Quinoa Smoothie

29 Jan

Yep, that’s right. I said quinoa smoothie. Okay, maybe I’m a little obsessed with quinoa but I’m telling you, it really is amazing and so good for you. It has a slightly nutty flavor that really takes on the flavor of anything it’s paired with so I thought it would make a great addition to a smoothie.

This smoothie makes the PERFECT post-workout meal because it’s packed with protein from the milk, yogurt and quinoa. The honey is loaded with healing properties that will help reduce muscle inflammation and the cinnamon helps stabalise blood sugars. The banana provides a healthy dose of fibre and we all know what fibre is food for! Wink wink.

1 serving = 250 calories

Ingredients

1/2 cup of milk (I use 98% fat free)
1/2 medium banana
1/3 cup of cooked, cooled quinoa
2 tablespoons of fat free natural yoghurt
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of honey

Blend for a few minutes until smooth. Pour into a cup and revel at your healthiness.

10 Responses to “Quinoa Smoothie”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) January 29, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    So glad it turned out!

  2. The Wench January 29, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Alright, you’ve convinced me! I’ll try it already. πŸ™‚

    • Amanda January 29, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

      Hurrah! It’s about time! Haha

  3. Chanel January 29, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Interesting! I quite like the sound of this. I still haven’t bought quinoa – I commit to buying and cooking it on Monday (day off!) πŸ˜€

  4. Cecilia February 1, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    Sounds like a great recipe to try – especially since I have less than a handful of quinoa sitting in my pantry ready to be cooked!

  5. Kate February 1, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    Hi Amanda,

    I have only recently found your blog and love reading it! This recipe sounds delish btw – how much uncooked quinoa do I need to get 1/3 cup cooked?

    Thanks πŸ™‚

    • Amanda February 1, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

      Hey Kate! Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚ I think one cup of dry makes 3 cups of cooked. I just make up a batch and keep it in the fridge.

  6. Annette @ Wellnesss WA February 6, 2011 at 1:11 am #

    Woah! Nice one.

    Totally left of centre combo, sounds awesome.

    I have such trouble cooking with quinoa, I find it makes a big mess what with all the rinsing to get the saponins off, and then it gets stuck to the pan after cooking!

    Do you have any mad rad tips on making it easier? Maybe I’m just doin’ it wrong!

    x

    • Amanda February 7, 2011 at 8:24 am #

      Hi Annette! It doesn’t require to much rinsing. Just a bit of a rinse under water in a seive is fine. Make sure you have your water ratio right to prevent sticking and don’t have the pan too hot. So bring to the boil and once boiling cover and leave on a low simmer. Fluff it up at the end and this should help reduce sticking too. πŸ™‚

  7. Jennifer Jordan February 7, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    I LOVE this idea! I’m completely obsessed with quinoa too, and am so happy to hear it blends up nicely in smoothie form. Definitely trying tomorrow. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

