup is super convenient, healthy, cost friendly and delicious.  I love the fact that I have all my lunches ready for the week with zero preparation needed, aside from a quick zap in the microwave.

Soup is also a perfect meal for weight loss as the water content keeps you hydrated and promotes a feeling of fullness. Win!

Now without further adieu, drum roll please…  This week’s soup isssssss:

Chicken, Prosciutto, Tomato & Cannellini Bean Soup (serves 6)

Ingredients

1 onion, diced

2 cloves of garlic, crushed

2 small chillis, or chilli to taste, finely sliced

2 sticks of celery, finely sliced

2 punnets of grape tomatoes

1 bag of baby or English spinach

100g of prosciutto, diced

500g of chicken breast, diced

2 cans of cannellini beans, drained and rinsed

2L of salt reduced chicken stock

Olive oil

Salt & pepper to taste

Heat a little olive oil in a large soup pot.  Add the prosciutto.  Cook until brown and crispy.  Set aside.  Add the onion, chilli, garlic and celery to the pot and cook until softened.

Add the chicken to the pot and cook until flesh has turned white.  Add the cherry tomatoes and cook until soft, breaking them up with the spoon as you stir.  Return the prosciutto to the pot and add the cannellini beans and stock.  Bring to the boil.  Partially cover and simmer for 25 minutes.  Add the spinach and stir through until wilted.

Let the soup cool and then with a hand-held blender blend the soup a few times so that it’s not completely blended and still has some chunkier parts.

The soup is now ready to ladle into containers and freeze!  Or enjoy straight away! 🙂

Nutritional info per serving: 360 cals; 9.3g fat; 2.5g sat fat; 43g protein; 22.3g carbs

8 Responses to “Soup Whore: Chicken, Prosciutto, Tomato & Cannellini Bean”

  1. Jess April 5, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Soup sounds delish!! Just quickly – is the nutrition content for one 1 serving (ie. 1 bowl)??

    • Amanda April 5, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

      Ooops! I have edited this post. Thanks! 🙂

  2. georgia April 5, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Looking forward to trying the prosciutto soup – I’m currently loving Chicken, Veg & Barley and still have 4 frozen containers in my freezer – such a good idea, and so convenient!

    • Amanda April 6, 2011 at 9:06 am #

      Oh good! I’m glad you liked it! I needed to take a break from barley! It was starting to upset my tummy. Serves me right for having all that gluten! Tsk tsk tsk

  3. Tina April 6, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    yum! Looking forward to trying this one. P.S. that receipe of mine you wanted (barley and chorizo risotto thing from VF) will be making its way to my blog shortly, just in case you are still wanting it 🙂

    • Amanda April 6, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

      Yes! I am still wanting it! :drool:

  4. Megan April 6, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    Amanda! I have only been reading yr blog for a few weeks. I love it. I too am on a fitness / weight loss plan. I am 5kg down – it’s been small and slow for me too 300g per week. Argh!

    I too am soup addict. I love these posts, thank you! I just ate my lunch one this week, which is in The Biggest Loser cookbook. It is tomato, lentil and bacon. It’s amazing. You HAVE to make it if yr diet allows it. The bacon is only 4 slices but gets all smoky and YUM via slow cooking.

    anyway, just wanted to say hi and thanks you are good thinspiration for me!

    xx

    • Amanda April 6, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

      Hey Megan! Thanks for commenting! And well done on your loss! Slow and steady is often the key to keeping it off for good. 🙂

      I’d love the recipe for that soup! Sounds delicious!!! You can shoot it through to my email mevsthebulge@gmail.com. 😀

Leave a Reply

