A Week In The Life Of…

7 Mar

ME!

Well, I lie.  It’s actually 4 days in the life of.  Let’s be honest, this post was growing out to mammoth proportions so I cut it down to four days.  I mean, you get the gist of it, right?  The other 3 days are pretty similar although I will do a weekend post soon to show you what my typical weekend looks like.

It was actually very interesting recording everything I ate for a week and it was also a challenge.  It made me really be mindful of what I was eating because I knew I would have to write every little morsel of food down.  This really curbed any thoughts of, “Oh, I’ll just have a bite of that” or “I’ll just have a couple of these”, let me tell you!  I think anyone who is looking to lose weight or establish a healthier diet should give this a go.  You may be surprised!

Now, by no means do I think my diet is perfect nor do I condone my readers replicating what I eat for themselves. This post stemmed from getting a few requests from readers who were interested in what a typical week looks like for me.  Eating this way works for me, you need to establish a diet plan that works for you.

Last week seemed to be a dark chocolate week.  This is simply because I bought a block of organic chocolate so therefore it HAD to be eaten, right? 😉  I don’t usually keep any sweets in the house therefore the temptation is gone.  If my sweet-tooth comes-a-knockin’ I usually have a warm glass of rice or goats milk with vanilla and honey.

Monday

Breakfast– 7:00am

  • Smoothie with ½ cup of calcium enriched rice milk, 2 tablespoons of natural, no fat organic yoghurt, 1 tablespoon of flaxseed oil, 1 tablespoon of LSA, 1 medium banana, 1 teaspoon of organic dark agave syrup, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon

Morning pick-me-up – 9:30am

  • Green tea

Morning snack – 10:45am

  • Protein shake with 200ml skim milk

Lunch – 1:15pm

  • Bowl of steamed vegetables, ½ cup of cooked shredded chicken and ½ cup of roasted kale
  • Green tea

Afternoon snack – 3:00pm

  • Handful of almonds & a cup of miso soup

Dinner – 7:00pm

  • 120g of lean pork steak with Moroccan seasoning served with salad leaves, cherry tomatoes, chickpeas and reduced-fat feta dressed with EVOO and white wine vinegar

After dinner snack – 8:00pm

  • 6 pieces of Green & Black’s Organic 85% dark chocolate

Total Calories: 1700

Exercise:

  • 60 mins walking
  • 40 mins road cycling (8.5km)
  • 15 mins swimming laps

Tuesday

Breakfast – 6:45am

  • Smoothie with ½ cup of calcium enriched rice milk, 2 tablespoons of natural, no fat organic yoghurt, 1 tablespoon of flaxseed oil, 1 tablespoon of LSA, 1 medium banana, 1 teaspoon of organic dark agave syrup, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon

Morning pick-me-up – 9:30am

  • Green tea

Morning Snack – 11:00am

  • 1 apple

Lunch – 1:45pm

  • 2 small tins of tuna, grated beetroot and carrot, lettuce, tomato, avocado sprinkled with olive oil, lemon juice and chia seeds

Afternoon snack – 3:30pm

  • Handful of almonds & a green tea

Dinner – 7:00pm

  • Handful of chicken thigh, capsicum, onion and bok choy stir-fried with peanut oil, garlic, chilli and soy sauce served with ½ cup of cooked quinoa

Total Calories: 1400

Exercise:

  • 40 mins road cycling (8.5km)
  • 45 minute group training session

Wednesday

Breakfast – 6:45am

  • Smoothie with ½ cup of calcium enriched rice milk, 2 tablespoons of natural, no fat organic yoghurt, 1 tablespoon of flaxseed oil, 1 tablespoon of LSA, handful of frozen berries, 1 teaspoon of organic dark agave syrup

Morning Snack – 10:00am

  • 1 orange
  • Green tea

Lunch – 12:30pm

  • Leftovers – handful of chicken thigh, capsicum, onion and bok choy stir-fried with peanut oil, garlic, chilli and soy sauce served with ½ cup of cooked quinoa
  • Ginger tea

Afternoon snack – 3:30pm

  • Handful of almonds & a green tea

Dinner – 8:00pm

  • 150g lean grilled steak & two cups of steamed broccoli, cauliflower and carrot

After dinner snack – 9:00pm

  • 6 pieces of Green & Black’s Organic 85% dark chocolate

Total Calories: 1450

Exercise:

  • 40 mins road cycling (8.5km)
  • 45 minute personal training session
  • 60 mins touch football practice

Thursday

Breakfast – 6:45am

  • Smoothie with ½ cup of calcium enriched rice milk, 2 tablespoons of natural, no fat organic yoghurt, 1 tablespoon of flaxseed oil, 1 tablespoon of LSA, 1 medium banana, 1 teaspoon of organic dark agave syrup, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon

