Chicken, Vegetable & Barley Soup

21 Mar

It’s raining, it’s pouring, I feel like SOUP!

And soup I shall I have!  Every damn day this week!  Why?  Because I feel like it!  And because it’s super healthy and easy.  And I made a huge pot so I gotta eat it all now!

This soup is full of goodness.  It’s packed with fibre and protein and is low in calories and fat.  A perfect lunch option!

Ingredients (fills 5 x 600ml containers)

1 leek (sliced)

2 carrots  (diced finely)

2 cloves of garlic (diced finely)

2 organic chicken breasts (diced into small chunks)

2L of salt-reduced chicken stock

1 cup of uncooked pearled barley

2 handfuls of flat leaf parsley (chopped)

1 teaspoon of dried tarragon

1 teaspoon of chilli flakes

3 handfuls of spinach, kale, cabbage or silverbeet (chopped)

Salt and pepper to taste

 

In a large pot saute the carrots, leek and garlic until softened over a medium heat.

Add the chicken and stir until most of the meat has turned white.

Add the chicken stock, barley, chilli, tarragon and parsley and cover.  Simmer gently for 1 hour.

Add the spinach, kale, cabbage or silverbeet and cook until softened.  Add seasoning to taste.

Your soup is now ready to slurp or pack into containers and freeze!

Nutritional info: 321 cals, 6.3g fat, 1.5g sat fat, 31.6g protein, 28.4g carbs, 7.7g of fibre

 

Do you like to cook in bulk?  What’s your favourite thing to make and store?

 

 

20 Responses to “Chicken, Vegetable & Barley Soup”

  1. Ms Curious March 21, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    Nom nom nom, gonna give that a try! Thanks for the recipe.

    • Amanda March 21, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

      Please do! Let me know what you think! 🙂

  2. Petra March 21, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    Yummy! Suggestion for a gluten free version? Maybe quinoa barley? Or some lentils?

    • Amanda March 21, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      Lentils would be PERFECT! 🙂

  3. Jessica March 21, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    Sounds delicious. I will be trying that! These are the things I most often cook in bulk, and freeze for lunches and easy meals:

    * minestrone
    * red lentil and vegetable soup
    * chicken, pumpkin, cauliflower and chickpea curry
    * chilli beans

    All easy, all delicious, all containing tinned tomatoes. Ha!

    • Amanda March 21, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

      Hahaha I am a MASSIVE fan of the ol’ tinned tomatoes! 😉

  4. Marisa's Low Carb Kitchen Talk March 21, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    Yum that looks good. I’m on a low carb lifestyle so the only thing I’d omit is the barley. But even said that I’d make some barley for the family for their soup.
    Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

    Yes I cook in bulk but not often enough. A few weeks ago I made cabbage rolls and froze them without the sauce. I also made a huge pot of meat sauce. Sometimes I make meatballs and hamburgers and freeze them. I also freeze a big batch of my low carb muffins and waffles.

    What are somethings you freeze???

    • Amanda March 22, 2011 at 9:09 am #

      Yum! Cabbage rolls!

      I also try to be low carb but I do need some during the day as I’m very active! But I don’t have any grains after lunch or at night. 🙂

  5. hollypop March 22, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    what? where’s the quinoa? hehe.

    • Amanda March 22, 2011 at 9:09 am #

      LOL I considered naming this post “This is NOT a quinoa recipe”. 😉

      • Pamela April 28, 2011 at 12:26 am #

        I’ve just discovered your blog and I’m lovin’ it!! Its great that you’ve listed the nutritional info for this soup but can you please tell me the serving size? I made a pot of it tonight for lunch tomorrow, looks yummy.:)

      • Amanda April 28, 2011 at 9:36 am #

        Hi Pamela! Thanks for the comment! 🙂 The serving size for this is a 600ml bowl or container. Hope you enjoy it!

  6. Pamela April 28, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Thanks for that. I’ve just had it for lunch and it was delicious and filling. Hope this darn sydney rain isn’t messing with your training too much. I’m staying in the gym!

    • Amanda April 28, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

      Great! I’m glad you liked it. Nope – we just head to an undercover spot when it rains. 🙂

  7. Petra May 2, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    OMG I made this soup yesterday and am having it for lunch today – it is delicious! Made it with lentils for a gluten free option 🙂

    • Amanda May 2, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      Yay so glad you like it Petra! 🙂

  8. jovvie July 24, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    I made this today! I’ve been dying to make a vege soup lately and I saw your recipe and thought I’d try it. I used an onion in my base as well, used a soup mix with lentils, vege stock instead of chicken stock and I added broccoli instead of the spinach or other variations mentioned because that’s what I had in my house. It’s packed full of flavour and I love it. Thanks for the recipe!

    • Amanda July 25, 2011 at 9:31 am #

      Sounds delicious! Nice one! And you’re welcome! 🙂

  9. Becky April 29, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    Just made this soup and it is delicious with the right amount of kick from the chilli. Nice!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Just Call Me The Plateau Breaker! « Me Vs. The Bulge - March 29, 2011

    […] need to worry about lunch every day being within your calorie limit.  Last week’s soup was Chicken, Veg and Barley and this weeks soup is Beef, Veg and Barley (features onion, paprika, celery, cabbage, zucchini, […]

Leave a Reply

