Sweet Potato Goodness!

17 Jan

This is one of my favorite dinners right now and it couldn’t be easier to make. I got the idea from Jamie Oliver and just tweaked it slightly to make it my own!

Sweet potato is very good for you. It has all the flavour and substance of a potato (if not more!) but without the evil white carbs. It’s low GI so provides slow releasing energy which leaves you feeling fuller for longer. That’s what we supreme athletes need!

Next time you’re needing a tasty side dish to go with your steak and salad give this a go. I promise you will be satisfied. I will be exceptionally surprised if you aren’t!

Simply roughly dice up some sweet potato and rinse under cool water. Place in a microwave save bowl. Pop it into the microwave for about 4 or 5 minutes. You can always use a steamer for this but I say the less fuss the better!

Test the sweet potato with a fork. It should easily be mashed. Mash up roughly with a fork and sprinkle a little low fat feta and fresh parsley or coriander on top. Squeeze a little lemon juice over the top and drizzle a little extra virgin olive oil. Season with salt and pepper. Stir to combine all ingredients and then serve! The perfect low GI side dish!

8 Responses to “Sweet Potato Goodness!”

  1. Irene January 17, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Love sweet potato! 🙂

  2. Chanel January 18, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    Love Jamie Oliver! I’ve never been a fan of sweet potato, but this sounds nice! 😀

  3. Gillian January 18, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    Currently eating this with some grilled chicken I made for lunch, yum!

    • Amanda January 18, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

      I saw the pic! YUM! 😀

  4. Shellet January 18, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    I love sweet potato, when I was in America I found out they sell sweet potato fries like they sell hot chips here! I wish they did that over here, but I would probably overdo it I’m sure 😛

    • Amanda January 18, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

      I make them at home all the time! But I bake them. So yummy! 😀

  5. kathy January 19, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    I made your sweet potato dish with grilled salmon fillet tonight and everyone loved it.. i substituted your feta for some grated parmesan, was delightful.. Also started 30 day shred this morning, will alternate it every morning with treadmill workout, looking forward to seeing what develops. Many thanks for your great blog which keep sme inspired.

    • Amanda January 20, 2011 at 6:59 am #

      Awesome! I’ll have to give it a go with Parmesan too! I love Parmesan. Keep up the good work! X

Leave a Reply