Morning Snack – 11:15am

  • Small tin of mixed beans with balsamic and olive oil dressing

Lunch – 1:15pm

  • Café lunchtuna salad with grated carrot, lettuce, tomato, cucumber and avocado with balsamic and olive oil dressing (TIP: buying a healthy lunch is easy.  Most sandwich bars will have a few salad options available.  I usually request a garden salad and ask the them to put in a handful of tuna or chicken from the sandwich meat selections)
  • Small apple

Afternoon snack – 3:45pm

  • Chai latte made with lite milk

Dinner – 6:30pm

  • 150g  chicken tenderloins with lettuce, cherry tomatoes and a small handful of shaved parmesan cheese dressed with a yoghurt, Dijon mustard, lemon juice and olive oil dressing

After dinner snack – 9:00pm

  • 4 pieces of Green & Black’s Organic 85% dark chocolate

Total Calories: 1550

Exercise:

  • 40 mins road cycling (8.5km)
  • 45 minute group training session

 

So there you go!  There’s my life!  It’s thrilling, isn’t it?  Do you feel a little creepy now?  A little stalker-ish?  😉

 

14 Responses to “A Week In The Life Of…”

  1. Tina March 7, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    I definitely feel stalker-ish, I’m Miss Nosey for sure. What kind of tuna do you usually buy?

  2. Amanda March 7, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    haha love it. 😉

    Oops – should have specified! Tuna in springwater.

    • Tina March 7, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

      wooo thanks 🙂 Also having smoothie-envy. Might have to give those a go!

      • Amanda March 7, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

        I love my morning smoothie! Haven’t gotten sick of it yet! 😉

  3. Natalie March 7, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    You can eat 6 pieces of dark chocolate at night and not have any trouble getting to sleep?? Lucky you – I find it affects me just as much as coffee & tea.

    Love hearing about people’s lives. hehe

    • Amanda March 7, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

      Haha! They are only the smallest of pieces – Green & Black make small blocks. 😉 Doesn’t seem to affect me too much! Nothing that I have noticed anyways!

  4. Alex March 9, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    thanks for this. its a great reference for when im not feeling creative!

    • Amanda March 10, 2011 at 7:54 am #

      You are welcome! 🙂

  5. Kristen March 9, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    I believe I was one of the people who requested this, so thank you very muchly for going to the effort. I have to admit I’m impressed you can manage to include chocolate in your diet and still keep your calorie count relatively low! I know, I know… everything in moderation. 😉

    I love that you vary your diet so much. I’m so boring with what I eat – I find one thing I like for breakfast and will eat that every day for months on end. I’m going to have to try some of your recipes out, they always sound so awesome.

    One question – do you vary your eating based on how much exercise you’ll be doing on a particular day? I.e. if you know you have a big training session, do you add an extra hundred cals – or do you just have a general figure you aim for?

    • Amanda March 10, 2011 at 8:00 am #

      I just aim for between 1400 – 1800 a day. I’m fairly flexible. I think that if I feel like chocolate then I should have it (good quality dark chocolate that is) and I find if I have it a couple of times in a week then I don’t usually feel like it again for another few weeks. When you deny yourself of something you crave it further and this is not beneficial to the process. It’s all about leaving your negative food patterns behind do you can let go of the emotional baggage as well as the fat baggage. 😉

      Whenever I chose something to eat the first thing I think of is the nutritional value. What will it do for my body? Next I think of ways to make it taste good. I think most people think of the ‘taste good’ factor first and hence struggle with maintaining a healthy diet.

  6. Cooper March 11, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    Amanda!! Your diet and your exercise is so on point it’s amazing.
    Mine is definitely not this – I wish I had your control!

    • Amanda March 14, 2011 at 9:31 am #

      Haha! It’s more about making sure my goals are realistic and attainable and then comes the control! 😉

  7. V April 12, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    Thanks for this post 🙂
    Just a question about the protein shake… I’m a vegetarian who has recently started running 4-5 days a week and I’ve been worried about lack of protein. Would you recommend such shakes? I’m worried about putting on weight if I get into the protein bar/shake section in the supermarket. P.s., nothing like dake chocolate! mmm…

    • Amanda April 13, 2011 at 10:12 am #

      I do recommend protein shakes! The key is finding one with quality ingredients. I found vitalstrength Define for Women to be really good (there’s some posts on it here if you do a search) and you shouldn’t put on any weight whilst taking it. Check out this calculator to find out your daily protein requirements: http://www.freedieting.com/tools/nutrient_calculator.htm 🙂

Leave a Reply

