Quinoa Sushi Rolls

15 Feb

Yep, that’s right!  ANOTHER recipe for quinoa!  I should just write a book.  In fact, maybe I will one day.  And one day I may also take over the WORLD.  But for the moment I’ll just settle with sharing this delicious quinoa sushi recipe with you.  Simple, quick and delicious – if you are a sushi roll fan you will love this as much as I do!

Ingredients (makes 1)

1/2 a cup of cooked quinoa

1/2 a tablespoon of sushi seasoning (found in a bottle, you can also use rice vinegar)

1 sheet of seaweed

Small tin of tuna (drained)

1 tablespoon of low fat whole egg mayonnaise

1 teaspoon of wasabi (or to your taste)

1/4 of an avocado, sliced (or a stick of cucumber)

Tamari or soy sauce (for dipping)

Place a sheet of seaweed shiny side down on a bamboo sushi mat (you can buy these super cheap from the grocery store).  In a bowl mix the quinoa and the sushi seasoning (or rice vinegar).  Spread the quinoa on the seaweed sheet and leave about 2cm on either end.

Mix the tuna, mayo and wasabi in a bowl and spread along the edge of the quinoa closest to you.

Lay the avocado slices (or cucumber) on top of the tuna.

Lift the edge of the mat closest to you and begin to roll the sushi.  Secure the edges down with damp fingertips.

Cut in half (or into smaller bite size peices), dip in tamari and savour the flavour!

Nutritional Info:

330 cals (with avocado, 275 cals with cucumber)

14g fat(with avocado, 9g with cucumber)

2.5g sat fat(with avocado, 1g with cucumber)

23g protein

26g carbs

17 Responses to “Quinoa Sushi Rolls”

  1. Chanel February 15, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    The long-awaited quinoa sushi! Sounds great, I’m going to make sushi soon 😀

    • Amanda February 15, 2011 at 10:21 am #

      Sounds great? So it doesn’t LOOK great? 😉

      • Chanel February 15, 2011 at 10:25 am #

        Poor choice of word! It looks pretty great too :p Where do you buy wasabi? Regular supermarket?

  2. Kate February 15, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    This looks amazing! Definitely giving it a try for Thursday lunch 😀

    • Amanda February 15, 2011 at 10:27 am #

      Awesome let me know how it turns out!

      Chanel – you can buy wasabi from the Asian aisle at the supermarket.

  3. Ms Curious February 15, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    Looks good Amanda! I’m going to go through your post and find all the quinoa recipes.

    BTW my blog post on chicken barley salad is up.

    http://confessions-of-a-curious-mind.blogspot.com/2011/02/chilli-coriander-chicken-and-barley.html

    • Amanda February 15, 2011 at 10:36 am #

      Excellent! Going there right…. NOW!

  4. Petra February 15, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    I have been making brown rice tuna and avo sushi for lunch most days for a couple of weeks now, maybe I need to mix it up with Quinoa sushi! Thanks for trialling this for us 🙂

    • Amanda February 15, 2011 at 10:42 am #

      I made brown rice sushi last week! The quinoa was a bit easier to work with as it’s a bit stickier. OH! I forgot an important part of the recipe! Editing now…

      • Petra February 15, 2011 at 10:47 am #

        Yes I have to say that eating my brown rice sushi is not very lady like! However it tastes good which is all that matters 😛 But I will definitely try this!

      • Amanda February 15, 2011 at 11:11 am #

        Haha yeah I agree! Love brown rice sushi but it goes EVERYWHERE! 😉

  5. Gillian February 15, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    GET. IN. MY. MOUTH!
    Looks yum, shall be trying now you’ve done the experiment 😉

    • Amanda February 15, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

      Yay! Hope you like it! 😀

  6. Mary February 15, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    Ohhh, this looks so yummy. Funnily enough, I have never been able to eat sushi, I even struggle with rice paper rolls, despite loving all of the ingredients. It’s totally irrational and super frustrating! I’m going to give these a go, maybe I’ll do better if I make them myself.

    • Amanda February 15, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

      What’s holding you back from embracing the sushi love? 😀

  7. leashieloo February 16, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    This is so unique! I’ve never heard of sushi with quinoa, I love this!

    • Amanda February 16, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

      I wish it was an original though… I thought it was until I googled it and saw that it has been done many time before! 😉

Leave a Reply

