On Yer Bike Then!

24 Feb

For Christmas my darling husband bought me a bike.

My Beast

I felt like a kid again when I realised what was inside the big, brightly wrapped box!  I was so excited.  Images of me careening through the streets like the young BMX Bandit Nicole Kidman filled my head.  All I needed was a fluffy red wig and some exceptionally high-waisted yellow pants and I was set!

Source: filmjunk.com

After practicing riding my bike locally a few times I was feeling more confident.  I was ready to careen!  A friend of mine who rides to work most days from her home invited me to join her.  Oh what fun!  My BMX Bandit dreams were about to come true.

Her house is 8km from work and my house is 4.5km away from HER house.  A 12.5km (or 7.8 miles for my US friends – you’re welcome) bike trip?  Too easy, I thought.  How wrong I was.

By the time I even got to my friend’s house I was dead.  I was dripping in sweat and totally puffed out.  Let’s face it, my cardio strength is not as good as I would like it to be.  I didn’t know how I was going to make it another 8km.  But a total of 80 mins after I set out from home, two wobbly legs and an extremely sore arse later, I arrived at work.  I had a big stretch (biking isn’t great on the old hip flexors – stretching and foam rolling is a necessity) and felt enormously proud of myself.

Since then I have done the ride quite a few times and my cardio strength has vastly improved, as has my time.  Instead of doing the 12.5km trip though, I catch the bus to my friends house and we ride from there.  We left the bikes in our work’s lock-up garage overnight when I did the 12.5kms and rode back to her house the next day.  I think it’s best that I just keep continuing with the 8km journey and then when I am a stronger rider I’ll start doing the longer trip.

I’ve got to tell you, I am loving the addition of swimming and biking to my routine.  My husband has told me that I am already looking leaner after just a handful of rides and I can feel it too.  Will be interesting to see what the measurement tape thinks of me in a few weeks!

I’ve also signed up for a mini-biathlon on the 13th of March (4km run and a 800m swim) so hopefully all this cardio pays off!  I might have to put foot to pavement though and do a few runs too (grrr) although I have a brand spanking new pair of Brooks Adrenaline Trainers so that may make it easier for me.

LOVE. Source: brooksrunning.com

I was now going to lead into all the great benefits of cycling but I found a fantastic article that says all I wanted to say and more.  Do check it out here.

Are you a BMX Bandit?

14 Responses to “On Yer Bike Then!”

  1. Talitha February 24, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    Haha hope you brung spare clothes to work 😉 I know what you mean when I moved to Sweden I hadn’t ridden a bike since I was 12 but even 80 year old ladies ride their bikes everywhere here so when in Rome I thought! Turned out I must have been massively fit when I was 12! Took a few weeks to get back into it and when you stop surprise surprise it dissapears. I always thought it was kind of lazy what with the seat and all but it’s all a ploy 😉
    Your going to be super tiny!
    xo

    • Amanda February 24, 2011 at 9:15 am #

      Haha! Yes we are lucky enough to have showers at work! 😀

      It takes some getting used to again doesn’t it!!!

  2. Liz February 24, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Hey Amanda! Good to see that you’re feeling better after your bout of horrible illness!
    I would love to push around on a bike but riding to work is about a 45km journey from my house… a challenge but not one I think I would take on!
    How is your swimming going? It’s great to see you mixing it up with different activities. Oh and my tip is to get yourself one of those gel bike seat covers from a bike shop- they make it much cushier for your butt!
    xxx

    • Amanda February 24, 2011 at 11:25 am #

      Thanks Liz! I’m getting there. Still have a bit of a cough but it’s mainly when I’m in air-conditioning.

      45km would be insane. I don’t blame you! 😉 I haven’t swum for a couple of weeks – my swimming buddy hasn’t been able to make it and I was away on a course all week one week and then the sickness but I’ll be going on Sunday and then back into it next week.

      I TOTALLY need a gel seat. Saw them pretty cheap in Kmart! Definitely on my must-buy list!

  3. Shellet February 24, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    I’m hoping to become a BMX bandit very shortly! One of my goals this year is to do a mini triathlon, and I can’t do that without a bike!

    I only live 5k from work, and I have to drive as I drive a company car, so my biking will have to be strictly after hours!

    • Amanda February 25, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      Wow you live so close to work! That’s awesome. You will have plenty of time after hours to become a BMX bandit! 😀

  4. Petra February 25, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    I ride my bike to and from work (32km return) and love it. Only takes me a bit longer than catching the train (as you have to factor in showering etc) so it’s a great way to get your daily exercise!

    • Amanda February 25, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      Petra that’s intense! 32km! Woah! You are a MACHINE girl!

  5. Nat @ nataliecartertalksfitness February 25, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    You are a machine! Bikes are definitely not for me but I applaud you and your bike riding efforts!

    • Amanda February 25, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      Biking is definitely not for the impatient. cough cough. 😉

  6. Alex February 25, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    oh i would love to get a bike but i find it really hard not to mow down the cyclists on the road that enjoy riding 2 abreast! ah im far too moody in the morning.
    i should ride the freeway paths, however because that isnt on the road.

    • Amanda February 25, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

      LOL! Too funny. I mostly have a bicylce path that takes me all the way to work so not too much road time, thank god, as it scares the bejesus out of me!!

  7. Inertia (Jes) February 28, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    The last time I rode a bike I was allowed to ride on the footpath. Ive been tempted to teach myself to ride again but I’m too scared of riding on the road with traffic! How did you ind that part of it?

    • Amanda February 28, 2011 at 9:24 am #

      Luckily we have an off road bike track that goes most of the way to work! There is minimal road time which is good and even when there is road there is a bike lane. It’s a bit scary at first but you get used to it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

