Lamb Cutlets with Quinoa Tabouli

27 Jan

I made quinoa tabouli the other week and it was a bit of a fail because the quinoa was too gluggy. I think I used too much water. But I was determined to get it right so gave it another go last night and this time it was a massive WIN!

Cool two cups of cooked quinoa (to cook it perfectly the trick is to use two parts water to one part quinoa. Bring to the boil and then reduce to a simmer. Cover and leave to simmer for 15 minutes or until all the water is absorbed).

Once the quinoa is cooled, add one teaspoon of ground cumin. Also, add diced tomatoes (or cherry tomatoes), diced spring onions, a handful of parsley and dress with extra virgin olive oil and a squeeze of lemon. You can also add mint if it tickles your fancy. It does not tickle mine. Cucumbers are also a fine idea but to be honest, I just wasn’t bothered. Plus, my husband doesn’t eat them. Says they repeat on him. Does anyone else get that?

For the lamb I just seasoned them with salt and pepper and grilled for 3 minutes a side then rested them on a warm plate covered with foil for about 5 mins. They were tender and juicy. Perfect.

Simple, healthy and delicious. That’s what I’m all about!

6 Responses to “Lamb Cutlets with Quinoa Tabouli”

  1. Chanel January 27, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    Mint definitely doesn’t tickle my fancy either.

    Delicious! What a yummy Australia Day dinner 😀

    • Amanda January 27, 2011 at 11:05 am #

      I like mint and chocolate! 😀

      Exactly what I was thinking!

  2. Bron January 27, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    My quinoa always turns out gluggy, so i must be stuffing up the water/quinoa ratio. Loving the quinoa recipes by the way… Have you ever tried the black quinoa? Have some in the cupboard but am a bit too scared to try it out!

    • Amanda January 27, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

      Hey Bron! Try it this wasy. Turns out really well. No I haven’t yet! I have seen red quinoa too! You’ll have to give it a go and let me know!

      • Bron January 27, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

        Will have to give it go.

        Ps… You should give tofu a go. With that morrocan seasoning it’s delish

      • Amanda January 27, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

        I’m not the BIGGEST fan of tofu I must admit! I have never bought it and cooked it but I have tried it in asian dishes…

Leave a Reply

