Swimming Like a Freakin’ Fish

21 Jan

What up yo? I'm a mermaid! (source: weheartit.com)

I started swimming this week for the first time in years.  Like actual proper laps in a pool.   I’m not very good at it and I swallow a shit load of water.  But I am actually enjoying it!  Except for the swallowing water part…

You see, I’ve gone off running.  I was really getting into it for a while there and was getting quite good at it too but it was just causing me too much pain.  Runners are prone to constant strain and injury and that’s really not a club I want to be apart of.  I do need some extra cardio exercise though so I decided swimming might be worth a try given that it is very low impact.

On Monday I went with a dude from work who was actually a swim coach at one point in his life and he gave me some pointers like don’t come out of the water too much to take a breath, just turn your head to the side and catch the air with your mouth.  This is quite hard because I felt like I wasn’t getting enough air but slowly I got a bit better at it.   I managed 10 laps (500m) yesterday and was quite impressed with myself but I wasn’t able to do freestyle the whole time so I threw in a few laps of breaststroke which I am much more comfortable with.

I was exhausted after 25 minutes of swimming and was really huffing and puffing.   I looked up on CalorieKing how many calories this would have burnt and was surprised that only 25 minutes of slow swimming burns around 260 calories!  Massive win because not only are you burning calories, it’s super fun too.  Weee!  I’m a fish!

One thing that swimmers need to be aware of though is that it can make you super hungry.  This has something to do with the cold water temperatures stimulating your appetite.  So it’s important to not consume any more than what you usually do because you can very quickly undo all your hard work!

Where my fellow fish people at?  Do you enjoy swimming for exercise?

 

17 Responses to “Swimming Like a Freakin’ Fish”

  1. Shelley January 21, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Just call me Flipper 🙂

    Swimming is great, I’m slowly building up my fitness to do purely freestyle, I started off with every second lap of the 25m pool being breaststroke, but now I can go at least 200m without having to change strokes.

    Breaststroke is good though in the sense you are using different muscles. That’s my justification anyway 😉

    • Amanda January 24, 2011 at 9:10 am #

      That’s so good Shelley! You really ARE flipper! Haha

  2. Tina January 21, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    ahhhhh! I always wondered why swimming makes you hungry; thanks for doing my research lol.

    • Amanda January 24, 2011 at 9:10 am #

      Lol you are welcome. I just HAD to find out! 😉

  3. bonne_santé January 21, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    Go you! Swimming is something i’d really like to include in my exercise regime but i’m too ashamed to rock up in speedos, goggles and skull cap, swim 25m then skin like a rock.
    Loved it as a kid/teen, but my mermaid days may just be over!
    Really interested to see how you find it & the results! Keep us posted x

    • bonne_santé January 21, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

      And by ‘skin’ I meant ‘sink’… 🙂

    • Amanda January 24, 2011 at 9:11 am #

      You should give it another go! You may surprise yourself. 😉

  4. Mish (Pursuit of Happiness) January 21, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    I love swimming laps, I find it’s the best time to think! I used to try count laps but I would get stressed about remembering which lap I was on so now I just go for a certain amount of time. Although I hate swimming when I have to share a lane so I don’t go as often as I would like for fear that I won’t get my own lane!

    • Amanda January 24, 2011 at 9:12 am #

      Haha I’ve not been able to start “thinking” yet. Too bust trying to concetrate on my breathing! I look forward to when I am just able to “go”. 🙂

  5. Cooper January 21, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    I’m pretty certain that with my knee injuries this is the only exercise I can do now – but it honestly takes so much time out of a day going to the pool washing/drying your hair… and you’re right – it makes you so, so hungry. And it is to do with blood temp and metabolism stuff… I’ve read that too. Heaps sad about that factor 😦

    • Amanda January 24, 2011 at 9:52 am #

      I got at lunch. It’s just on Harris Street! I run there, do some laps, run back and jump in the shower. I just rinse my hair and then wash it later at home. 😉

  6. kellyleemccarren January 22, 2011 at 1:35 am #

    Swimming is the greatest 🙂 And you don’t sweat!

    • Amanda January 24, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      Gotta love that factor!

  7. Cecilia January 22, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    Swimming’s on my to-do list. I haven’t been able to run regularly for almost five years now, so I’ve been limited to cycling… while I haven’t had any major injury woes from this, I am running out of routes to take and I’m too scared of going on a single massive loop in case I get into mechanical trouble!

    I need to take lessons – I never quite got the hang of swimming through primary school. Once I know what’s going on with my knee, I’ll join the swimming for fitness club too!

    • Amanda January 24, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      You can get adult lessons! You’ll love it. 🙂

  8. Bob January 27, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    Hey,
    Keep up the good work. I can’t swim or run but just started burpees. Give that a try

    • Amanda January 27, 2011 at 11:54 am #

      Hey Bob, thanks for the comment! My trainer gets me to do lots of burpees! They are a killer! 🙂

Leave a Reply

