Fantastic Flaxseed Oil!

9 Feb

 

I’ve started adding a tablespoon of flaxseed oil to my morning smoothie (I’ve ditched my omelette breakfast in favour of the easy and super convenient breakfast smoothie – 1 banana, ½ cup of lite milk, 2 tablespoons of organic non-fat natural yoghurt, 1 tablespoon of LSA, 1 teaspoon of honey) and I have decided, for your own benefit, that you should too.  I’m always looking out for you!  And don’t you forget it!

You don’t HAVE to have it in a smoothie, you could drizzle it over a salad or over vegetables.   You could mix it in water or freshly squeezed juice and gulp it down.   You can even get it in capsule form.   Whatever way you take it doesn’t matter but you SHOULD take it.   And here’s why:

  • It shortens muscle recovery time which means less pain for you – yippee!
  • It increases the body’s production of energy and increases stamina – look at you go!
  • Assists in the weight loss process – that’s what we are after!
  • It stimulates brown fat cells and increases your metabolic rate making it easier to burn fat – yes please!
  • It improves the absorption of calcium – hence why it’s great in a smoothie!
  • It may improve the function of insulin – stay away diabetes!
  • It helps in the healing of bruises, strengthens nails, improves eyesight, improves liver function, keeps dry skin at bay, treats dandruff and dull hair and may even relieve some cases of PMS – yes, yes and yes!
  • Plus many more benefits! Have a Google yourself!

I’m not sure why I haven’t got on to this sooner.   I was definitely aware of its existence but had not thought to purchase it until I saw it sitting on a shelf in the health food aisle at my local Woolworths.  “Ah yes” I thought, “that stuff is good for you! I must have it!”.  Hence, my love affair has started.  Even if it does only HALF the things it claims, I will be happy.  Who wouldn’t be!

Do you take flaxseed oil? How do you take yours?

25 Responses to “Fantastic Flaxseed Oil!”

  1. Kristen February 9, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    I’m a big fan of flaxseed oil – it’s great on salad with it’s slightly nutty taste.

    Also a big fan of your blog. As someone who’s done my fair share of crash diets, it’s great to see someone taking a reasonable approach to health (and weight loss).

    I know you post lots of recipes of what you eat and details of the exercise you do, but I’d be really interested to see what a typical week looks like (food and exercise wise) for Amanda. Food for thought 😉

    • Amanda February 9, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      Hey Kristen! Thanks for the blog love! Have you noticed any of the above benefit whilst taking flaxseed oil?

      A week in the life of? Not a bad idea for a post! I’ll get to work on it. 😉

      • Kristen February 11, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

        I have to admit I probably don’t use it reguarly enough to get results. I was a vegetarian for over a decade up until recently and bought it back in my veggo days because I was concerned about my Omega 3 intake.

  2. Chanel February 9, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    I do not yet take flaxseed oil – but it sounds good! I’m loving my breakfast smoothies 😀

    • Amanda February 9, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

      Get on to it Champie! 🙂

  3. Gillian February 9, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    I had that EXACT smoothie for breakfast this morning (plus cinnamon!). I do love a breakfast I can drink in the car.
    I brought a pack of flaxseed the other day but only just realised that brown flaxseed and linseed are the same thing so maybe I have been doubling up with my LSA and flaxseed intake? Ah well, it can’t hurt!

    The health food aisle of Woolworths is my weakness, I can’t help but pick up new things all the time ha ha.

    • Amanda February 10, 2011 at 10:14 am #

      I added cinnamon this morning after seeing this! 😉

      Yes, it’s the same but it won’t matter if you double up. I love the health food aisle! hahaha

  4. leashieloo February 10, 2011 at 4:25 am #

    I actually use flaxseed powder, but I like the sound of the oil. Must try.

    • Amanda February 10, 2011 at 10:14 am #

      Is that just ground flaxseeds?

  5. KittyKitty February 10, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Give the refrigerated flaxseed oil a try- it’s much more potent than the long-life stuff on the shelf. A friend put me on to it after I had the capsules. It tastes like dirt but I just down a spoonful in the morning and wash it down with juice or something.

    It makes your skin look glowy and your hair nice and shiny!

    • Amanda February 10, 2011 at 11:13 am #

      Do you have any recommendations? They one that I got said I had to refridgerate it….

      I found that mine doesn’t really have a taste. Well there’s not taste I can detect when it’s in my smoothie!

      • KittyKitty February 10, 2011 at 11:37 am #

        Hmm I think it is Melrose or Golden something? I got it out of the fridge at a health food shop. Apparently the omega 3s are really sensitive to temperature and light, so if it’s not refrigerated they go rancid (gross!!).

        I know some people who make salad dressing out of flaxseed oil!

      • Amanda February 10, 2011 at 11:41 am #

        Ah yes I have read that! And they must be in a dark coloured glass bottle too. Next time I get it I will check the health food store! 🙂

  6. Shelley February 10, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    I use ground Flax, but lately have been swapping it for Chia Seeds in my cereal. I think I will have to add it back in now!

    • Amanda February 11, 2011 at 10:23 am #

      I’ve not used chia seeds yet… Have you noticed any benefits?

  7. Katey @ Bonne Santé February 10, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    I love flaxseed oil but struggle a little with the nuttiness as a salad dressing… You’ve reminded me to flurry it up in a smoothie – awesome!

    • Amanda February 11, 2011 at 10:24 am #

      Awesome indeed Miss Katey! 😀

  8. Alex February 18, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    ooh thats great to hear! i bought flax seeds to put in my morning muesli but i couldnt remember why they were good for me!
    i also use black chia seeds, pumpkin seeds, slivered almonds, gogi berries, sultanas, oats and shaved coconut.
    top it off with berries, natural yogurt and a wee bit of honey and its YUMMO!

    • Amanda February 18, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

      Omg that sounds AMAZING! What a bowl of health!!! 🙂

      • Alex February 23, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

        its very delicious too!

  9. Mercy February 27, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    I havent had flaxseed yet, although waiting for my delivery to arrive this week. I didnt realise just how beneficial it is. Thankyou for the post.

    • Amanda February 27, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

      Thanks for the comment Mercy! Would love to know what you think of it once you try it!

  10. Indiana Holley January 6, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    Hi Amanda

    So if I’m already taking fish oil (x2 caps a day) and primrose oil (x2 caps a day), do you reckon I could include flaxeed as well, or remove one of the others?

    • Amanda January 8, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

      Hi Indiana, I am not a professional so cannot comment on what you should or should not be taking – I am just stating what has worked for me. 🙂

      • Indiana Holley January 9, 2012 at 9:39 am #

        That’s cool. Thanks for letting me know:).

Leave a Reply

