I Die For Zucchini Chips

8 Mar

“Ew! Zucchini!”, I hear the cries resonating throughout the interwebs but seriously, try these crispy little delights and THEN let me know how you feel about the humble yet versatile zucchini.

This recipe comes from Jane Kennedy’s cookbook, ‘OMG! I Can Eat that?’.  Jane uses half mayonnaise, half Greek yoghurt in her aioli however I just used low fat whole egg mayonnaise.

Ingredients

1 zucchini (chopped finely or you can use a vegetable slicer)
Salt
Pepper
Chilli flakes
Olive oil

For the aioli:

2 tablespoons of low fat whole egg mayonnaise
2 small cloves of garlic, diced finely
2 teaspoons of lemon juice

Preheat oven to 200 degrees celsius. Line zucchini slices up on a baking tray covered with baking paper. Season with salt and pepper and sprinkle with chilli flakes to your taste. Flick over a little olive oil (I did realise afterwards that a light spray of olive oil would have been better).

Place in oven and bake for 10 – 12 minutes or until golden brown. Take out of oven and rest for a few minutes or until crispy.

To make the aioli simply combine the mayonnaise, garlic and lemon juice.

Serve zucchini chips with aoili or use them as a delicious side dish.

I can not WAIT to make these again. The time will come. Possibly tonight… 🙂

15 Responses to “I Die For Zucchini Chips”

  1. Chanel March 8, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    Mmm zucchini is one of my favourite vegetables! I haven’t baked them as ‘chips’ before. I’ll have to give it a go 🙂

    • Amanda March 8, 2011 at 10:02 am #

      S you will! I also loe zucchini. I need them right now actually. I just had a thought – yellow squash chips? I think so! 😉

  2. hollypop March 8, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    yum!
    my mummy used to make something similar to this. mm. i think a mixed plate with zukes and sweet taters would be the shizzle.

    • Amanda March 8, 2011 at 10:23 am #

      I agree with this, fo shiz!

  3. Tina March 8, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    Is it wrong that I now have a MASSIVE craving for plain potato chips. oops. I think it’s the salt. mmm these do look good, I’m going to give them a go!

    • Amanda March 8, 2011 at 11:11 am #

      I LOVE potato chips. LOVE. But if you crisp these up nicely they are a pretty darn good substitute. 😉

  4. Alex March 9, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this idea!!
    i do like zucchini so it is nice to find more recipies for it! thanks!! xx

    • Amanda March 10, 2011 at 7:53 am #

      I made them for mu aunt, uncle and cousin last night and they LOVED THEM. Make now! 😉

  5. Alex March 9, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    ooh just read the other comments
    zucchini, yellow squash, sweet potato, pumpkin!! i want to cook NOW! 😉

  6. Kristen March 9, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    I’ve read a recipe similar to this before… and I know you’ve mentioned it above, but I’m in a state of disbelief – do they actually crisp up?

    • Amanda March 10, 2011 at 7:55 am #

      Some of them didn’t crisp up because they had been hit with too much olive oil. That’s why I think using the spray is better. Used the spray last night and they crisped up nicely. I left them in the turned off oven for a little while and they dehydrated further. Crispy and delicious!

  7. Petra March 14, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    I tried these on the weekend, yum! I also tried them with sweet potato and they were also good. Thanks for the idea 🙂

    • Amanda March 14, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      Awesome! I’m glad you liked them. Did they go nice and crispy? I find that if you leave them in the oven for a little while when it’s turned off they crisp up nicely.

  8. Alex March 16, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    did this a couple of nights ago with sweet potato and it was a winner! even with the boy!

    • Amanda March 16, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

      Hurrah! That’s AWESOME to hear!

Leave a Reply

