Cumin-Crusted Lamb with Chickpea Salad

26 Feb

I got inspiration for this meal by a recipe I found in Donna Hay’s Beef, Lamb & Pork, one of the cookbooks in her Simple Essentials series.  If you don’t own a Donna Hay cookbook I suggest you go out and buy one, quick smart.

Donna Hay is all about simple, fresh and easy food that is low fuss and maximum quality and taste.  This philosophy usually means that you can trust the recipes will be healthy and nutritious (except when it comes to desserts!) and that’s exactly what I like.

Donna’s recipe calls for lamb fillets however I used lamb steaks to cut cost.  It also calls for mint which I don’t generally use in cooking (not for any reason other than I’m not keen on the taste) and I used no-fat yoghurt in the yoghurt dressing and added garlic (it needed a little kick).  In the salad I added cherry tomatoes as I had some lovely, fresh cherry tomatoes given to me straight off the vine from my uncle.

Cumin-Crusted Lamb with Chickpea Salad (serves 4)

4 x 150g lamb steaks (or lamb fillets)

2 teaspoons of cumin seeds

1 tablespoon of olive oil

Sea salt and cracked pepper

2 x 400g cans of chickpeas, drained and rinsed

2 lebanese cucumbers, thinly sliced

1 punnet of cherry tomatoes, halved

100g of baby spinach leaves

Yoghurt Dressing

1 cup of natural, nofat yoghurt

2 tablespoons of lemon juice

1 small clove of garlic, crushed

sea salt

Place the lamb, cumin, oil, salt and pepper in a bowl and toss to coat.

Heat a large non-stick frying pan over medium heat.  Add the lamb and cook for 2 – 3 minutes per side or until cooked to your liking.

Slice the lamb, divide the lamb, chickpeas, cucumber, tomatoes and spinach among plates.  Drizzle over the yoghurt dressing and tuck in!

7 Responses to “Cumin-Crusted Lamb with Chickpea Salad”

  1. Michelle February 26, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    Spread the word – the cookbooks are $15 at Victoria’s Basement. I also bought the Chicken cookbook and there are others as well. Next time I will get them.

    • Amanda February 27, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

      I must get the chicken book!

  2. Natalie February 27, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    I stumbled through to your blog after seeing your link on the Vogue forums (I think in the how much do you exercise thread) and I just wanted to say even though I don’t want/need to lose weight, your blog is so so super inspirational to just live a healthier life! I’ve been reading it for 40 minutes haha.

    You look fantastic & I thought the shoot with Cosmo was nice too.

    • Amanda February 27, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

      Thanks Natalie! That’s super sweet of you! 🙂

  3. Kate February 27, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    This looks yummo! Lamb is definitely on the shopping list of this week 🙂

    • Amanda February 27, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

      So so soooo yummo! Hope you enjoy it! I’ve been reading your blog too! Keep up the good work! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 1 « Healthy GFree - December 16, 2011

    […] 2. Cumin crusted pork with chickpea salad […]

Leave a Reply

