Happy New Goals!

2 Jan

Source: weheartit.com

Resolution [rez-uh-loo-shuhn]

– a resolve or determination: to make a firm resolution to do something.

(Source)

Look.  I’m not really a fan of making a new years resolution.  I think if you want to do something badly enough, why wait for the new year to start?  Why not start now? Yes yes, I know NOW is the new year but I mean why not start as soon as the idea pops in your head?

It’s almost a cop-out – you’re giving yourself until the new year to focus on your bad habits so that you can continue to indulge them for just that little bit longer.  It’s like the smoker who says, “Come January 1st I will quit for good” and then for the last 2 days of the year they pretty much chain smoke so that they can get in that last little bit of self-gratification.

Or the person who wants to lose weight who binge eats until the clock strikes midnight on the last day of the year.  If you really want to quit smoking / lose weight /  stop drinking / [insert resolution here] then why not start then and there? It’s probably because you’re not ready to do so and you haven’t really thought it out.

That being said, I’m a massive fan of goal setting and I set goals all throughout the year.  If goal setting had a concert I would totally go to it.  I would put its poster on my wall fo sho.  I like to tick off little milestones and track progress – it’s pretty much what this little blog of mine is about.

I’ve been thinking about what I want to achieve this coming year over the last few days.  What are my dreams?  What are my desires?  How will I achieve them?

I have 2 main goals for the year so far.  I will add more goals as the year goes on, no doubt, but I know myself – if I create a list with too many goals on it I will be overwhelmed and not even know where to start!  I have one health goal and one non-health goal that I will put all of my focus into right now:

Get to my goal weight of 68kg by April 2011. I will do this by continuing my training regime and sticking to a clean, healthy diet. It’s only 5 more kilos!  Even though I don’t really like to put a time limit on weight loss I know that this goal is achievable.

Learn to drive and be on my provisional drivers license by June 2011. I will achieve this by having at least one driving lesson per week.  Look out roads!  No seriously.  Be careful when I’m on the roads, k?

What do YOU want to achieve this year? Remember to be SMART – make your goals Specific (define what it is you want to achieve), Measureable (how will you know when the goal is achieved?  What measure will you use?), Achievable (define how the goal will be achieved), Realistic (the goal must represent what you are both able and willing to do) and TIMELY (when will the goal be achieved by?).  If you follow this approach almost any goal will become a reality!

24 Responses to “Happy New Goals!”

  1. Cooper January 2, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    Very practical goals miss.
    I like!
    I also truly enjoy that our posts are so damn similar even though we both had no idea!!
    Too funny.

    • Amanda January 2, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

      I’m a very practical kinda gal! 😉

    • Allie @ Healthy Balance, Healthy Life January 3, 2011 at 11:03 am #

      My thoughts exactly! I just did a post called “Goals, not Resolutions, for 2011”!

      Happy New Year!

      • Amanda January 3, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

        Awesome Allie! I’ll check it out! 😀

  2. Mish (Pursuit of Happiness) January 2, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    I just started a blog today about what I want to achieve, and that is happiness! I’ve been reading healthy living blogs for over a year now and wanted to get in on the action so hopefully having the blog will help me to achieve my goals!! Good luck with yours! Looking back at what you have achieve so far, I know you can do it!

    • Amanda January 2, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

      That’s great mish! I’ll check yours out! 😀

  3. Ms Curious @ CCM January 2, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    Hey Amanda

    I just read your backstory and it is so inspiring! Good luck with your 2011 goals.

    Ms Curious

    • Amanda January 3, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      Thank you Ms Curious! 😀

  4. tanya January 2, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    My goal is to lose 5 kilos in 4 months by going to the gym 4 times a week, and eating smaller portions. Motivation is always a killer for me – how did you do it? How do you stay committed??

    • Amanda January 3, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      Hi Tanya! I have lots of posts on motivation – just do a search! 🙂 Good luck, you can do it!

  5. littleaspects January 3, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    Hi, have lurked a bit but first time commenter 🙂

    Good luck with your goals! They definitely sound achievable.

    I have a few (like you, I’m wary of the New Year’s resolution thing and think that if you want something bad enough then just do it!) but because I like transitions (and being a teacher, each New Year is a definite end and beginning in my work life, so this naturally flows into my personal life too) I’m going to think about things I want to focus on more this year:

    1. Gratitude – being continually and mindfully grateful for things I do have!
    2. Being more consistent with doing yoga (aim for minimum 2x per week) and core strength (minimum 2x/week)
    3. Continue my morning running most days of the week (4-5 days)

    I have others but these are some for now!

    🙂

    • Amanda January 3, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

      Hi! Thanks for commenting! You’re welcome to do so anytime. Haha 😉
      Great goals you have there. Definitely achievable! X

  6. kathy January 4, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Hi Amanda,

    Just ordered a copy of 30 day shred.. am excited..

    Cheers
    Kathy

    • Amanda January 4, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

      Yay! Awesome. I just did day 2! I will blog about it soon. 🙂

  7. Cathy January 7, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    I focus on goals rather than resolutions too 🙂

    I’m going to get to my goal weight this year as well. 52kg by May, it’s 4-5kg. I wonder if Michelle Bridge’s forthcoming book on the losing the last 5 kg will help………. I’ve been needing to lose this last 5kg for years.

    The plan is to get to my goal weight and keep it off.

    • Cathy January 7, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

      Why have I got a grumpy pic! Must try to customise it!

      • Amanda January 7, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

        Lol!!

    • Amanda January 7, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

      You can do it Cathy but remember – 80% diet, 20% exercise. 😉

      • Cathy January 8, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

        My downfall is, I eat too much!!

      • Amanda January 10, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

        Haha well you know what to do then my friend! 😉

  8. SkekTek January 8, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Hi there, I’ve been reading your blog on and off and have been really enjoying your posts. I have some fitness goals so I’m going to take your advice on goal-setting 🙂

    The main reason I came here is because of your journey with PCOS. I’m being tested for PCOS at the moment (just waiting for the results to come back) but even if I don’t have it I’m definitely subscribing to your blog, as it’s an inspiration for anyone trying to be healthier. Keep up the great work!

    • Amanda January 10, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

      Hi! I hope you don’t have it, it’s such a pain! But even if you do just know there are natural ways to treat it. Let me know how you go!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Getting This DONE! « Me vs. The Bulge - January 14, 2011

    […] goal to get to 68kg by April is fast approaching.  Holy crapballs Batman, it’s nearly February!  So, this means I have […]

  2. Measurement Results & New Goals « Me Vs. The Bulge - March 14, 2011

    […] month which is a bit of a pain in the old ass seeing that I wanted to get to my weight goal of 68kg by April.  I’m working really hard, harder than ever actually, so it’s quite frustrating that I […]

Leave a Reply

