Shredding It Up, 30 Day Style!

7 Jan

Never in my wildest dreams did I EVER imagine myself exercising to a workout DVD.  I just couldn’t seem to shake off images of Jane Fonda in hi-cut lycra leotards or those bad early morning workout shows on TV.

 

"Okay now - 1, 2, 3... and 1, 2, 3... come on guys! Let's do this!"

 

But Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred is not like that at all.

When The Fit Girl offered me a copy of the 30 Day Shred I thought it would be perfect to try whilst my trainer was on leave.  Plus I’d read really great reviews about it on the Vogue Forums.

The DVD boasts that you can lose up to 10kg in 30 days if you do the 20 minute sessions every day and follow a diet plan (however the DVD doesn’t mention what kind of diet to follow – probably something you would have to buy in addition to the DVD.  Jillian must be raking in the cash!).

Jillian follows a 3, 2, 1 philosophy – 3 minutes of strength, 2 minutes of cardio and 1 minute of abs.  The DVD has 3 different workouts which progressively get harder and each workout follows this philosophy.  You are supposed to start with level 1 and then as you enter the end of the 30 days you move to level 3.  There are 2 girls in the video that you can follow – a girl that does the normal routine and a girl that does a modified, easier version of the routine.

You start off with a warm up which involves mostly dynamic stretching and then you launch into 3 minutes of strength.  eHow.com recommends you start off with 3lb (1.5kg) dumbells and work your way up to 5lb (2.5kg) which is what the instructors use.

The lightest option I had at home was 4.5kg… so needless to say this workout kicked my ass.  I’m used to working out with anywhere between 5kg – 10kg weights with my trainer but those movements are much slower.  The workouts on this DVD are quite fast as it is designed to get maximum effect within 20 minutes.  There’s no stopping or pausing – it’s just one thing after another.  It’s pretty intense.

The strength movements involve exercises like squats with a shoulder press, lunges with a bicep curl, standing rows, push ups etc.  Then you move on to 2 minutes of cardio which is anything from star jumps to butt-kickers to jumping squats.  One minute of abs follows and involves reverse crunches, crunches, plank, side planks and the like.  You do the circuit 3 times and then finish with stretches.

Because I have been doing it indoors, by the time the first circuit is completed I am literally dripping in sweat.  I work out mostly outdoors so I don’t really experience this grossness.  Quite literally, I became one with water.   I hate sweat.  Goo.

In the past week I have tried all 3 levels of the DVD and have found them all quite challenging.  I enjoyed the fact that the workouts were very similar to the workouts I would usually perform with my trainer but I thought they could go a little longer so I found myself doing extra activity once the DVD was over.  But that’s just me.  I think 20 minutes would be a great starting point for someone new to working out or new to this particular style of exercise.

I definitely recommend this DVD to people just starting to exercise.  I even recommend it to people who are familiar with exercise – it’s a great little addition to your workout regime as it only takes 20 minutes!

I’d be happy to answer any questions you have on the DVD!  Please put them in the comments section below.  Also, don’t hesitate to share your review on the 30 Day Shred!

 

 

 

 

13 Responses to “Shredding It Up, 30 Day Style!”

  1. Petra January 7, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    I wonder if this would be good for me – I do a lot of cardio and pretty much no strength work so I could do this everyday for my strength…

    • Amanda January 7, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

      You should definitely include strength work in your routine especially if you are trying to lose weight as the muscle you gain will literally eat away at the fat. 🙂

  2. Chanel January 7, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    This looks interesting! I’d be keen to give it a go. I like the 20 minute part, I just need to get some weights 🙂

    • Amanda January 7, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

      I’ll let you borrow it! 🙂

      • Natalie January 7, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

        I downloaded mine so I play it on the laptop hooked up to come through the TV.

        *ssshhh*

      • Amanda January 7, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

        Lol very very sneaky!!

      • Chanel January 7, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

        Awesome! Thanks 😀

  3. Natalie January 7, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    I find it takes a bit longer than 20 mins, but I do a longer warm-up and cool-down myself as Jillian does not do nearly enough for either IMO. However, to make it even longer you can do 2 of the workouts back to back and only do the cool-down at the end.

    I recommend Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism for a longer cardio workout. It’s about 45 mins of pure cardio. Lots of jumping around though, so not for everybody.

    • Amanda January 7, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

      I agree! Definitely more stretching is needed. Thanks for the recs! 🙂

      • The Wench January 7, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

        The Shred got me back into exercising 2 years ago when I got out of shape. One month of that (and by the end I was doing the whole DVD at once) and I was back to running 150+ miles a week and doing harder workouts. All thanks to Jillian. 🙂

      • Amanda January 10, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

        That’s great! Thank you for your feedback! 😀

  4. Sandra January 7, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    Hi Amanda,
    Came across your Blog through LizN’s “Last Chance Training” blog.
    I’m shocked that you were also prescribed the Pill for irregular periods almost 20 years after I was…I thought the medical profession would have made some conclusions since then…our stories are very similar.
    One thing though, (and I realise it’s no consolation) you have remained absolutely stunning throughout your weight fluctuations.
    xxx

    • Amanda January 10, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

      Hi Sandra! Yes it’s unfortunate that Dr’s are still all about the quick fixes. 😦 And thank you very much for your compliment! *blush*

Leave a Reply

