Mediterranean Chicken Parcels

10 Jan

I’ve been a bit slack with posting recipes lately!  But hopefully I’ll get a few out this week.  I’ve tried lots of healthy and delicious recipes whilst I have been on leave and I must share them with you!  So I’ll start off with what I had last night – my lovely little Mediterranean Chicken Parcels!

Not the most appetising picture but believe me - it's delicious!

 

Ingredients (serves 4)

4 x 150g chicken breasts, pounded flat

Cherry tomatoes, halved

Baby spinach

Light feta cheese, crumbled

Garlic, crushed

Dried chilli

Thyme, fresh or dried

Salt and pepper

 

Pre-heat oven to  190° C.   Lay chicken breasts on squares of baking paper, leaving enough paper for you to fold the chicken into a parcel.  Brush the chicken with the crushed garlic, sprinkle a little dried chilli and thyme and season with salt and pepper.

Lay a few spinach leaves on top, followed by the cherry tomatoes.  Sprinkle the feta cheese over the top to finish and then fold the baking paper over the chicken.  You can tie the parcel with twine if you feel necessary.

Pop the parcels onto a baking tray and place in the oven for 15 – 20 minutes or until chicken is cooked through.

You could also add olives, artichokes, capsicum and red onion.  It’s really up to you!  Instead of feta try light mozzarella cheese.  Go crazy, live on the edge!  😉

I love these little parcels.  They taste like pizza which is awesome when you rarely allow yourself pizza!  I served mine with steamed rounds of sweet potato and vegetables.  Who said healthy eating needs to be boring?

4 Responses to “Mediterranean Chicken Parcels”

  1. Chanel January 10, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    Haha @ your photo comment. It’s not the best looking photo, but it sounds delicious! I love baked chicken breast 😀

  2. Cooper January 10, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    I’m coming over for dinner. Ha!

    • Liz N January 10, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

      wrapping them in a small amount of filo works well too without adding too many carbs.. 🙂

      • Amanda January 10, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

        Oooh now THERE is an idea!!

Leave a Reply

