I’m SO Not Vain

22 Mar

I’ve been thinking lately.  Unusual, yes I know – I’ve heard that it’s not good for the brain but hey, I’m a rebel.

ANYHOO, I’ve been thinking that I am extremely sick of looking at my former overweight self, swathed in cream silk, all chipmunk-like in the face, gazing down at me from my living room wall every day.

At the time I felt pretty good.  I had lost 5kg before the wedding and I even had to have my dress taken in!  I was definitely a little unhappy that I hadn’t lost more weight but I didn’t let that affect my day.

Even Justin is slimmer now than he was back then but we are both as vain as ever and although we are not vain at all, we’ve been discussing getting new pictures taken.

When I told Chanel about this plan she thought that we were going to dress up in our wedding attire and have the pictures taken as if it were our wedding day all over again!  What a laughable concept! Ha Ha!  “That dress is swimming on me now!”, I exclaimed to her, rolling my eyes (well, I was rolling my eyes but she couldn’t see them as this discussion was over email).  But I can see how when I told her that I wanted to have my wedding photos re-done that she would come to this conclusion.   Let’s be honest, I wasn’t very clear.  So, like all good friends I laughed at her a little more and then explained to her that no, we would just have some nice pictures taken in normal clothes in a nice location.

And that’s if we ARE to go ahead with it.  I’m still thinking about it.  Should I just ignore the fact that I was overweight in those photos on the wall and remember our wedding for what it was, a beautiful day celebrating our love with our family friends?  Or should I replace those photos with new ones that represent us as a couple, who we are now and where we are heading?  Dilemmas, dilemmas!

What are your thoughts on this extremely important, life-altering and not at all vain issue?

 

 

14 Responses to “I’m SO Not Vain”

  1. Petra March 22, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    I think that it’s a great idea to get some new photos done to show just how far you have come. However you don’t need to go and get rid of/forget your fabulous day!

    • Amanda March 22, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

      Thanks Petra! I think so too. 🙂

  2. Lindsey H March 22, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    This is my first time stumbling upon your blog. I do not know what you used to look like, nor do I know what you look like now…but I think that you look just lovely in your wedding photo.

    I think if you and your husband really wanted, you should get new photos taken and place them beside your photo of the two of you in your wedding…

    Sometimes it’s nice to have a reminder of the lives we once led. The happiness we once shared. The happiness we’ve grown and cultivated over the years. (We, general population, not you and I…that would just be weird.) Anyway, my opinion…keep the wedding photos out for a while longer. 🙂

    • Amanda March 22, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

      Hey Linsey! That was a really lovely comment. And hilarious. And then lovely again. Thank you! 🙂

      You can check out The Backstory for updated pics if you like!

  3. Cooper March 22, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    I don’t think you should get wanky professional photos done. I think you should do something that embodies the new life you’re living and take a camera with you… Take candids of a lovely day out and get the best ones printed.
    There’s nothing satisfying about set up photography if you ask me, you’ll always find a flaw sooner or later and candids capture moments alot less brutally.

    • Amanda March 22, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

      That’s a nice idea actually… I don’t want the photos to look posey! I want them to be natural looking… but that might be difficult to do ourselves! I really liked the photographer that did Chanel’s wedding – they had some lovely natural pics taken! http://vineyardsveilsvows.wordpress.com/

  4. Jade March 22, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    I say get new pics done and put them up also 😀

  5. Chanel March 22, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Hahaha don’t you roll your eyes at me! :p

    I think you should get new photos done, however, I think the wedding photos should also remain on the wall – after all, it is a reminder of a beautiful day (naw) 😀

    • Amanda March 22, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

      LOL! Hmmm yeah, I think I will leave the less fat one up. 😉

  6. gonecountry March 22, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    I can relate to where you are at.

    My husband has lost about 30kg since we got married! Although he loves our wedding photos he would love to have new couple shots of us done with our wedding photographer (crazy cause he usually is the one behind the camera not in front of it) we are getting professional outdoor photos done this year (thinking field/paddock type scenery, since most of our wedding photography was on the beach) we don’t plan to replace them with our wedding pictures but rather look at them as a ‘3 years on…’ type momento.

    Good luck with whatever you decide. In my opinion you can’t have enough nice couple shots 🙂

    P.S – Also since we didn’t do typical ‘engagement shots’ we figure this is a good trade off.

    • Amanda March 22, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

      Hey Paula! Thanks for the comment and sharing that story. 🙂 I think that is a lovely idea! And it’s true, you can never have enough nice coupel shots at all! 😉

  7. Shellet March 22, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    Maybe you should put the new photos up next to the wedding ones as a reminder of how far you have both come since then?

  8. Talitha March 23, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    Amanda, I say go for it. It’s not like you are going to pretend and dress up in the old clothes. You are just updating your photos. This way if you are burgled your burglar will know you are even hotter now..and hey who doesn’t want that? 😛 It would also fall under the category of non food related rewards…and we all know how good it is to do such a thing 🙂

  9. Tina March 23, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Agree, agree, agree. I say no to replacing but yes to adding more photos. And love the idea about fun candid shots.

Leave a Reply

